Page 10 of 25

Partview (Free Space in Drives) update

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 09:25
by ecube
Partview (Free Space in Drives) shows a "Please wait ..." splash window during the processing of the All Drives option.

However, for Slacko 5.3 and Racy-51110 the splash window does not dissappear when the calculation is finished.

The problem is illustrated by the following script, which intended to start yaf-splash, and to kill its process after 3 seconds.

Code: Select all

yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -placement center -text "Please wait, processing..." &
XPID=$!
echo "XPID=$XPID"
`sleep 3`
`kill $XPID`
PIDOF=`pidof yaf-splash`
echo "PIDOF=$PIDOF"
For Slacko 5.3 and Racy-51110 the output of the script is.

Code: Select all

XPID=28255
./p11: line 8: 28255 Terminated              yaf-splash -font "8x16" -outline 0 -margin 4 -bg orange -placement center -text "Please wait, processing..."
PIDOF=28296
Thus, yaf-splash is still running with PID = 28296.

The yaf-splash option -font "8x16" seems to be the culprit.

I enclose updated versions of partview, where the -font option is removed from yaf-splash. The version Partview-2.2-Slacko.pet includes the stuff added by 01micko.

Re: Partview (Free Space in Drives) update

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 12:19
by shinobar
ecube wrote:The yaf-splash option -font "8x16" seems to be the culprit.
See my posts:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 131#479131
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 315#575315

FF and TB

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 15:29
by wuwei
This might be a duplicate question, but I haven't checked the 13 pages before.

Just wondering why Racy and Wary 5.2 don't allow running Firefox and Thunderbird from /mnt/home anymore?
Also, neither FF 7.0.1 (or 8.0) nor TB is available by way of PPM.

I'd appreciate some comments as to the reasons for these surprising restrictions.

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 16:23
by upnorth
probably only need libdbus and libdbus-glib. These two pets should suffice:

ftp://ftp.nluug.nl:21/pub/metalab/distr ... .82-w5.pet

ftp://ftp.nluug.nl:21/pub/metalab/distr ... e-1-w5.pet

Re: FF and TB

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 16:30
by DaveS
wuwei wrote:This might be a duplicate question, but I haven't checked the 13 pages before.

Just wondering why Racy and Wary 5.2 don't allow running Firefox and Thunderbird from /mnt/home anymore?
Also, neither FF 7.0.1 (or 8.0) nor TB is available by way of PPM.

I'd appreciate some comments as to the reasons for these surprising restrictions.
To run generic Firefox you would need to install dbus and dbus-glib from the package manager. Racy certainly does allow running browser from mnt/home, doing so now.

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 16:31
by DaveS
upnorth wrote:probably only need libdbus and libdbus-glib. These two pets should suffice:

ftp://ftp.nluug.nl:21/pub/metalab/distr ... .82-w5.pet

ftp://ftp.nluug.nl:21/pub/metalab/distr ... e-1-w5.pet
Both can be installed via the package manager :)

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 17:09
by wuwei
YES

that was it.

dbus pets from above installed, Firefox runs.

However, all dbus links in PPM are dead!

Thanks for the help!

Re: FF and TB

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 17:13
by rcrsn51
DaveS wrote:To run generic Firefox you would need to install dbus and dbus-glib from the package manager. Racy certainly does allow running browser from mnt/home, doing so now.
I have an old version of FF in /mnt/home that I could always run from another Puppy just by installing the dbus stuff. But in the latest Wary/Racy it would fail and show a Mozilla error report box.

So I got the latest FF tarball, installed the dbus PETs mentioned above by DaveS and it now runs fine.

Re: FF and TB

Posted: Mon 31 Oct 2011, 18:19
by DaveS
rcrsn51 wrote:
DaveS wrote:To run generic Firefox you would need to install dbus and dbus-glib from the package manager. Racy certainly does allow running browser from mnt/home, doing so now.
I have an old version of FF in /mnt/home that I could always run from another Puppy just by installing the dbus stuff. But in the latest Wary/Racy it would fail and show a Mozilla error report box.

So I got the latest FF tarball, installed the dbus PETs mentioned above by DaveS and it now runs fine.
FWIW, installing dbus/dbus-glib will also activate the Dropbox tray icon if you use Dropbox.......

