Page 1 of 1

Run apps in multiple languages simultaneously

Posted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 12:19
by L18L
Running an app simultaneously in 2 (or more) languages.

and/or Switching between languages of desktop (xwin.mo required)
EDIT: jwm menu, desktop icons and wbar titles /EDIT
EDIT: and rox right click text /EDIT


Needed: mo file of that app in /usr/share/locale(<LANGUAGE>/textdomain.mo (or the entire langpack)

Code: Select all

# set_LANGUAGE_and_launch_app -h

 usage: set_LANGUAGE_and_launch_app textdomain [ "app [ argument(s) ]..." ]
 
 app only needed if different from textdomain
 choose a language from available textdomains
 app will be launched in chosen language or English if cancelled
 
 -h this help
 -v version
 
Examples:
 set_LANGUAGE_and_launch_app xwin

 set_LANGUAGE_and_launch_app geany "geany /root/my-applications/bin/README-my-applications-bin.txt"   
 
# 
Enjoy :D


EDIT

version 1.2
fit for use with Firstrun (quicksetup) now



EDIT

version 1.1
roxOpenWith(right-click) text (ex:Search with Pfind) translatable now


EDIT

version 1.0
support for wbar simpler now


EDIT

version 0.7
support for wbar added


EDIT

version 0.6
use desktop icon (from languageicon.org) only for changing desktop language


EDIT

version 0.5
use jwm menu only for changing desktop language


EDIT

version 0.4
- apps launched from menu come up in language of menu
- console prompts language for languages other than original language


EDIT

version 0.3 can switch jwm menu and rox desktop between several installed languages

Multilingual Simultan

Posted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 12:21
by L18L
You can start xwin from command line or from X

Posted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 12:29
by L18L
open 2 instances of defaulttexteditor in 2 different UI languages

Posted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 17:10
by SFR
Aaah, so it's export LANGUAGE=... - I was unsuccessfully struggling with export LANG=... before.
Yeah, will be useful for checking out translations without switching the entire system to the given lang.

Thanks L18L &
Greetings!

Posted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 17:50
by L18L
SFR wrote:Aaah, so it's export LANGUAGE=... - I was unsuccessfully struggling with export LANG=... before.
Even an export is not really needed

If you have polish langpack try just

Code: Select all

LANGUAGE=en geany
LANGUAGE does not need a locale being set.
LANGUAGE can be a list, ex: LANGUAGE=pl:de_AT:ru

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91934

Glad you like it
Greetings

Posted: Wed 02 Apr 2014, 04:05
by vicmz
Cool way to test translations. 8)

Posted: Fri 04 Apr 2014, 15:39
by L18L
.... not for test only
it is made for use

next version:
menu and desktop in several fast switchable languages

Language right of menu button
tooltip is showing other installed languages (or just xwin.mo)

pet will follow (needs some testing before)

Multilingual Simultan

Posted: Fri 04 Apr 2014, 17:28
by L18L

Code: Select all

version=0.3 #140404 switch jwm menu and rox desktop to another LANG for app=xwin
L18L wrote:pet will follow (needs some testing before)
Tested in precise5.71 pfix=ram

One langpack must be installed (or maybe just one xwin.mo)

set_LANGUAGE-0,3.pet installed
... and language tray button exists (...and works)

Download set_LANGUAGE-0.3.pet from 1st post

Multilingual Simultan

Posted: Sat 05 Apr 2014, 07:34
by L18L
Version 0.3 tested in slacko57

Icon for button does not exist
Thus at first install of pet the button is totally empty.

------
TODO
Launching an app from menu the app should come up in language of menu

Stuff for next version :D

Multilingual Simultan

Posted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 17:28
by L18L
L18L wrote:TODO
Launching an app from menu the app should come up in language of menu

...done
see 1st post please

QUESTION:
Howto integrate the languages into language button to build a language menu?

EDIT
ANSWER:
is in next version

EDIT
which is version 0.5 and downloadable from first post.

Multilingual Simultan

Posted: Sat 19 Apr 2014, 18:08
by L18L

Code: Select all

version=0.6 #140419 use desktop icon for switching to each language with "locale"
Change desktop language by one single click.
No more special language menu in jwm menu or jwm tray.

desktop icon from languageicon.org

See image (glued by rcrsn51's peasyglue)

icon at bottom right side of screen with name of language

right click gives choice for other languages (which need their locale and xwin.mo) ,
My example: English Deutsch and Slovenc.... for direct change
and ? for menu

Single click on desktop lets you switch between languages....

pet version 0.6 at post 1.

Have fun

Multilingual Simultan

Posted: Thu 24 Apr 2014, 14:11
by L18L
This version is also supporting translation of wbar

Needed a template named _root_.wbar in /etc/xdg/template
and entries in /usr/share/sss/menu_strings/....
Example see in Italian langpack thread

pet in 1st post

Multilingual Simultan

Posted: Tue 15 Jul 2014, 17:58
by L18L
version 1.1
roxOpenWith(right-click) text (ex:Search with Pfind) translatable now

contains /usr/sbin/fixroxOpenWith

translatable in momanager....

download from 1st post

Posted: Tue 15 Jul 2014, 23:28
by gcmartin
Hello @L18L.

Have you noticed PMs to you on language recently?

Here to help

quicksetup

Posted: Wed 23 Jul 2014, 18:16
by L18L
fit for use with quicksetup now
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=790610

Thanks gcmartin....