Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 11:15
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
EZpup-2.1.7 now available!
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2007, 17:25    Post subject:  

gdemonta wrote:
Another question: do you think by reducing the taskbar height of one pixel will solve the little irregularity we can see around the quicklaunch icons or is ot far more complicated to solve?

Not sure what you mean by "irregularity". Can you post a closeup image of the problem here so I can see what you mean by that? Thanks.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2007, 17:32    Post subject: Re: Puppy with ezPup vs Hacao
Subject description: how to get Hacao's features in English?
 

klu9 wrote:
does ezPup set up Wine/WineXS, CUPS, Skype, Yahoo! Messenger, Java installer and the other extras found in Hacao?

No. EZpup is about GUI modifications and usability features like PSI.

klu9 wrote:
if not, does anyone know if is there another "metapackage" or puplet to take care of all that? (I see one called 2.16 NOP, with IceWM, OOo, CUPS & XSane; but not the other features)

There is no such metapackage that I'm aware of BUT if NOP is closest to what you want, then my suggestion would be to install EZpup on that, or Puppy's Software Installer (PSI), and then all of the missing packages are only 2 clicks away. Check out the link to see how comprehensive it is.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2007, 20:47    Post subject:  

Happy belated birthday, Warren Very Happy
Didn't see this thread until it's too late to say so !

/james

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gdemonta


Joined: 19 Feb 2007
Posts: 190
Location: Paris, France

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2007, 05:21    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:
gdemonta wrote:
Another question: do you think by reducing the taskbar height of one pixel will solve the little irregularity we can see around the quicklaunch icons or is ot far more complicated to solve?

Not sure what you mean by "irregularity". Can you post a closeup image of the problem here so I can see what you mean by that? Thanks.


Whodo,
On this picture you can see that on each side of the quicklaunch icons, the taskbar isn't completely straight: the image under each icons is not entirely in line with the rest of the taskbar.
In order to solve it, I tried to increase the height of the taskbar, it kind of worked, but a white line appeared at the bottom of the taskbar, which wasn't very nice so I reverted back to the default.
There is also similar problems with some tray icons, except the CPU load.
Do you think it could be easily solved? is it possible to edit some xpm or png picture anywhere?

P.S. By the way, happy birthday!!
WMEShot057.gif
 Description   
 Filesize   3.22 KB
 Viewed   1070 Time(s)

WMEShot057.gif


_________________
Dumbledore: "The evidence of the Dark Lord's return is incontrovertible"
IBM X31 - Puppy 2.16 Hard disk install with EZpup
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2007, 06:25    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
Happy belated birthday, Warren Very Happy
Didn't see this thread until it's too late to say so !

Thanks, James. Much appreciated.

gdemonta wrote:
Do you think it could be easily solved? is it possible to edit some xpm or png picture anywhere?

P.S. By the way, happy birthday!!

It would probably be possible to fix by rejigging the taskbar background and button background files in /root/.icewm/themes/VistaBlack_IV/taskbar directory. Make a copy first if you are going to play around with it.

Thanks for the birthday wishes, too.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ohyes


Joined: 03 May 2007
Posts: 159
Location: Right Here

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2007, 06:26    Post subject:  

Happy belated Birthday as well Smile

Thx for all your great work .!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Thu 28 Jun 2007, 06:28    Post subject:  

ohyes wrote:
Happy belated Birthday as well Smile

Thx for all your great work .!

Thx, ohyes. Can't say getting older is a pleasure these days, but it's nice to still be around and able to indulge hobbies like Puppy and EZpup.

Cheers

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2007, 04:52    Post subject:  

Did a quick test of EZpup 2.1.7 to 2.17alpha.
Install went well, system rebooted with EZpup screen.
Notice one thing - the freememapplet is displayed on its own tiny window.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Tue 10 Jul 2007, 08:45    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
Notice one thing - the freememapplet is displayed on its own tiny window.

If icewmtray is active it should be absorbed into the Icewm taskbar. A few things might be worth checking:

1. The line in the IceWM startup file for icewmtray appears as follows:
Code:
icewmtray &


2. Try running icewmtray from the console to see if you get any errors. It should respond as follows:
Code:
icewmtray: using /root/.icewm for private configuration files
Ctrl+C will return the prompt.

3. Try putting the Freememapplet line right under the line for icewmtray as follows:
Code:
sleep 2 && iu_nice -n 19 /root/my-applications/freememapplet_tray_puppy215ce/freememapplet-tray &


Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 12 Jul 2007, 11:08    Post subject:  

WhoDo wrote:

3. Try putting the Freememapplet line right under the line for icewmtray as follows:
Code:
sleep 2 && iu_nice -n 19 /root/my-applications/freememapplet_tray_puppy215ce/freememapplet-tray &


That's the one that does the trick. There are a number of freememapplet programs floating around. Never thought that you put them under /root/my-applications Very Happy

Thanks !

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dasch

Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 09:59    Post subject:  

have problem installing this if i first download the package locally. downloaded twice from different mirrors witht the same error namely not enough free space (blocks).

details of setups tried ...
puppy 2.16 / puppy 2.6.1 / puppy 2.15
livecd / also boot from usb stick
ram 512mb
tried install both with and without a 256mb pupsave with same error

note this post with a similar error as well
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=19589

anyone got any clues on why this is happening? seems to be an error in calcn of free available space...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
WhoDo


Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 4441
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia

PostPosted: Fri 13 Jul 2007, 19:31    Post subject:  

dasch wrote:
anyone got any clues on why this is happening? seems to be an error in calcn of free available space...

Problem seems to be in PETget calculation of free space by applying a wrong block size for the partition. Issue is being discussed by developers in the Bugs forum, I think. Definitely shouldn't be happening in a standard 2.15CE or 2.16 though.

If you are able, try it on a clean install of either 2.15CE or 2.16 as I know it works fine on clean installs in both. I think the PETget problem may have surfaced in 2.16.1 or even 2.17a release. Either that or it comes with the recently modified probpart file supplied by Barry.

Hope that helps.

_________________
Actions speak louder than words ... and they usually work when words don't!
SIP:whodo@proxy01.sipphone.com; whodo@realsip.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dasch

Joined: 25 Mar 2006
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Sat 14 Jul 2007, 03:28    Post subject:  

hi whodo, happy very belated b'day !

hmmm all the setups so far has been clean installs in the case of running from a usb stick and same problem occurs even from livecd. Have tried 2.6 / 2.6.1 / 2.15 CE all from livecd first w/o pupsave and then with pupsave 256mb and "rinsed" and repeated with a usb stick install again with and without pupsave 256mb... All on a 512mb ram machine.

still puzzled as it seems that from the odd posts here and there that it's working for some of you and yet others like me have the same error on insufficient space.

anyway the screenshots were so tempting that i finally decided to try and managed to get it installed direct from seamonkey. Wink Looks great ! Thanks for your work and the present whodo !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0870s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0087s) ][ GZIP on ]