slacko-6.0 beta 2

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
Jades
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat 07 Aug 2010, 22:07
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.
Contact:

#501 Post by Jades »

SFR wrote:@Jades: was it indeed 3/4fs savefile? If so could you please create and check also 2fs?
The save file on both frugals was ext4 (4FS). The LiveCD installs on the same NTFS partition are also 4FS ones but don't have the same problem. Will report back on 2fs saves later.
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 [url=http://tinyurl.com/dy66kh8]HardInfo Report[/url]
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

Jades
Posts: 466
Joined: Sat 07 Aug 2010, 22:07
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.
Contact:

#502 Post by Jades »

Jades wrote:
SFR wrote:@Jades: was it indeed 3/4fs savefile? If so could you please create and check also 2fs?
The save file on both frugals was ext4 (4FS). The LiveCD installs on the same NTFS partition are also 4FS ones but don't have the same problem. Will report back on 2fs saves later.
Tested the same frugal on the NTFS drive with a 2fs save file and it doesn't show the problem with slow loading.

Both 3fs and 4fs saves have the problem. Interestingly, doing a LiveCD boot and having it load the 3fs save in the Frugal seemed to work normally so the problem only seems to happen with actual Frugal boots.

In case I haven't already said this, Frugal and Full booting is done by Grub4Dos on sda1 (the boot partition of the Win7 Pro 64-bit install). IIRC the test Full Install of 593 is fine but I haven't used it recently.
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 [url=http://tinyurl.com/dy66kh8]HardInfo Report[/url]
Merlin - Core i5-4590, 8GB RAM, Radeon R9 270X. Slacko 5.7.0

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#503 Post by SFR »

Thank you, this confirms my earlier tests.
Jades wrote: Interestingly, doing a LiveCD boot and having it load the 3fs save in the Frugal seemed to work normally so the problem only seems to happen with actual Frugal boots.
I checked this - it's because when running off live CD, DEV1FS='iso9660' (see /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE) and the hack in rc.sysinit remounts the savefile with 'sync' param only if DEV1FS='ntfs' or 'vfat' or 'ext2'.
Apparently DEV1FS indicates the filesystem from which Puppy has been booted off, not the fs where savefile is, so the hack should be like this:

Code: Select all

--- OLD/rc.sysinit	2014-07-08 06:16:20.000000000 +0200
+++ NEW/rc.sysinit	2014-07-20 16:36:44.000000000 +0200
@@ -899,11 +899,13 @@
 if [ ! "$PUPMODE" = 5 ];then  
   if vercmp $KERNVER ge 3.2 ;then
     if vercmp $KERNVER lt 3.8 ;then
-      case "$DEV1FS" in
-      ntfs|vfat|ext2)
-      mount -o remount,sync /dev/loop1 # changed 130210, SFR
-      ;;
-      esac
+      if [ "${PUPSAVE##*.}" = "2fs" ] || [ ${PUPMODE} -eq 3 -o ${PUPMODE} -eq 7 -o ${PUPMODE} -eq 13 ] ; then
+        case "$PUPSAVE" in
+          *,ntfs,*|*,vfat,*|*,ext2,*)
+            mount -o remount,sync /dev/loop1 # changed 130210, SFR
+          ;;
+        esac
+      fi
     fi
   fi
 fi
Thanks again for noticing and reporting this.
Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

namecrash in shutdownconfig

#504 Post by shinobar »

EDIT: Another problem, see the post by gyro:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 426#791426
New patch:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 436#791436

At the first shutdown, the shutdownconfig offers variant name if the same pupsave name already exists. But it does not work properly.
Here is the fix:

