Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 29 Aug 2015, 19:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Dillo 3.0.4 wary5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 00:30    Post subject:  Dillo 3.0.4 wary5
Subject description: Unable to conduct Google search.
 

OS: Quirky 1.1

I use Dillo for 95% of the web for about three years now and until yesterday had no problems. Then I noticed I couldn't conduct a web search with Dillo. Whether it's with Dillo's own Google search bar or Googles web page. The symptoms are a scrolling URL window and a flashing "back arrow" (top left) and "contacting host" (bottom left). For instance, if I search for "autos", the following scrolls in the URL window:

http://www.google.com/search?q=autos&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&gbv=1&sei=nedKVaL3GIGhNuGjgPgO

I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling Dillo 3.0.4. I've tried the same with Dillo 2.2. I changed the cookiesrc file from DEFAULT DENY to DEFAULT ACCEPT. Same problem remains. I can still use my bookmarks or go directly to any web site using their address but I just can't conduct a Google search! I have Opera and Sea Monkey and they work fine. I have to believe that Google has done something that's inhibited Dillo in this regard.

Would appreciate some feedback other Dillo users out there.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1105
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 07:28    Post subject:  

Posting this from Dillo 3.4.0.1 in Slacko 5.7 and I am getting the same result as you if I try a Google search. Looks like this must be something that Google have done (or are doing) so maybe they will sort it out or maybe the Dillo devs will need to make some changes. I normally use DuckDuckGo for searching in the first instance and that still works.
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 16:53    Post subject:  

"OscarTalks"
"I normally use DuckDuckGo for searching in the first instance and
that still works."

Very interesting. I tried DuckDuckGo and it doesn't work either. But
then I've never used it before so I don't know if it ever worked. I can tell you that I noticed several years ago I couldn't reach Yahoo.com anymore. Used to check my emails with it also. And then it stopped working with Dillo. I think I'll notify Google and the Dillo devs to make them aware of this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1105
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 21:18    Post subject:  

I recently compiled Dillo 3.0.4.1 for Wary5 which you can download from:-
http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks
The search engine window is set up with duckduckgo/lite as the default and that works, but I think you have to use that lite version in Dillo. You can enter this as a URL into the main browser window too and that also works.
Another option is to use startpage.com which grabs results from google via ixquick as a proxy.

You can change the search engines that show in the search engine window by editing the lines in dillorc

So for example, since the Google one has stopped working you can change that line to:-
Code:
search_url="Startpage http://www.startpage.com/do/search?q=%s"

and the Google option will have been replaced with an option to search via Startpage.

To add Yahoo Search you can try adding the line:-
Code:
search_url="Yahoo http://search.yahoo.com/search?&ei=UTF-8&nojs=1&p=%s"
dillo-startpage.jpg
 Description   Replace Google with Startpage or other search engine
 Filesize   60.51 KB
 Viewed   316 Time(s)

dillo-startpage.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 23:52    Post subject:  

Thank you OscarTalks for recompiling Dillo 3.0.4.1 for Wary5. However, I've not had any luck installing it. It downloaded as a .gz file and Xarchive didn't recognize it. Same when I changed the extension to .zip and .tgz. When I changed the extension to .pet it failed to install.
As far as editing dillorc, duckduckgo/lite was already there and still doesn't work. Neither does startpage.com. But Yahoo Search does. Go figure.
I tried Dillo 2.2 and everything works, including going directly to yahoo.com. But Google search still does not.

I've never had any problems installing most files, including the old .pup format in newer Puppy OS. Not sure what I'm doing wrong but perhaps you could compress it in .zip or .tgz format. Then see what happens. If it's no better then I'm almost tempted to go back to Dillo 2.2, but I really can't stand all those "remote certificates" popping up all the time. That was the main reason I upgraded Dillo in the firdt place.

Thanks Oscar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2015, 00:31    Post subject:  

Had some success when using Bing.com and Ask.com for a search engine. They work fine but I much prefer Google.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1105
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2015, 05:51    Post subject:  

Since Google is not working I have re-uploaded the Dillo 3.0.4.1 packages with Startpage and ixQuick and Yahoo in the dillorc template instead, although users are expected to edit this anyway to set preferences after installation.

The package is a .pet and should download as a .pet file so I suggest you try again. Not sure how you downloaded but sometimes you have to right-click and save to get it to work properly.

All those search engines are working for me here. I did test in a fresh boot of Wary 5.5 and it seemed fine. The only thing was that without ca-certificates installed you do have to click the "Continue" button when the certificate is not found.

What result do you actually get when you try DuckDuckGo or Startpage? Presumably different from what is happening with Google.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Fri 08 May 2015, 19:07    Post subject:  

Thank you for the extra effort. I'm currently out of town till Monday so will have to wait . You're right about duckduckgo and start page, they just sit there inactive. Google at least looks like it's trying. I notified both Google and Dillo about this problem. I will post any results here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Sun 10 May 2015, 17:49    Post subject:  

Oscar:

I figured out why I had trouble with the Dillo 3.0.4.1 file, Opera was recognizing it as a .gz file. Whereas Sea Monkey recognized it as a .pet file. Strange. After installing it, Google search still does not work, and duckduckgo, startpage and ixquick do not work. Selecting Yahoo takes you to:

http://search.yahoo.com/web?fr=

instead of:

http://search.yahoo.com/search?&ei=UTF-8&nojs=1&p=%s"
but this page at least allows you to search the web.

Wikipedia and Free Dictionary work fine. Response from Google Help forums so far are limited to:

"It might be best to stick to Sea Monkey, or Chromium. This is the first browser I have heard of."



[/img][/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1105
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Mon 11 May 2015, 00:45    Post subject:  

What happens when you try duckduckgo, startpage or ixquick?
Are you just getting the ssl warning window?
Have you installed ca-certificates?
I have uploaded a .pet of ca-certificates which is a repack of the slackware package with a pinstall script to run update-ca-certificates --fresh on installation.
Google is still not working for me either.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1105
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 19:50    Post subject:  

Google is working again in Dillo.
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 20:00    Post subject:  

Oscar,
You're not gonna believe this but Google search is working now. It works under Dillo 2.2 and 3.0.4.1. I went ahead and installed the ca-cetificates.pet anyway. BTW, just what does this .pet enable? I checked back with the Google Help Forum but there was nothing further. Haven't heard anything from Dillo either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1105
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 20:19    Post subject:  

The ca-certificates package installs a load of certificates into your system so lots of https pages can be viewed directly in Dillo. Without this you normally find that you get https warning windows popping up. You can click the continue button to ignore the warning when this happens but having the certificates on-board enables you to go straight to the page hopefully. Works for me anyway.
_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Yogi

Joined: 19 Aug 2005
Posts: 188

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 21:24    Post subject:  

Oscar,
I assume Google search is working for you also?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1105
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 05:30    Post subject:  

Yogi,
Yes, see above your post, I actually posted about it a few minutes before you.
Google must have changed something and sorted it out. We will probably never know if they became aware of a problem in Dillo or if it is just part of the routine development that they undertake all the time. I am still curious to know if you have been able to get duckduckgo and startpage to work, because they should do.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [24 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1038s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0105s) ][ GZIP on ]