Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 26 Nov 2014, 11:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy 5.0.1 - 24 May 2010
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 40 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Author Message
upnorth


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 19:33    Post_subject: jwm
Sub_title: jwm
 

I don't know if this is it, but could be. Alt-click drag works in 491 in wary020. It might be worth a test.
Otherwise check the /root/.jwm/jwmrc-personal file where there should be:

Code:
<!-- The move mode (outline or opaque) -->
<MoveMode>outline</MoveMode>

<!-- The resize mode (outline or opaque) -->
<ResizeMode>outline</ResizeMode>


Quote:
491 1d 06h joewing / Go back to always grabbing the mouse on windows.
490 17d 00h joewing / Fix a bug with windows losing focus.
489 20d 19h joewing / Add locale support for the clock popup.
488 23d 01h joewing / Speed up the last fix
487 23d 01h joewing / Ungrab the mouse for the top window to work around a bug in flash.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 19:33    Post_subject:  

Quote:
I reported this already in the 113 bug thread in wich I said I reported it already before.
This way of doing is a standard way of handling windows. I have no idea what has gone wrong.


01micko already has the answer. A bug in jwm 490. He has gotten 491 ready. Whew. He's superman. And I am so glad I didn't cause it Wink I don't mind admitting that I am pretty fried of looking through complex code and trying to make changes without causing disaster.

I learned something though in looking it up. It was originally a KDE innovation, which I guess has become fairly standard now.

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 19:36    Post_subject:  

Quote:


Don't know about Lucid, but normally:

Menu>shutdown>exit to prompt
or
Control>alt>backspace
_________________


Thanks rjbrewer, I am looking for a command I could put into a shell script that would exit the window manager and run a command, xorgwizard in my case. The purpose would be to automate the process for people who have to run xorgwizard to get a correct video driver, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
upnorth


Joined: 11 Jan 2010
Posts: 262
Location: Wisconsin UTC-6 (-5 DST)

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 19:44    Post_subject:  

exec wmexit
xorgwizard
xwin

Wouldn't something like this work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 20:01    Post_subject:  

Thanks upnorth, but when I try that, it exits but that's all. I am usually missing something obvious.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 20:02    Post_subject:  

upnorth, nope, coz killing X kills everthing..

I stole this code from /usr/sbin/xorgwizard

Code:
#!/bin/sh
#do this code block if X is running...
mv -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf /etc/X11/xorg.conf.prev 2>/dev/null
   [ -e /usr/bin/Xvesa ] && ln -sf Xvesa /usr/bin/X
   NEXTWM="`cat /etc/windowmanager`"
   echo -n "$NEXTWM" > /etc/windowmanager #this makes change permanent.
   echo -n "$NEXTWM" > /tmp/wmexitmode.txt
   sync
   exec killall X


seems to work ok

EDIT: on looking closer at the code, xorg.conf is moved, or to be more correct the name is changed with the "mv" command. On the exit to a prompt, Puppy thinks there is no xorg.conf and xorgwizard is run automatically, what an ingenious idea, kudos Barry.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
playdayz


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 3789

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 20:14    Post_subject:  

Concerning the screen being shifted to the right, with Nvidia cards I think. I noticed that my Nvidia 5200 with a 17' monitor does that or something similar. It automatically boots to a 1280x960 resolution that is shifted to the right--I would say more than 5mm, more like 5 cm I think. Anyway, when I exit to a prompt and run xorgwizard and choose a resolution of 1024x768 then the screen is no longer shifted. Is that the same?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 20:46    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
I stole this code from /usr/sbin/xorgwizard [code follows]

seems to work ok


Yes! That's it! And here it is in an executable file, in case no one else did that yet (I had to tar it to get it past the extension censor in this forum). Just untar, put the "excon" script in an appropriate directory, and have First Run Configuration invoke it on demand, instead of telling users to exit to prompt and type xorgwizard (which they can't very well do with non-US keyboards).

Just in time for Lucid Puppy 115--yes? And, um, the drive icon alignment will also be up to the standard set by Puppy 4.3.1--yes? Very Happy
excon.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  excon.tar.gz 
Filesize  328 Bytes 
Downloaded  220 Time(s) 

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Mon 03 May 2010, 23:39    Post_subject:  

ok

The Filthy Icon Fix.



