Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 21 Oct 2014, 07:01
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Wary 1.0.2 (102) feedback
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Shep

Joined: 08 Nov 2008
Posts: 851
Location: GIRT-BY-SEA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 09:47    Post subject: Re: 3G  

i00i wrote:
I finally got my 3G modem working! For me as a newbie it was really tricky job. You guys are talking about PupDial (aren’t you? Embarassed ). I couldn’t get it working with it (obviously too difficult for me), but instead I succeeded with GPRS wizard.

What speed are you getting? Won't GPRS be very slow?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pakt


Joined: 04 Jun 2005
Posts: 1089
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 10:57    Post subject:  

zygo wrote:
I don't know why you can't connect everytime.

Well, I have definitely narrowed it down.

After more testing, so far the init string3 only messes up when I have tried to boot with modem connected.
Then either the string is missing or the string is incorrect, e.g.
Code:
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2+FCLASS=0

Changing to the correct string, I can connect.

Otherwise, as long as I re-boot (with pfix=ram or with a save file), then connect the modem,
I get this initialisation string 3:
Code:
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&D2
or
Code:
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2

and can connect and get online.

(The error I get when unplugging, then re-plugging the modem without re-booting is another problem, but as this scenario is rather unlikely, I don't see fixing it so important.)

_________________
Testing Puppy since v0.9.2 - my desktop OS since v1.0.7
Running SlaxerPup-4.12 - Puppy with a Slackware 12.2 heart Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
i00i

Joined: 29 Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 12:48    Post subject: Re: 3G  

Shep wrote:
i00i wrote:
I finally got my 3G modem working! For me as a newbie it was really tricky job. You guys are talking about PupDial (aren’t you? Embarassed ). I couldn’t get it working with it (obviously too difficult for me), but instead I succeeded with GPRS wizard.

What speed are you getting? Won't GPRS be very slow?


No. I have 2M modem and speedtest gave me 1.9M. It is the same as with Windows XP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 14:41    Post subject:
Subject description: first click doesn't count? rerun pup_event_frontend_d
 

Two irksome effects:

First, it appears that sometimes the first mouse click doesn't count when activating an application from the desktop even if "Single-click to open" is set in the pinboard configuration. I think this was reported for Wary 098 also. In addition the same effect sometimes seems to occur if single click navigation is not set and one double clicks on a file or directory in RoxFiler; it takes three clicks. This seems to happen when focus has been elsewhere even if focus is first transferred back to RoxFiler by clicking on it somewhere.

Second, sometimes a quick right click on a drive icon will cause it to disappear. Or, if I change the settings for the disk icon manager, it does not necessarily refresh. I can cause it to do so by rebooting, restarting X, or running pup_event_frontend_d from the console. Would in make sense to add a "Restart frontend" to the shutdown menu or when exiting the eventmanager?

BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gyle

Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 97
Location: Fr

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 17:54    Post subject:  

hi ravensrest

Quote:
First, it appears that sometimes the first mouse click doesn't count when activating an application from the desktop even if "Single-click to open" is set in the pinboard configuration


Please see my previous post on page 5 and test.
It is not "sometimes" but always, because it depends, IMHO, how ROX is articulated with JWM, in Wary or Quirky, Lupu, etc..

Quote:
sometimes a quick right click on a drive icon will cause it to disappear


It is almost certain that the contact of the button of your mouse has bounced two times when you have clicked.The first right click opened the menu dialog, the second contact (not debounced, like with the microcontroller's program of the keyboard) has just clicked on the item "Remove item(s) " You can see that the focus is set on this item if you right click on the icon.
The programmer must have forbidden the right click on any item on the pull-down contextual menu to avoid this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 18:26    Post subject:  

pakt wrote:
zygo wrote:
I don't know why you can't connect everytime.

Well, I have definitely narrowed it down.

After more testing, so far the init string3 only messes up when I have tried to boot with modem connected.
Then either the string is missing or the string is incorrect, e.g.
Code:
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2+FCLASS=0

Changing to the correct string, I can connect.

Otherwise, as long as I re-boot (with pfix=ram or with a save file), then connect the modem,
I get this initialisation string 3:
Code:
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&D2
or
Code:
ATQ0V1E1S0=0&C1&D2

and can connect and get online.

(The error I get when unplugging, then re-plugging the modem without re-booting is another problem, but as this scenario is rather unlikely, I don't see fixing it so important.)


Yes, I read about a problem with the E1550 modem -- something about replugging -- /dev/ttyUSB0 works, but if you replug the modem then you have to use /dev/ttyUSB1 -- which is weird.

Well, I can put in some code to detect an empty string and do some workaround.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 18:32    Post subject: Workaround to prevent drive icon disappear  

ravensrest wrote:
sometimes a quick right click on a drive icon will cause it to disappear.


