I'm feeling bold: a call for suggestions

Booting, installing, newbie
neighbor

I'm feeling bold: a call for suggestions

#1 Post by neighbor »

Hello!

I've been hearing about Puppy for a few months and have been intrigued. Initially, learning that it ran off a CD, I figured it wouldn't work for me since I didn't want to lose my CD drive to run an OS - but now, with a little research I realize the CD drive is freed up after booting up with Puppy.

Here's my situation, and if anybody among all you knowledgeable folks has a suggestion, I'd love to hear it, as I'm open to trying something new!

I have a Sony Vaio which (same story you've all heard/experienced, I'm sure) has gotten totally bogged down by who-the-heck-knows-what-windows-crud. Slow, full, ick. It's such that I don't even want to use the computer so it sits in a bag waiting for the newer computer to join it...

Details: Sony Vaio with mobile AMD athlon processor
2002 Windows XP is current OS
490 MHz & 256 MB RAM

the HD is partitioned into C: and D: with the C: drive being full of something (I've deleted all files, all that's left is software). (4.94 GB used and 1.59 GB free) Too much of it is stuff I don't recognize and I fear to delete - or I would fear to delete if I was interested in keeping windows. But since the computer feels like junk at this point, I'm not interested in keeping windows. I want to make it mine!

So - to begin with, I'm looking simply to download puppy to CD and give it a whirl. Haven't done that yet as I'm totally new to everything being presented here and I'm still trying to figure out if I can download ISO files correctly without having to install another program... (sorry, that's a tangent to some degree)...

I think what I'm hoping for is a little word of encouragement and information about

a) can I (or should I) un-partition the hard drive (C: is nearly useless as is)
b) is this the same as reformatting it? and is this advisable?