Code: Select all

--- shutdownconfig-20140611	2014-07-21 13:15:41.476663911 +0900
+++ shutdownconfig-20140721	2014-07-21 13:54:01.576631299 +0900
@@ -568,14 +568,13 @@
 If anything looks wrong, choose \Zb\\\${T_notsave}\ZB...\"`"
   ${DIALOGEXE} ${BACKGROUNDYELLOW} ${TITLEPARAM} "$T_sanititle" --colors --no-collapse --extra-button --ok-label "$T_saniyes"  --extra-label "$T_sanichange" --cancel-label "$T_notsave" --yesno "$T_sanitext" 0 0 #110926
   SANITYRET=$?
-  [ $SANITYRET -ne 0 -a $SANITYRET -ne 3 ] && return 1
-  [ $SANITYRET -eq 0 ] && break
-  if [ $SANITYRET -eq 3 ];then #change folder.
-    changefolder
-  else
+  if [ $SANITYRET -eq 0 ];then
    SAVEFILE="${SAVEPATH}${NAMEONLY}"
    PUPSAVE="$SAVEPART,$SAVEFS,$SAVEFILE"
+   break
   fi
+  [ $SANITYRET -eq 3 ] || return 1
+  changefolder
  done
  [ -f ${SMNTPT}${SAVEPATH} ] && return 1 #abort. must be a directory.
  [ ! -d ${SMNTPT}${SAVEPATH} ] && mkdir ${SMNTPT}${SAVEPATH}
@@ -670,14 +669,13 @@
 If anything looks wrong, choose \Zb\\\${T_notsave}\ZB...\"`"
   ${DIALOGEXE} ${BACKGROUNDYELLOW} ${TITLEPARAM} "$T_sanititle" --colors --no-collapse --extra-button --ok-label "$T_saniyes"  --extra-label "$T_sanichange" --cancel-label "$T_notsave" --yesno "$T_sanitext" 0 0 #110926
   SANITYRET=$?
-  [ $SANITYRET -ne 0 -a $SANITYRET -ne 3 ] && return 1
-  [ $SANITYRET -eq 0 ] && break
-  if [ $SANITYRET -eq 3 ];then #change folder.
-    changefolder
-  else
+  if [ $SANITYRET -eq 0 ];then
    SAVEFILE="${SAVEPATH}${NAMEONLY}"
    PUPSAVE="$SAVEPART,$SAVEFS,$SAVEFILE"
+   break
   fi
+  [ $SANITYRET -eq 3 ] || return 1
+  changefolder
  done
 
  mkdir -p $SMNTPT$SAVEFILE 2>/dev/null
Attachments
shutdownconfig-20140721.patch.gz
(601 Bytes) Downloaded 237 times
Last edited by shinobar on Mon 28 Jul 2014, 15:33, edited 2 times in total.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

Leon
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 21:33

#505 Post by Leon »

SFR wrote:New bug (5.9.3.6, initrd.gz with or without altered keymaps).
Booting off usb flash drive (vfat) with pkeys=<lang> (checked with pl and fr) parameter causes:
Searching for Puppy files... pausing...puppy_slacko_5.9.3.sfs not found. Dropping out to initial-ramdisk console...
Note that even ydrv isn't found.

I see in init that the default VFAT_OUT_PARAM is:

Code: Select all

VFAT_OUT_PARAM='shortname=mixed,quiet,utf8' #140102 rodin.s: added utf8 for flash drive to be mounted with utf-8 if boot is done from flash drive 
Probably that's why everything is ok when we won't use pkeys.
But in case of:
- pkeys=de*|be*|br*|dk*|es*|fi*|fr*|it*|no*|se*|pt* it's:

Code: Select all

VFAT_OUT_PARAM="$OUT_PARAM"',codepage=850'
- pkeys=cz*|hu*|pl*|ro*|sk*|croat*|slovene*) it's:

Code: Select all

VFAT_OUT_PARAM="$OUT_PARAM"',codepage=852,iocharset=iso8859-2'
Commenting out the above two lines fixed the problem for me, though I'm not sure if it's the proper way.
Hello, SFR.

Thank you.

Finally the right explanation for the frugal installation problem since Slacko 5.9.1 when using pkeys=slovene kernel parameter.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 903#784903

Omitting the pkeys=slovene kernel parameter solves the problem at flash drive or hard disk manual frugal install.

I never had the problem with pkeys=slovene kernel parameter since Barry added this option.

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#506 Post by SFR »

Hey Leon, thanks for the info. Glad I could help!

