How to get hda-tools or hda-analyzer to work in Fatdog?

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Post Reply
Message
Author
PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

How to get hda-tools or hda-analyzer to work in Fatdog?

#1 Post by PappyPuppy »

When I execute the script python run.py (after downloading the .py's into the dev/shm directory which creates the hda-analyzer directory and populates it with the scripts: hda-analyzer, hda-graph, hda-codec, hda-proc, and a couple other .py scripts.

filename: /lib/modules/3.18.7/kernel/sound/core/snd-hwdep.ko

When it runs, I have to give it the path to snd-hwdep.ko or it won't even run.

The script only gives this output, and I suspect that since none of the environment variables are set - could that have something to do with it?

No HDA codecs were found or insufficient priviledges for
/dev/snd/controlC* and /dev/snd/hwdepC*D* device files.

You may also check, if you compiled HDA driver with HWDEP
interface as well or close all application using HWDEP.

Try run this program as root user.
Using temporary directory: /dev/shm/hda-analyzer
You may remove this directory when finished or if you like to
download the most recent copy of hda-analyzer tool.
File cached /dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_analyzer.py
File cached /dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_guilib.py
File cached /dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_codec.py
File cached /dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_proc.py
File cached /dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_graph.py
File cached /dev/shm/hda-analyzer/hda_mixer.py
Downloaded all files, executing hda_analyzer.py

None of the CONFIG_SND_xxx variables are set, including the ones below which I assume the tool hda-analyzer might want to use:

CONFIG_SND_HDA_INTEL=m
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_BEEP is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_INPUT_JACK is not set
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_PATCH_LOADER is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_REALTEK=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_ANALOG=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SIGMATEL=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_VIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_HDMI=y
# CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CIRRUS is not set
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CONEXANT=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CA0110=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_CMEDIA=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_CODEC_SI3054=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_GENERIC=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE=y
CONFIG_SND_HDA_POWER_SAVE_DEFAULT=20

Is there a way to install hda tools on Fatdog? Can I install either hda-tools or hda-analyzer somehow? The drivers seem to be there.

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

hda-analyzer has main(argv)

#2 Post by PappyPuppy »

But who or what is supposed to pass those.

I guess it liked the one file I passed it. Should I keep looking for other drivers and keep putting them on the line?


I need to debug the perl script because I don't want to set all those config environment variables until I know wha to tset thm eot.

My bad - it's the method read nodes that's failing - I need to see why.

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

This piece of code is just before the perl script peters out

#3 Post by PappyPuppy »

def HDA_card_list():
from dircache import listdir
result = []
for name in listdir('/dev/snd/'):
if name.startswith('controlC'):
try:
fd = os.open("/dev/snd/%s" % name, os.O_RDONLY)
except OSError, msg:
continue
info = struct.pack('ii16s16s32s80s16s80s128s', 0, 0, '', '', '', '', '', '', '')
res = ioctl(fd, CTL_IOCTL_CARD_INFO, info)
a = struct.unpack('ii16s16s32s80s16s80s128s', res)
card = a[0]
components = a[8].replace('\x00', '')
if components.find('HDA:') >= 0:
result.append(HDACard(card, ctl_fd=fd))
os.close(fd)
return result

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

Re: Trying to get hda-analyzer to work

#4 Post by jamesbond »

PappyPuppy wrote:Is there a way to install hda tools on Fatdog? Can I install either hda-tools or hda-analyzer somehow? The drivers seem to be there.
No, unless you want to build a custom kernel. hda-analyzer requires CONFIG_SND_HDA_HWDEP which is not enabled in Fatdog's kernel.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

Scripts and Codec information appear to be missing

#5 Post by PappyPuppy »

The hda-analyzer.py script has a section where it looks for information and does not find either of the below strings:

"ALSA Information Script"
"HDA-Intel Codec information"

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

I found a script called alsa-info-alsa-info.sh

#6 Post by PappyPuppy »

I ran it and it created a diagnostics file in /tmp

/tmp/alsa-info.txt.sAUcdijdAY

It asked if I wanted to share/upload or save locally. I saved it. So this is half of what hda-analyzer.py might want. So I'll just run it without the HDA stuff for now, then I'l ltry it WITH the hda script if I cdan find it on some website.

Here goes ...

PappyPuppy
Posts: 409
Joined: Sat 01 Oct 2016, 00:27

I tried a command today that works for hda-analyzer

#7 Post by PappyPuppy »

The below command populates the screen with information but I'm not sure that the driver is being found - perhaps I need to do more to get the driver displayed - this might be importan.
python run.py /proc/asound/card0/codec#0

It has Card1000, ProcID, ProcDriver, that kind of stuff - not exactly what it should have. But at least it has the info for each pin now.
Attachments
hda-analyzer.jpg
(67.84 KiB) Downloaded 263 times

Post Reply