I use a workaround that cures the second problem. Change line 43 in /etc/eventmanager to this:

Code:
ICON_PLACE_EDGE_GAP=96


After X restarted, the drive icons will appear at a higher position thus your mouse cannot accidentally repeat the click over the "Remove item(s)" menu point that may pop up unintendedly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 20:24    Post subject: gtkdialog-splash
Subject description: splash does not disappear
 

PROBLEM:
In PUPMODE=13, pressing the 'Save' icon on the desktop,
the yellow splash pops up but never disappear unless clicking the splash.

REASON:
An issue in dealing with 'font' option in /usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash.

SOLUTION(1):(my recommendation)
Remove /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash.
I recommend to remove yaf-splash because it doesn't support UTF-8.

another SOLUSION(2):
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash line 12:
Quote:
if [ -f /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash ] && false;then #100917

another SOLUTION(3):
/usr/bin/gtkdialog-splash line 24:
Quote:
eval "exec /usr/X11R7/bin/yaf-splash ${FIXEDPARAMS}"

another SOLUTION(4):
Replace 'font' option with 'fontsize' option.
I hope someone will find smart way.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 21:21    Post subject:  

Thanks for the input Gyle, gjuhasz. Changing line 43 does, indeed, result in the missing icon being placed higher up the screen when it is reconstructed, but it still disappears with a quick right click, and I have to run pup_event_frontend_d to get it back immediately.

My "work around" is to hold the right button down and move the cursor to where you want it before letting go.

Have found not way yet to eliminate the extra click when navigating.
BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gyle

Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 97
Location: Fr

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 21:29    Post subject:  

Quote:
I use a workaround that cures the second problem.


OK for the workaround, but "cures" ?
Official Medecine, or M$, "cures" symptomes, not the cause ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gyle

Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 97
Location: Fr

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 22:12    Post subject:  

Quote:
My "work around" is to hold the right button down and move the cursor to where you want it before letting go


Yes I proceeded the same because I also had a too much sensitive mouse buttons.

Quote:
Have found not way yet to eliminate the extra click when navigating


If you mean by "extra click" the bouncing of the electric contacts of the mouse there is no solution but to have a soft debouncing routine in the program of the tiny micro in the mouse, I think it is not the case, may be because the gamers/consumers love a mouse that double-clicks faster than its shadow....
It is worth changing your mouse for a good one.
But it is not useless to first clean the contacts of your mouse...because dust or corrosion creates false contacts.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sun 19 Dec 2010, 23:21    Post subject:
Subject description: first click doesn't count? rerun pup_event_frontend_d
 

ravensrest wrote:
Two irksome effects:

First, it appears that sometimes the first mouse click doesn't count when activating an application from the desktop even if "Single-click to open" is set in the pinboard configuration. I think this was reported for Wary 098 also. In addition the same effect sometimes seems to occur if single click navigation is not set and one double clicks on a file or directory in RoxFiler; it takes three clicks. This seems to happen when focus has been elsewhere even if focus is first transferred back to RoxFiler by clicking on it somewhere.

Second, sometimes a quick right click on a drive icon will cause it to disappear. Or, if I change the settings for the disk icon manager, it does not necessarily refresh. I can cause it to do so by rebooting, restarting X, or running pup_event_frontend_d from the console. Would in make sense to add a "Restart frontend" to the shutdown menu or when exiting the eventmanager?

BS


A single click solution from 098:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=468682#468682

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4797
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 03:32    Post subject:  

Quote:
But it is not useless to first clean the contacts of your mouse...because dust or corrosion creates false contacts.

There are two issues - SW and HW.
The microswitches cannot reasonably be repaired. The phosphor-bronze leaf springs inside them WILL eventually fail, either by stress-fracturing (breakage) but, long before that, they will lose their flexibility. [If you're into pointless engineering repairs, they can be dismantled, the springs re-tempered in a furnace and re-assembled with the rivet gun. Nothing is ever totally unrepairable!]. Some cheap mice have poor designs leading to, inter alia, inadvertent multiple switch contacting, no ditto, and other spurious effects. Genius are the most reliable and one of the cheapest I've found from experience with hundreds of the beasts. Logitech are OK but over-priced; give M$-branded devices a miss. Clean the rollers frequently using IPA or vodka.
As for the SW - not my bag.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gyle

Joined: 23 Dec 2007
Posts: 97
Location: Fr

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 04:55    Post subject:  

Quote:
The microswitches cannot reasonably be repaired.


yes Sage you are right, modern mouses has waterproof microswitches we can't clean.
It is my memories of so-called good old days that I have to clean...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ravensrest


Joined: 22 Feb 2008
Posts: 321
Location: Hood Canal, WA

PostPosted: Mon 20 Dec 2010, 11:37    Post subject:
Subject description: Extra click when navigating, navigating with rox
 

Thanks, rjbrewer. Your suggested mod to /usr/local/bin/rox does appear to fix the "extra click" problem.

As for the disppearing drive icon, holding the right button does work, but is still irksome. Anyone capable of writing a debounce routine?

BS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 9 [129 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1094s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]