Anyway, after some more checking I'm quite sure it's because nls_cp850.ko, nls_cp852.ko and nls_iso8859-2.ko weren't compiled into vmlinuz (only as "external" modules) and pkeys needs them:
init wrote:  case $PKEYS in #note, same code in /etc/rc.d/rc.country, /usr/sbin/input-wizard and init.
   de*|be*|br*|dk*|es*|fi*|fr*|it*|no*|se*|pt*)
    modprobe nls_cp850
    [ ! "$PLANG" ] && FONTMAP="lat1-12.psfu" #120216
    CODEPAGE="850"
    VFAT_OUT_PARAM="$OUT_PARAM"',codepage=850'
   ;;
   cz*|hu*|pl*|ro*|sk*|croat*|slovene*)
    modprobe nls_cp852
    modprobe nls_iso8859-2

    [ ! "$PLANG" ] && FONTMAP="lat2-12.psfu" #120216
    CODEPAGE="852"
    VFAT_OUT_PARAM="$OUT_PARAM"',codepage=852,iocharset=iso8859-2'
   ;;
  esac
Those modules are present e.g. in Slacko-5.7's initrd.gz (/lib/modules/...) and no probs there.

Leon, since we're already on pkeys topic, could you please verify this issue: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94870
Were you ever able to type and get displayed Slovenian diacritics while using real console (e.g. pkeys=slovene pfix=nox)?
I tried in several Puppies (the oldest was Lupu-520) and it seems to me that it never actually worked!

Thanks &
Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#507 Post by 01micko »

SFR wrote:Anyway, after some more checking I'm quite sure it's because nls_cp850.ko, nls_cp852.ko and nls_iso8859-2.ko weren't compiled into vmlinuz (only as "external" modules) and pkeys needs them:
I suspected as much. This will be fixed in all future kernels and I'll add to whatever configs are relevant in kernel-kit, or probably detect those entries in a DOTconfig and warn the user/kernel builder before they configure the kernel.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

Leon
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed 22 Jun 2005, 21:33

#508 Post by Leon »

SFR wrote:Were you ever able to type and get displayed Slovenian diacritics while using real console (e.g. pkeys=slovene pfix=nox)
Never.
SFR wrote:Leon, since we're already on pkeys topic, could you please verify this issue: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94870
I’ve followed your instructions and successfully installed and get it to work your modified slovene.gz keymap in Puppy Precise 5.6.11.

Congratulations and thanks.

User avatar
SFR
Posts: 1800
Joined: Wed 26 Oct 2011, 21:52

#509 Post by SFR »

Leon wrote:
SFR wrote:Were you ever able to type and get displayed Slovenian diacritics while using real console (e.g. pkeys=slovene pfix=nox)
Never.
SFR wrote:Leon, since we're already on pkeys topic, could you please verify this issue: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=94870
I’ve followed your instructions and successfully installed and get it to work your modified slovene.gz keymap in Puppy Precise 5.6.11.

Congratulations and thanks.
Thanks a lot for confirmation! :)

Greetings!
[color=red][size=75][O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource[/size][/color]
[b][color=green]Omnia mea mecum porto.[/color][/b]

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

LD_LIBRARY_PATH

#510 Post by shinobar »

@01micko
At line 52 /etc/profile wrote: LD_LIBRARY_PATH="$FIREFOX:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH"
This LD_LIBRARY_PATH setting makes problem when we update seamonkey-solibs.
See http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 507#790507.
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#511 Post by technosaurus »

I hate firefox - so wrote this browser getter for others haters:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
MACHINE=`uname -m`
WGET="wget --no-check-certificate"
CHROME=https://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_
[ "$MACHINE" == "x86_64" ] && CHROME="${CHROME}x86_64.deb" || CHROME="${CHROME}i386.deb"
MOZLANG=${LANG%.*}
MOZLANG=${MOZLANG/_/-}
MOZ=http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/mozilla.org/
FIREFOX="${MOZ}firefox/releases/latest/linux-${MACHINE}/${MOZLANG}/"
SEAMONKEY="${MOZ}seamonkey/releases/"
OPERA="http://get.geo.opera.com/pub/opera-developer/"
OLDIFS="${IFS}"