No Sound

Posted: Tue 01 Nov 2011, 04:48
by hoven
Video works well, mplayer/gmplayer works full screen. However, there is no audio even after I try running the ALSA sound wizard. It says it doesn't detect any supported PnP or PCI cards.

Dell Latitude D830.
Are there any suggestions to resolve this? Audio works out of the box with the Lupu Puppies like 5.28. Shouldn't it be the same get audio to work here?

Code: Select all

# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 Memory Controller Hub (rev 0c)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile PM965/GM965/GL960 PCI Express Root Port (rev 0c)
00:1a.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #4 (rev 02)
00:1a.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #5 (rev 02)
00:1a.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 02)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 1 (rev 02)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 2 (rev 02)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 4 (rev 02)
00:1c.5 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) PCI Express Port 6 (rev 02)
00:1d.0 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1d.1 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #2 (rev 02)
00:1d.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB UHCI Controller #3 (rev 02)
00:1d.7 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller #1 (rev 02)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev f2)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801HEM (ICH8M) LPC Interface Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.2 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801HBM/HEM (ICH8M/ICH8M-E) SATA IDE Controller (rev 02)
00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) SMBus Controller (rev 02)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Quadro NVS 140M (rev a1)
03:01.0 CardBus bridge: O2 Micro, Inc. Cardbus bridge (rev 21)
03:01.4 FireWire (IEEE 1394): O2 Micro, Inc. Firewire (IEEE 1394) (rev 02)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetXtreme BCM5755M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express (rev 02)
0c:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4328 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 03)

Code: Select all

# cat /proc/asound/card0/codec#* | grep Codec
Codec: SigmaTel STAC9205
Codec: Conexant ID 2c06 

Posted: Tue 01 Nov 2011, 04:51
by James C
BarryK wrote:I have a problem with 'glxgears' in Racy, see my blog report:

http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=02574

Tests of glxgears on other video hardware greatly appreciated!

Make sure all apps etc. closed before testing, in case it hangs. I had to hold down the power-off button on my laptop for 4 seconds.
Dug an old box with Intel graphics off the shelf.....no problem with glxgears.

# report-video
Racy Puppy, version 5.1.110 on Mon 31 Oct 2011

Chip description:
2.0 VGA compatible controller
Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)
oem: Intel(r)865G Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)865G Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0

X Server: Xorg
Driver used: # vesa

X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/root/ as report-video,
and archived with xorg.conf and Xorg.0.log as report-video-full.gz
#

Interestingly though..../var/log/Xorg.0.log shows the Intel driver being used.

[ 62.064] ABI class: X.Org Server Extension, version 5.0
[ 62.064] (II) UnloadModule: "vesa"
[ 62.064] (II) Unloading vesa
62.064] (==) Depth 24 pixmap format is 32 bpp
[ 62.064] (II) intel(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
[ 62.064] (II) intel(0): [DRI2] DRI driver: i915
[ 62.064] (II) intel(0): Allocated new frame buffer 1024x768 stride 4096, tiled
[ 62.078] (II) UXA(0): Driver registered support for the following operations:


# glxgears
778 frames in 5.0 seconds = 155.511 FPS
809 frames in 5.0 seconds = 161.796 FPS
802 frames in 5.0 seconds = 160.350 FPS
813 frames in 5.0 seconds = 162.546 FPS
791 frames in 5.0 seconds = 158.162 FPS
812 frames in 5.0 seconds = 162.357 FPS
800 frames in 5.0 seconds = 159.890 FPS
808 frames in 5.0 seconds = 161.475 FPS

Racy Puppy 5.1.110 (5.2 beta2 - 27 Oct 2011)

Posted: Tue 01 Nov 2011, 05:03
by Billtoo
Manual frugal install to hp desktop.

Tue 1 Nov 2011 Operating System: Racy Puppy-5.1.110 Linux 3.0.7
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 220] (rev a2)
oem: NVIDIA product: GT216 Board - 0682vb12 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.0
dimensions: 1280x1024 pixels (342x271 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes


Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500
Core 0: 1200 1: 1200 MHz

# glxgears
31377 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6275.313 FPS
31449 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6289.661 FPS
31422 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6284.344 FPS

Computer
Processor 2x Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E4500 @ 2.20GHz
Memory 4146MB (171MB used)

It's working well.

