Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 13:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
ArchPup - Puppy based on Arch Linux
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 14 [207 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1570

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 02:06    Post subject:  

Congratulations!

Tried Archpup in a VM (with vesa) and I found no way to change the resolution of the screen (which runs out of my physical screen).
Normally I adjust that with xorgwizard but is apparently not present. What would be the Arch tool/command to change the Vesa screen settings?

Thx

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 04:07    Post subject:  

Thanks everyone for testing Very Happy

If your graphics card is something different than Intel or nvidia,
after pacman -Syu, search correct Xorg drivers with this:
pacman -Ss xf86-video

and install (ATI for example)
pacman -S xf86-video-ati.

Logout and type archpupx to start XServer.

@slenkar: To paste in terminal - select text and use middle mouse button.

@mavrothal: I think Vesa maximal resolution is 800x600. To change it you would
probably use xrandr, but can't help with that. Confused Xorg should automatically use
best config for your screen.

Enjoy your day... Smile
Back to top
elroy


Joined: 02 Feb 2012
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 05:31    Post subject:  

vicmz wrote:
It looks real interesting. Is it made from Woof2?

I guess I need to ask the same question. Not that it makes a difference, but knowing would be beneficial. That said, woof or not, to me at least it make no difference; it's impressive none-the-less. But knowing whether or not it was done via woof would be beneficial, and if so, how it was accomplished would be most helpful. IMHO, a build that can use the arch repo, woof or not, is the most useful in regards to a modern puppy.. Hands down, if it can work with a puppy frugal install, the arch "way" would be the ultimate "way". Slacko and Debian aside, the arch-linux package manager is always "cutting edge". Pacman is probably the best linux package manager available to date For myself, I find this line of reasoning extremely exciting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 07:50    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:
To change keyboard layout replace:
setxkbmap bs &
with
setxkbmap us &

Hi simargl,
Could you please correct the keyboard layout at your end and re-upload the ISO so that a wider user base can test this build?
Thank you in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
vicmz


Joined: 15 Jan 2012
Posts: 1086

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 08:09    Post subject:  

elroy wrote:
vicmz wrote:
It looks real interesting. Is it made from Woof2?

I guess I need to ask the same question. Not that it makes a difference, but knowing would be beneficial.

There is a very important difference: every Puppy made from the latest Woof can be translated by the official language packs for Puppy Linux. More languages means more users and testers.

_________________
OB Precise 14.07.26 Woof-CE|Puppy Linux en español
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 08:52    Post subject:  

Hi, it's not made with woolf2 but use settings from rootfs-skeleton
inside woof.
To make it I used 3 scripts:
- spkg package manager which uses def-scripts to create packages
similiar to arch PKGBUILD or slitaz receipt
-paka is script to convert arch linux packages into spkg.
For all compiled or converted packages this creates folder inside
/var/lib/pacman/local in format $NAME-$VERSION-$REVISION,
so pacman will recognize them as installed.
-finally script called arch is used to extract packages,
create needed busybox links, move some libriaries to /lib,
split development files and create arch-1204.sfs

https://bitbucket.org/simargl

Last edited by simargl on Thu 29 Nov 2012, 12:00; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
kros54

Joined: 17 May 2009
Posts: 103
Location: member of Hungarian Puppy Linux Community

PostPosted: Mon 26 Nov 2012, 14:20    Post subject:  

The idea, and the implementation also brilliant, congratulations.
One more idea - but I'm a user, not a programmer, so do not scold.

Puppy is very comfortable for a user to *. pet of the installation packages.
May not be possible to solve this function: so for example a not only firefox pacman, but .pet out even asking you to install?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 1999
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 07:32    Post subject:  

Very nice!!!

I have a firefox folder on /mnt/home that I use for all my frugal puppies.
I went to it and firefox started right up.
Now to figure out how to connect to the internet!

This will be fun to play with.

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 08:45    Post subject:  

Hi, thanks for your kind comments Very Happy

@kros54: It not possible to install pet packages at the moment, but you
can extract them with bsdtar -xf name.pet and copy its content manually.

@trapster: Could you post output when you run ifconfig in terminal? btw, good idea
to have firefox in /mnt/home since its updating very often, and you save space in personal file..
Back to top
simargl
Guest


PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 09:16    Post subject:  

I plan to upload new version in few days. Changes for now:

- Added gtk-update-icon-cache-2.24.10-3 into arch-base
- Keyboard default is us
- Thunar compiled wih --enable-wallpaper-plugin, so it can show wallpaper
and disk drives if you install xfce
- Fixed /etc/profile, so X automatically start only on boot
- Fixed /etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown to remove content inside /tmp on reboot or shutdown
- Added /usr/bin/disktype so sfs_load will not complain about wrong squashfs version. ArchPup
will be able to load 20 sfs files. Razz

If someone wants to help it would be nice to have GUI for creating save file, and
ask user only to choose desired size and partition.

All comments and suggestions are very welcome. Very Happy
Back to top
slenkar

Joined: 10 Jul 2009
Posts: 204

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 11:22    Post subject:  

the only 2 things i am missing are easy save-file support and easy-getting online support
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1570

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 14:42    Post subject:  

simargl wrote:

All comments and suggestions are very welcome. Very Happy


A pacman GUI front (PacmanXG4 maybe).

BTW I just had to add a screen section in xorg.conf to get ArchPup to play nice with vesa in my VM.

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 15:02    Post subject:  

can we say WOW...haven't check it out yet, getting to it right now. GJ on the achievements before hand, but now....time for the test.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
aragon

Joined: 15 Oct 2007
Posts: 1698
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 16:12    Post subject:  

simargl,

i'm very impressed...

Some point to consider:
- bash-4 - most arch packages depend on bash-4, so it would be better to install it in your base
- pkg-files in /var - on installation a few messages are displayed that files in /var/... are missing. could that be the files of the preinstalled packages?

Looking forward for your next version.

aragon

_________________
PUPPY SEARCH: http://wellminded.com/puppy/pupsearch.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stifiling

Joined: 29 Dec 2007
Posts: 388

PostPosted: Tue 27 Nov 2012, 20:22    Post subject:  

would u happen to have the kernel source/linux headers?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 14 [207 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0881s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0136s) ][ GZIP on ]