Now this is about the dirtiest, filthiest "fix" I have ever come up with. Actually it is not a fix but a workaround, and I haven't tested it properly yet, but here goes..

Code:
#!/bin/sh
if [ -L /mnt/home ]; then
echo "ICONWIPE" > /tmp/pup_event_icon_change_flag
rm -f /usr/sbin/fixicons
fi


name that script "fixicons", make executable and place in /usr/sbin (I'll attach)

Now at the top of ~/.xinitrc we call it
Quote:
#!/bin/sh
# $Xorg: xinitrc.cpp,v 1.3 2000/08/17 19:54:30 cpqbld Exp $

. /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE

if [ -x /root/.jwm/jwm_colors ];then #v3.96
. /root/.jwm/jwm_colors
fi

[ -x /usr/sbin/fixicons ] && fixicons #icon fix for lupu

#v4.01 BK daemon to handle kernel uevents...
/sbin/clean_desk_icons #v4.02 tidy up drive icons first.
/sbin/pup_event_frontend_d & #v403


Note, it is not forked so no "&"

It will only execute when a pupsave is done and and will only execute once, then it deletes itself. An error is created when we call it again but it is suppressed, sent to /dev/null

All's it does is create a flag so that the clean_desk_icons script picks it up, which as you can see is next cab off the rank. This is exactly what checking that box in "Desktop Drive Icon Manager" does.

Not a happy work around but I can't think of anything else.

Cheers ( Rolling Eyes )

EDIT: Tested now, and on first reboot after pupsave created the icons were redrawn as expected. On subsequent boots there were just there in the correct position. I think this will be ok for now, If it's included in the next version then I will come up with something for save back to cd too, this will be fine for any type of frugal, including usb. Full? Does that have the same issue? Anyone try a full install?

EDIT2: Changed it so no error is generated at all

_______________________________________________________________________

If any one want's to try the "Filthy Icon Fix" you must save fixicons somewhere beforehand. Boot lupu-114 "puppy pfix=ram". After you configure your stuff copy fixicons to /usr/sbin. At line 9 in ~/.xinitrc add the line [ -x /usr/sbin/fixicons ] && fixicons #icon fix for lupu. Reboot and make a pupsave, if only testing make a small one with a unique name you will remember. Choose the one you just created at boot. Report results.
fixicons.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  fixicons.tar.gz 
Filesize  236 Bytes 
Downloaded  224 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 00:18    Post_subject:  

aarf wrote:
more grief for you micko Laughing
package manager is in need of a -4 fix same as quickpet needed before


Laughing Am I ever out of it? Laughing

Is it in Quirky too, or Lupu specific? If it's in Quirky you may have to take it to the BV himself, else I'll deal with it.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
smil99

Joined: 18 Aug 2007
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 01:00    Post_subject:  

Hi playdayz,
Thanks for your interest in Openshot. Actually, I am able to make previous versions of openshot ( versions 9.5.4 and 1.0.0) work in both puppy 4.3.1 as well as upup458. The following are the steps I took to make these versions work:
1. make sure ffplay can play videos
2. Installed full python-2.5.2 (about 16MB) from the forums.
3. Installed goocanvas (the module must be in /usr/lib/python2.5/site-packages folder with the libgoocanvas in /usr/lib)
4. Installed the following packages from openshot site:
(i) openshot-x264_0.67.1173-1_i386.deb,
(ii) openshot-frei0r_1.1.22-1_i386.deb,
(iii) openshot-ffmpeg_git-2623d8f-1_i386.deb and
(iv) openshot.deb

5. After installing above openshot packages, make sure the following modules are also in the the site-packages folder: _mlt.so, mlt.py and mlt_wrap.o. If they are not, find them and copy them into that folder.

Open a console and type
# python
and then
# import mlt
If no errors are shown, then the mlt python bindings were installed properly.

6. Open another console and type
# melt
followed by
# 'melt -query "producers"
A list of producers will be shown and amongst these, avformat MUST be one them. This is very crucial since the non presence of avformat in the producers list will render openshot unusable.

Notes:
1.Openshot is supposed to start by typing 'pyhton openshot'. However, I am not able start it this way. Instead, I start it by the following command at the console:
# /usr/share/openshot/openshot.py
This will work when openshot is in the folder specified. If not, make sure you know where openshot was installed and execute the appropriate command.

