Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Jul 2019, 20:33
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
BIT METER OS 0.7.6 (stable) & 0.8.0 (experimental)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 19:57    Post subject:
Subject description: bitmeteros-0.8.0-amd64 running in wary64-6.99
 

@gcmartin

I'm posting from wary64-6.99, bitmeteros-0.8.0-amd64.pet is working ok for me.

Quote:
Edit: Lighthouse and its derivatives (Chubby is one of them) will install a ".deb" file. The deb works where the pet did not launch.


Did not launch? from the menu or the pet didn't install? well if the deb works just use it or make a unedited pet from it.
capture3483.png
 Description   bitmeteros-0.8.0-amd64 running in wary64-6.99
 Filesize   50.68 KB
 Viewed   328 Time(s)

capture3483.png


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 21:21    Post subject:  

The PET installs with no message of any issues on both systems. And, Menu items are created in Network.
GCMartin wrote:
... The deb works where the pet did not launch.
I apologize as this can mislead. To rephrase: The deb allows the browser to spawn to port properly where the pet did not spawn a browser which connects to the port. The PET's browser tab shows page not found while the DEB's browser tab in Chubby launches the tab as expected when started.

Also, on Chubby (when the DEB is used), I can search and find BM while on LxPUP64 I cannot find the BM task
Code:
pidof bmcapture
after Menu launch, even though a tab (which doesnt connect ) spawns on the LxPUP64 browser. Thus, something is causing it to fail when the PET is used.

I will try another 64bit PUP; namely EmSee's Ultra.

Edit1:
I found my EmSee Sugar DVD and booted it. After FirstRUN, I insure WAN was active and installed the PET. Same as before on the 2 other 64bit PUPs.
P.S. No firewall active at any time during any of these tests on the PCs.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Wed 13 May 2015, 22:14; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Wed 13 May 2015, 21:50    Post subject:  

gcmartin, I'm downloading LxPup64-15.03.01-hybrid, hopefully it will work, if not I'll sort it out, it could be the ownership I changed Confused , I'm sure I can make it work, here's hoping Wink .
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 04:04    Post subject:  

Got it working in lxpup64, it was a path problem with /usr/lib64, in wary64 the /usr/lib is a symlink to /usr/lib64 that's why it worked.

Download it again and try bitmeteros-0.8.0-amd64.pet

The pinstall now looks like so
Code:
LIBPCAP=`find /usr -type f -name 'libpcap.so.*' | head -n 1`
LINK_PATH=${LIBPCAP%/*}
if [ ! -f "$LINK_PATH/libpcap.so.0.8" ]; then
ln -s "$LIBPCAP" "$LINK_PATH"/libpcap.so.0.8
fi
cp /var/lib/bitmeter/bitmeter.db.new /var/lib/bitmeter/bitmeter.db
/etc/init.d/bitmeterweb start
/etc/init.d/bitmeter start 


This script looks in /usr and get the first instance of the file which in the 64bit version will be in /usr/lib64

I updated the 32 bit version, the only difference is it checks if libpcap.so.0.8 is present, if not creates it.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions


Last edited by Geoffrey on Thu 14 May 2015, 15:40; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5157
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 08:12    Post subject:  

@Geoffrey:-

Morning, Geoff. I've just installed Slacko64 5.9.1. Christ, is it fast! Now; as regards the 64-bit BM-OS; d'ya reckon your 64-bit pet will work OK in this?


Mike. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5157
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 08:32    Post subject:  

No need to reply on this one, Geoffrey; I've just answered my own question.

Posting now from Slacko64 5.9.1, & bitmeteros-0.8.0-amd64.pet is working beautifully; no problems detected yet.

Thank you, Geoffrey. Much appreciated. Looks like I can add a few more to the 'working list'. I think I'd best list 32-bit & 64-bit separately, though; might get a bit confusing otherwise. Cheers!


Regards,

Mike. Very Happy
Screenshot.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Screenshot.png 
Filesize  60.31 KB 
Downloaded  269 Time(s) 

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11266

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 08:39    Post subject:  

I will most likely make and post working pet for 4.12, Lucid and other similar era pups on the 412 collection and add a link to it here.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5157
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 08:51    Post subject:  

Much appreciated, Michael. No rush, old son; as & when.