CHOICE=`Xdialog --stdout --combobox "Please choose a browser" 0 0 Firefox SeaMonkey Chrome Opera64 None || exit`
case "$CHOICE" in
	Firefox)LATEST=`$WGET -O - ${FIREFOX}?C=M;O=A | grep "href" |tail -n 1`
	LATEST=${LATEST##*href=\"}
	LATEST=${LATEST%%\"*}
	LINK=${FIREFOX}${LATEST}
	;;
	SeaMonkey)LATEST=`$WGET -O - ${SEAMONKEY}?C=M;O=A | grep "href" |tail -n 1`
	LATEST=${LATEST##*href=\"}
	LATEST=${LATEST%%\"*}
	LINK="$SEAMONKEY${LATEST}linux-${MACHINE}/${MOZLANG}/seamonkey-${LATEST%/}.tar.bz2"
	;;
	Opera64)LATEST=`$WGET -O - $OPERA |grep href |tail -n2 |head -n1 |cut -d \" -f2`
	LINK="${OPERA}${LATEST}linux/opera-developer_${LATEST%/}_amd64.deb"
	;;
	Chrome)LINK=$CHROME
	;;
	None)exit;;
esac
PKG=${LINK##*/}
Xdialog --yesno "Install $PKG ?" 0 0 && $WGET $LINK || exit
case $PKG in
	*.tar.*)tar -xf $PKG && rox ${PKG%.tar.*} || Xdialog --msgbox "Error opening $PKG." 0 0;;
	*.deb|*.pet)petget $PKG;;
esac
Opera is at least making linux builds again, but only for 64 bit

The code is kinda messy - its a rough draft ... but thought I'd share in case anyone wanted to add other browsers that aren't in PPM

notes
www.maxthon.com/blog/tag/linux-browser | grep i386.tgz | head -n1

Also what's up with abiword "Bus error"?
I need to take a look at the kernel config and see if synaptics is enabled in the ps2mouse driver - which kernel is it?
Last edited by technosaurus on Wed 23 Jul 2014, 04:01, edited 1 time in total.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

gcmartin

#512 Post by gcmartin »

Hello @Technosaurus. Seen lots of your beautiful works in the past.

@Shinobar, has been creating a technique for browser installations that offers portability. The beauty in what he is showing us is a way to installed a single browser in such a way as it can launch from anywhere on the LAN and that it exist outside of PUPSAVE to reduce its impact on system's memory and systems/desktop failures. He offers a portable client for FFox/SM/Chrome/Chromiun.

I do realize what you share does not bring functionality from that aspect., but, was wondering: Could it?

Just a question

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#513 Post by mcewanw »

New version of Premote uploaded:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 466#651466

William
github mcewanw

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#514 Post by 01micko »

@techno

3.4.94
CONFIG_MOUSE_PS2_SYNAPTICS=y

You getting trouble with abiword? I don't use it much but it opens docx ok for me, as reliably as usual, in that some complex ones open a bit scrambled. I was thinking of going to TED, then of course there will be no complaints of screwing up any doc, docx files.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
shinobar
Posts: 2672
Joined: Thu 28 May 2009, 09:26
Location: Japan
Contact:

FIX: LASTUNIONRECORD

#515 Post by shinobar »

@01micko and whom woof-CE concern

I realized the LASTUNIONRECORD in /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG shows SFS in wrong order as for the zdrv.
at line 1897 init in initramfa wrote: mount -t aufs -o udba=reval,diropq=w,dirs=${UMNTRW}${UMNTRO0}${ALAYER}${YLAYER}${UMNTRO1}${ZLAYER}${UMNTRO} unionfs /pup_new
where UMNTRO0 is pup_ro1, UMNTRO1 is main SFS, UMNTRO is extra SFS.
The order of the UNIONRECORD should be in this order. Here is a fix.