2. There may be situations when open shot will not start even after doing all the above. This might necessitate the installation of the following:
(i) pycairo
(ii) xdg
(iii) libSDL

3. Also, when the neccessary plugins like the mlt plugins and freiOr plugins have not been installed in correct folders, openshot may not start. Ideally, folders of these plugins must be found in /usr/local/lib after installation. However, there are times that I have had to move them to /usr/lib before they are recognized.

The problem:
Openshot 1.1.3 which is the latest version of openshot seems to have been built dependent on newer mlt libraries (version 0.5.4). This means there must be precisely, ubuntu lucid versions of ffmpeg with ffplay capability and numerous ubuntu lucid libs such as libavformat, libavdevice, libavcodec, libavfilter, etc. The list can be long depending on what one already has installed and they will be shown during the testing of ffplay and mlt. It also expects the presence of python 2.6.

Well, I have also been able to make openshot 1.1.3 start on lupu114 but can't import any video! To the best of my knowledge, I think this is due to incompatibility of ffmpeg already in lupu and ffplay that gets installed when one tries to upgradel ffmpeg from ubuntu lucid repository. The end result is ffplay doesn't work as expected and as such avformat is not present in the producers list when I execute
# 'melt -query "producers"

Conclusion
It is possible to have openshot work in puppylinux and its derivatives. Needs the guys with indepth knowledge of tweaking who have also got the interest in video-editing for puppylinux. If latest ffmpeg can be compiled with ffplay enabled I am sure openshot may work. I consider myself as a user who has little knowledge in this area and I hope the explanations given above are clear enough to make someone have a go at it.

Kudos to all our developers, testers and users as well as the master-brain Barry K.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
aarf

Joined: 30 Aug 2007
Posts: 3620
Location: around the bend

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 02:41    Post_subject:  

01micko wrote:
aarf wrote:
more grief for you micko Laughing
package manager is in need of a -4 fix same as quickpet needed before


Laughing Am I ever out of it? Laughing

Is it in Quirky too, or Lupu specific? If it's in Quirky you may have to take it to the BV himself, else I'll deal with it.

strangely quirky021 package manager could connect. so just lupu for now.

_________________

ASUS EeePC Flare series 1025C 4x Intel Atom N2800 @ 1.86GHz RAM 2063MB 800x600p ATA 320G
_-¤-_

<º))))><.¸¸.•´¯`•.#.•´¯`•.¸¸. ><((((º>
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 657
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 03:51    Post_subject:  

Speaking of non-US keyboards . . . would someone who knows more about what to do with them than I do, like to answer the questions posed in this separate thread: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=55041 ?
_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds

Visit Pa Penguin's Icebox: http://www.pa-mcclamrock.com/icebox.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 06:37    Post_subject:  

An annoying bug more than a fatal one.

In quirky when I do SNS to get LAN then it remember the setting and it works all day. In lupu114 it lose connection again and again so one have to do connect again.

As I said. More annoying than something very bad or fatal.

And maybe it is just my ISP that behave that way. Maybe all others have modems or equipment that holds the IP regardless of if the SNS acts up.

But quirky 21 must have done something right because since the change I never lose connection which I do on puppy431std all the time too.

The problem for me is that I fail to set up nvidia on Q21 and on lupu I go stright into vesa so I don't need to deal with nvidia.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3518
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Tue 04 May 2010, 10:54    Post_subject:  

Lupu-114

Problems with icons for drives/partitions:

1. Found that the icon for the optical drive kept moving over to bottom left, on top of sda1.
FIX:
Allowed it to be where it wanted to be, by moving other icons [sda1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11] to the right.
sr0 now occupies the location previously occupied by sda1.

2. This cause took a lot of time and effort to discover:
(a) xfe-default-file-manager-0.1 [when installed] caused icons fd0 and sr0 to disappear from the desktop.

(b) I had been making a backup of the pupsave file after each install of a new program, so when the problem appeared I restored the pupsave copy made prior to the install.
When the install of xfe-default-file-manager-0.1introduced the problem, I restored the pupsave, and that eliminated the problem.
Means I cannot afford to install this program in lupu-114. Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 40 of 87 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, ..., 85, 86, 87 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1291s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0220s) ][ GZIP on ]