Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 00:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
x11vnc server and tightvnc viewer packages for Dingo
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
tunyawat

Joined: 02 Nov 2008
Posts: 103
Location: Bangkok, Thailand and London, UK

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 12:49    Post_subject:  

Thanks, your x11vnc pet is working great on my puppy farms (10 machines) However, it doesn't work on a remastered CD. Only fresh installation works. Any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 12:56    Post_subject:  

be useful to know what you mean by "doesn't work" ... see the link in my signature!
_________________
Want to report a bug or problem? Have a read of this first ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tunyawat

Joined: 02 Nov 2008
Posts: 103
Location: Bangkok, Thailand and London, UK

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 13:15    Post_subject:  

OK, the x11vnc on the remastered CD won't allow the viewer to connect to the server. Apart from this, everything looks normal so I don't know where to look at.

I tried changing the vnc port to 5900 by using the command "x11vnc -rfbport 5900" but it doesn't solve the problem. It works only when I reinstall the pet package again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 875
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 13:29    Post_subject:  

be useful to know what you mean by "won't allow"

.. and so on

_________________
Want to report a bug or problem? Have a read of this first ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
tunyawat

Joined: 02 Nov 2008
Posts: 103
Location: Bangkok, Thailand and London, UK

PostPosted: Thu 18 Jun 2009, 14:03    Post_subject:  

Please, can you leave the space for a helper or the pet's owner to ask me for clarification if they need to?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alix_board

Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Posts: 64
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Mon 28 Sep 2009, 09:26    Post_subject:  

Hi @ all,

i have install x11vnc_server-0.9.4B.pet on my puppy linux PC. After i install x11vnc_server and restart my system i have only one entry in the menu-networtk -- it is x11vnc-server.

When i start this, i have choose the option "Start the x11vnc server now and everytime we boot". Then i have set a "Password for connection". So i become the message, "The x11vnc server has been started. ....."

After that i start VNC Viewer on my Windows PC, but i can not make an connection to the puppy PC Confused !?

The IP from Puppy is 192.168.70.137 and the IP from my Windows PC is 192.168.70.122. The Subnetmask is the same.

Have someone any idea what´s wrong? For information, i can make a ping from the Puppy PC to Windows and backwards.

thanks a lot,
alix_board
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
alix_board

Joined: 14 Aug 2009
Posts: 64
Location: Austria

PostPosted: Tue 29 Sep 2009, 03:15    Post_subject:  

Hi,

so, now i want to control my windows PC over Puppy Linux with the tightvnc_viewer-1.3.9.pet. I install this package. After i restart my system i open menu --> Network --> TightVnc VNC Client. But the client do not start!?

What's wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Strampke

Joined: 06 Jan 2007
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 17:48    Post_subject:
Sub_title: where is the viewer?
 

I installed the tighvnc viewer, but I cannot find how to start it.
It does not appear in the menu under Network and I cannot find it anywhere in the Puppy directories.
(this search function from ROX, I don't get it, I cannot search with it. (used to using Midnight Commander)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
2byte

Joined: 09 Oct 2006
Posts: 357

PostPosted: Fri 13 Aug 2010, 19:55    Post_subject:  

You may need to open a terminal and type fixmenus to get it to show up in the menu. Depending on which Puppy you have you may also need to reboot or restart X. If you want to run it from a terminal the command should be
Code:
 /usr/X11R7/bin/vncviewer
or just vncviewer.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
walrus

Joined: 23 Jun 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jun 2011, 20:50    Post_subject:  

not to dredge an old thread, but i had some issues with this, and maybe it will help someone in the future.

worked fine until i realized i could not use SHIFT and was missing some characters here or there. in my search for a fix, all i found were suggestions to run with -xkb. doing this only resulted in me getting NO keyboard input over vnc. after a lot of experimenting i found that running with the switch -nomodtweak solved all the issues.

hope it helps,
walrus
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
DAJ

Joined: 07 Nov 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon 07 Nov 2011, 07:20    Post_subject:  

Thanks walrus

Your suggestion of adding switch -nomodtweak with x11vnc did solved all the issues you mention.

Perhaps to help others here is what I did. (lupu 525, 528)

1. Relevant file to modify is x11vnc-gui (a text file):
Code:
/usr/X11R7/bin/x11vnc-gui

2. Two lines need to be changed. The code in each line is the same. Line 53 and line 59 in the original read:
Code:
x11vnc -nolookup -forever -bg -passwordfile /root/.x11vnc/read:password

add -nomodtweak after xx11vnc (and space) eg
Code:
x11vnc -nomodtweak -nolookup -forever -bg -passwordfile /root/.x11vnc/read:password
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
HoerMirAuf


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 89
Location: Würzburg

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jul 2012, 15:00    Post_subject: ... a newer version ...  

Hi ....

i run the x11vncserver-0.9.4b on my wary-puppy and it works well. Bute after changing to slacko i got the problem that the shift keys dosnt work.

So, i compiled the 0.9.14 version an made a pet file. I added some libs (libssl and libcrypto) and the vncserver works on slacko without errors.

i tryed to upload the package here ... but ther was always an upload error. if anybody is interessed in please tell me, how i can it upload here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
somethis


Joined: 15 May 2013
Posts: 5
Location: Germany, Europe

PostPosted: Wed 15 May 2013, 11:15    Post_subject:  

ahiemstra wrote:
I successfully installed and ran it on Puppy v4.00 too.


Works on Wary 5.3, too
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
georg1

Joined: 23 Sep 2013
Posts: 163

PostPosted: Fri 27 Sep 2013, 14:42    Post_subject:  

Hi. For me just work in both directions if I disable firewall, than work in both sides, if is enabled just work from puppy to outside.

So I must open 5900 port in puppy firewall, but Im little confused, with that hosts and ip addresses

my situation is that

router has 192.168.1.12/255.255.255.0

my win machine has 192.168.1.2

puppy one 192.168.1.114
puppy two 192.168.1.134

but I dont even know what is my host, is that name of my windows share group, my windows machine name, or router name ?

thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
toronado

Joined: 04 Sep 2013
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 05:02    Post_subject:  

DAJ wrote:
Thanks walrus

Your suggestion of adding switch -nomodtweak with x11vnc did solved all the issues you mention.

Perhaps to help others here is what I did. (lupu 525, 528)

1. Relevant file to modify is x11vnc-gui (a text file):
Code:
/usr/X11R7/bin/x11vnc-gui

2. Two lines need to be changed. The code in each line is the same. Line 53 and line 59 in the original read:
Code:
x11vnc -nolookup -forever -bg -passwordfile /root/.x11vnc/read:password

add -nomodtweak after xx11vnc (and space) eg
Code:
x11vnc -nomodtweak -nolookup -forever -bg -passwordfile /root/.x11vnc/read:password


Thanks for this! I had the non-functioning shift key and this fix worked for me!

Just one problem... holding down shift and pressing the comma key was producing a ">" instead of a "<". (Interestingly, "<" was the one uppercase character that did work previously.)

The fix for that was:
Quote:
-remap less-comma
as mentioned here:http://www.karlrunge.com/x11vnc/faq.html#faq-greaterless
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0828s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]