Remember...'slow & steady'. Laughing My life-long motto has always been; if something's worth doing, do it once, do it properly...and then you're finished with it. Nothing I hate more than having to go back and keep putting things right. Take as long as you need for testing.

Wish somebody had thought to remind my old man of that fact.....

Cheers.


Mike to Mike.

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11266

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 10:38    Post subject:  

Quote:
Remember...'slow & steady'. Laughing My life-long motto has always been; if something's worth doing, do it once, do it properly...and then you're finished with it. Nothing I hate more than having to go back and keep putting things right.

too true...quick fixes are not in the long run...playing boats reminds me of that one.
Sometimes I leave a problem for a week or three and surprising how much better the solution becomes.

Good thing you grabbed some seaside...today it was woolly hat and gloves time. You went to yarmouth or somewhere closer?

I threw a pile of leftover seeds on the garden yesterday...figured the rain would do the rest.... my attempts to get things to germinate is very hit and miss... might be the random cold nights.

There...I thought it was my turn to drift off...well actually take a right turn at Timbuktu
I also never noticed before how many nautical expressions there are in the English language... and it sneaks into plenty of songs too...

ok inflate thy chest and go forth

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5157
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 10:49    Post subject:  

No, we decided to go to Cromer for the afternoon; home of the famous 'Cromer crabs'...

Don't really know why we bothered. Nice enough in the sun, but there was a fresh nor'-easterly blowing on-shore yesterday. Out of the sun it was bloody freezing.

I remembered why I hadn't been to Cromer for years & years. 'Cos it's dead.....absolutely nothing to do there, and you haven't even got a proper beach....it's all shingle & pebbles.

And it's a neck-breaking trip from the top of the cliff to the seafront! Must be a 1 in 3 slope all the way down. Whoever said Norfolk was flat doesn't know what they're wittering on about...


Mike 2 Mike.

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11266

PostPosted: Thu 14 May 2015, 11:02    Post subject:  

Ah yes...did pop into Cromer...once Very Happy

hunstanton has nice beaches.... was closest to milton keynes too.
But after that as you say its stony and lots of men with wellies wanting to charge you to stop in a field for the priviledge

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3920
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2015, 06:52    Post subject:  

I downloaded the 0.8.0 version onto LxPupTahr-15.03

I had to edit:
/var/lib/bitmeter/runweb.sh
to get it to pickup defaultbrowser

I used sns to make a wifi connection.....bitmeteros didn't see the connection or any traffic - see screenie.

Check dependencies doesn't indicate any missing lib problems.

Wonder what I'm doing wrong??
bitmeteros.png
 Description   
 Filesize   96.3 KB
 Viewed   345 Time(s)

bitmeteros.png


_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2015, 07:54    Post subject:  

peebee, check the task manager to see if bmcapture running, if not run /etc/init.d/bitmeter start in the terminal.

I'm downloading LxPupTahr-15.03.1-pae.iso so I'll try it in that and see what the problem is.

Weird that it didn't start the default browser.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3920
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2015, 08:15    Post subject:  

Geoffrey wrote:
peebee, check the task manager to see if bmcapture running, if not run /etc/init.d/bitmeter start in the terminal.

I'm downloading LxPupTahr-15.03.1-pae.iso so I'll try it in that and see what the problem is.

Weird that it didn't start the default browser.

Hi Geoffrey

I should have made clear I was using the .deb from the developers webpage not your pet......I also hadn't realised how many posts there'd been on this thread since I first looked at it....

Thanks - yes I had checked the Task Manager and both the daemons seemed to be running....

"defaultbrowser" is not in the list that is looked for.....3 variations on www-browser and firefox

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Main version used daily: LxPupSc; Assembler of UPups, ScPup & ScPup64, LxPup, LxPupSc & LxPupSc64
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 2377
Location: Queensland

PostPosted: Fri 15 May 2015, 08:37    Post subject:  

peewee, well it works with the pet package in LxPupTahr-15.03.1-pae, did you create the /usr/lib/libpcap.so.0.8 symlink that's needed.

It don't show on the first run of palemoon if run from the menu, but after that it works ok.
bitmeter.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   107.59 KB
 Viewed   310 Time(s)

bitmeter.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, ..., 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0701s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0195s) ][ GZIP on ]