Code: Select all

--- init-20140623-slacko-5.9.3	2014-06-23 08:54:16.000000000 +0900
+++ init-20140723-unionrecord-fix	2014-07-23 16:35:08.169967818 +0900
@@ -1694,7 +1694,7 @@
   SAVEFILENAMEONLY="`basename $SAVEFILE`"
   SFSFILE="`echo -n "$PUPSFS" | cut -f 3 -d ','`"
   SFSFILENAMEONLY="`basename $SFSFILE`"
-  RECORDLIST="$SAVEFILENAMEONLY $AFACTOR $YFACTOR $SFSFILENAMEONLY $EXTRASFSLIST $ZFACTOR" #v426
+  RECORDLIST="$SAVEFILENAMEONLY $AFACTOR $YFACTOR $SFSFILENAMEONLY $ZFACTOR $EXTRASFSLIST"
   NEWUNIONRECORD="`echo "$RECORDLIST" | tr -s ' '  | sed -e 's/ $//'`"
 
   #120130 bring back Underdog Linux...
Downloads for Puppy Linux [url]http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html[/url]

User avatar
technosaurus
Posts: 4853
Joined: Mon 19 May 2008, 01:24
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Contact:

#516 Post by technosaurus »

01micko wrote:@techno

3.4.94
CONFIG_MOUSE_PS2_SYNAPTICS=y

You getting trouble with abiword? I don't use it much but it opens docx ok for me, as reliably as usual, in that some complex ones open a bit scrambled. I was thinking of going to TED, then of course there will be no complaints of screwing up any doc, docx files.
when I ran abiword from terminal all I got was "bus error" .... strace said was from a signal. I use Seamonkey or Amaya as my document editor. ... can't get much more portable than html. I have no idea how to fix my touchpad the right mouse button doesn't work so end up using flsynclient to emulate with taps ... its one of those annoying Acer pads with no distinguishable buttons, just clickable areas on the pad.
Check out my [url=https://github.com/technosaurus]github repositories[/url]. I may eventually get around to updating my [url=http://bashismal.blogspot.com]blogspot[/url].

gcmartin

Language offer for FirstRUN

#517 Post by gcmartin »

FirstRUN changes will further "Internationalize" Puppy Linux. This is a rather significant offer to the community. Language becomes an out-of-the-box (OOTB) element of any future PUPPY distro.

An enhancement to a "Puppy Linux exclusive".

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#518 Post by mcewanw »

I'll be re-uploading precord in a few hours time with a new version number to avoid any confusion. I made a stupid single character error, which won't effect it working at all, but underneath causes it to use mplayer for playing back mp3 files when I wanted it to use lame|aplay. No big deal in practice, but best I fix it now anyway...

Cheers, William
github mcewanw

Marble42
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun 20 Jul 2014, 07:20

#519 Post by Marble42 »

I tried this version a few minutes ago and it seems extremely laggy. Laptop used was an ancient IBM T23 ThinkPad. Pentium 3, 1333Mhz, 512MB Ram, 30GB HDD. Booted via USB.

The mouse pointer was very laggy. I had to wait a lot of time to do anything, like click the initial "OK" button. Also the Puppy logo on the settings screen was glitchy, had black and white lines in it.

P.S. I just started using Linux a few days ago, so sorry that I can't be of more help. The official version of Slacko works great on that same LapTop. No problems (apart from maybe taking a somewhat long time to boot when compared to my 2gb ram desktop).

gcmartin

#520 Post by gcmartin »

Hello @Marble42 and welcome to Puppyland (BTW, I am not the official greeter. Like you, just a user)

Yes, the current official Slacko (assuming you are using 5.6 or 5.7) should work with no problems. And 5.7 still remains current and supported.

This version, as its title suggest is "beta" and under much development. It should not be expected to be "official" and without bugs as much of the dialogue in this thread are showing. Keep testing as any information you provided can be helpful as this progresses to a final official Slacko for 32bit PCs.

Also, pay attention to the opening post of the multiple PUP distros you find in the forum. They provide us useful information in which platforms and configurations (PCs) they recommend and support their distros use on.

Hope this is helpful

Post Reply