Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Aug 2015, 15:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
How to Clone SD Card to CD/DVD and Vice Versa?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
rc2o2w

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 22:37    Post subject:  How to Clone SD Card to CD/DVD and Vice Versa?  

Guys/Gals,

I am currently running Slacko 5.7 off a Bootable 4Gig SD card. And I have
setup a number of applications, files, directories as well as general setup
information that I wish to preserve onto CD/DVD and then again onto another
bootable SD card, 32Gig.

How would I create the ISO file that preserves the setup that I am currently
running from SD including desktop (wallpapers and icons), applications, and a
number of files and directories that I have created/installed? Basically how to
clone the SD Setup to a Bootable CD/DVD??

What tools/procedures/methods would anyone recommend?

Setup -> Remaster Puppy Live CD??
Setup -> Woofy Remaster Tool??

Will either of these tools do exactly what I am looking for?? and how to do
it??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2015, 04:58    Post subject:  

remaster ...not woofy.
mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rc2o2w

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2015, 11:09    Post subject: Cloning/Imaging
Subject description: From SD Card to CD....
 

Re : Used "Puppy Remaster Live CD'

Thank you MikeB for the tip.....

I am responding you now from the newly burned CD which has my desktop
wallpaper, icons, and menu entries for programs that I installed on SD. The updated
Firefox 37 and shockwave 11.2.202.457 came over as well. But not all files, directories,
and settings came over...

For example, Puppy Package Manager, however, does not show the programs as
installed even though when I click the menu entries they are there (will
launch). The root directory does not include some folders/files that I had
created and appears to be reset to the default naming convention. But this is probably
because I took the express option on everything instead of opting to add/edit
anything of the following '/tmp/root' nor '/tmp/etc' nor did I do
anything with 'isolinux.cfg'. So I figure on messing up a few CDs to get this
right.

I will reattempt another CD that contains more of the files that I want to
transfer over......And also attempt loading another SD Card from the custom
CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2015, 11:14    Post subject:  

the remaster lets you fiddle with the contents of /root and /etc during the remaster...or at least it did...that lets you do what you require.

I tend to leave /etc as pristine as keeps it non hardware specific but copy over /root...

One to play with.... to avoid many coasters try out the resultant sfs or iso rather than burn a DVD ..could use a flash stick or substitute a frugal setup, or emulation for example.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mostly_lurking

Joined: 25 Jun 2014
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2015, 07:31    Post subject:  

The normal remaster does indeed not preserve everything - it keeps your program installations, but not all of your personal stuff. Basically a default setup waiting for a new user.

Your customized program settings and personal files are usually in /root. Copy them to /tmp/root during remaster to keep them. (Make sure that you also copy hidden files; click the "eye" icon in Rox Filer to show them.) If you also want to keep your system settings and hardware customizations, copy the contents of /etc into /tmp/etc.

If you have a hidden file called ".XLOADED" in either /tmp/root or /tmp/etc, delete it. If it goes into your remaster, your new Puppy will think that it shut down uncleanly and show an error message and/or run the Xorgwizard setup program on start-up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rc2o2w

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2015, 10:56    Post subject: Cloning/Imaging
Subject description: What to Preserve And What Not to??
 

Thanks for the Tips guys....

I am going to add/edit files and directories and attempt another one this
morning...

And MikeB you are nail on....I need to buy another stick...the two that I have
are load up with work/home stuff ... so not going to mess with those...

MostyL ... I willl look for .XLOADED today ... & make sure it is deleted while
remastering ... Thanks for that Tip...

Well I installed my edited version of Puppy over to SD card last night and it
imaged the CD fairly well. I configured settings to get on the net is all and all
seemed fine. Had trouble on boot-up this morning.....somewhere around loading
puppy files there was a huge dump of error log.

But I believe it is the chip "Ebay El-Cheapo S-Defecto"

Going to attempt another 32Gig today...(a true SanDisk)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rc2o2w

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sat 16 May 2015, 12:32    Post subject: Hanging and Shutdown Errors
Subject description: On 2nd Thought Maybe its not the Chip...
 

MostlyL....I wonder ... If my recent Woes (I mean this morning) are what you
are talking about here....

{{
If you have a hidden file called ".XLOADED" in either /tmp/root or /tmp/etc,
delete it. If it goes into your remaster, your new Puppy will think that it shut
down uncleanly and show an error message and/or run the Xorgwizard
setup program on start-up.
}}

On my last post Slacko locked up on me and I had to shut it down hard, that is,
hold in the Power 'on/off' button until off. It took me a couple of boots to
fire off the post.

This is at least my third attempt to fire off this post and I am using my trusty
4Gig chip that I have been working with (without hitch) for the last two to
three weeks. And now, just this morning, the Slacko is locking up ....

Also when I attempt a normal shutdown...I get lines of hexadecimal code
before it just hangs.

Could this be ".XLOADED" biting me in the "@%*&"???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rc2o2w

Joined: 06 Jul 2014
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2015, 13:53    Post subject: HangUp Problem
Subject description: HangUp Appears to Related to Firefox
 

Wow....Back on Track

It appears that the hangup problem is related to Firefox. After a number of lockups and reboots the Common Thread of it all turned out to be related to launching Firefox and again Firefox proceeding to update itself. That was new. I had not seen FireFox auto-update under Linux (only Windows) but I thought it nice that Firefox update itself automatically. But at first did not think that that had relation to the hangup problem.

But after a number of boot-ups and shutdowns....I found that shutdown was normal if I did not launch Firefox. Nor were there any LockUps....where I had mouse movement but no 'clickable response' to mouse nor any keyboard response.

Comparing the Firefox directory to that of the downloaded 'tar.gz' that somehow Firefox directory picked up some Update files. So I deleted the entire Firefox directory and unpacked the 'firefox-XXX.tar.gz' back into the same directory and Firefox works okay now and I can boot-up//Shutdown without problem. As well as write this post without the system locking up.

What suddenly caused this while I really want to remaster a puppy CD is not clear to me??

Although things now appear to be running OK .. but ... now I also wonder how to get my 'personal storage' back in the green? thinking that running in the Yellow may also have something to do with the Boot/Shutdown issue??

So now I am looking at Shinobar's:

Keep Your SaveFile Slim and Healthy :

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?search_id=858378450&t=62110

Can data in the '/mnt/home' directory be included in a Remaster??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11071

PostPosted: Sun 17 May 2015, 14:01    Post subject:  

Any browser update with bloat out your save file...either you live with that or disable auto updates in preferences.
You could remaster the update in but in a weeks time it will happen again.

Not like this junks small any more....

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0420s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]