Posted: Tue 01 Nov 2011, 05:51
by Sage
SiS video grief persists. So what changed? Who doesn't like SiS? ATI & nV require bloated drivers to produce the goods whereas SiS in other distros does not.

Later:
Some progress. With some, but not all, HW combos, using initial default 1900x??? and an electron microscope to view, then CTRL-ALT-BKspce, XOrgwizard, select native res. (1440x900 in this case) from a 'regular' Probe, ignore predictions about what might/might not work and set 1024x768@24bit gives the desired result. This result cannot be obtained by jiggling the Quickset utility. All this Mickey Mouse shouldn't be necessary because, evidently, all the correct information lies somewhere within the installed kernel/code/drivers.

Posted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 08:42
by Sage
ALSA no longer detecting legacy ISA sound cards, even though it runs through the process and lists the drivers.
SM crashes after ~5mins on older AGP cards, eg RIVA TNT2. Might not be able to handle more than 5 open tabs/one window? No such problems with Opera. Why isn't Opera in the PPM list?!

Posted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 17:06
by Sage
PCLinux- Phoenix Edition has an utility Systeminfo v0.6.3 which gives a textual list of options. The first of these reads some basic BIOS info (dmidecode). It's very difficult for regular folk to remember all the arcane Unix commands that a simple list like this is perfect. This is so valuable in testing that it's worth booting this distro just for that. Any chance of adding this to Racy or Wary? Probably only a kb or so in code?
Lots of other goodies along with my favourite desktop - Xfce - in that distro.

systeminfo.pet

Posted: Wed 02 Nov 2011, 20:16
by tronkel
@sage

Hi Matey - hope things are going well over in Blighty.
Attached is a pet package that I purloined from the PCLinuxOS repo and converted it to a pet.

The guy who developed it (called Leiche - LOL German for corpse :lol: ) did a good job on it - so I think that you are right in that it would be worth having available in Puppy.

Tested in Wary 5.2, Iguleder's Guy Dog 5.01, Luci 529 (3- Headed Dog). Should also work in most recent Puppies.

You may need the DBUS packages - certainly in Wary and maybe in the Lucid series as well, so if it doesn't start, install the DBUS packages from the PPM. You'll find the program in the JWM menu under "system".

Over and out.

Tronkel

Posted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 06:41
by Sage
That's amazing tronk - very many thanks to you and the undead, Leiche! Tell me he's from Transylvania. Looks as if quite a few nibbles already. Small utilities like this strengthen the breed.
You may need the DBUS packages

- and Racy.

Posted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 08:20
by Sage
Unintended consequences!
Running the Flashplayer option immediately and involuntarily at the start of play tends to ellicit the answer 'Yes, please'. For users, esp. experimenters, of the liveCD, this can be disastrous. Running it numerous times a day soon gobbles up even the most generous ISP d/l allocations, doubtless reflected in the monthly account.
Suggest the appearance of Flashplayer is directly linked to first use of browser. Even better, to any use of browser requiring it (I don't use BBC iPlayer on test machines).

Posted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 12:49
by BarryK
linuxcbon wrote:glxgears : command not found
It will be in next Racy.

Also, problem with glxgears hanging with Intel video fixed for next Racy.

Re: FirstRun and Internet Tool changes in RACY

Posted: Thu 03 Nov 2011, 13:07
by BarryK
gcmartin wrote:Internet Connection Wizard
There are 3 items of issue in this.
  • The SMB/CIFS international "valid" characters for a hostname is A-Z, 0-9, and the hyphen character(s). When used in the tool, it is stripping our the hyphen when found.(For example, RACY-RCtest1 is being changed to RACYRCtest1)
  • When the hostname is changed via the tool, should one want to re-enter to verify, before restarting the desktop, the original information is found in the tool.
  • And, I have found that most, if not all system fields are attempted to be changed, even though the desktop was not restarted. Fields are:

    Code: Select all

    # hostname
    RACYRCtest1
    # echo $HOSTNAME
    RACYRCtest1
    # cat /etc/hosts
    127.0.0.1 localhost RACYRCtest1
    192.168.1.1 pc2
    192.168.1.2 pc3
    192.168.1.3 pc4
    # cat /etc/hostname[/quote]
    
    Thanks for the report. I have fixed the first two in /usr/sbin/hostname-set. I don't know what the problem is in your 3rd point.