Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 21 Oct 2017, 21:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
BIT METER OS 0.7.6 (stable) & 0.8.0 (experimental)
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 14 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Author Message
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3043
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sat 23 Apr 2016, 19:00    Post subject:  

Hi, april.

april wrote:
Thanks for that - Semme sent me , blame him.


Hah! Ah, Semme's a good lad, really; his heart's in the right place. I'm not surprised he sent you here; there were only ever a handful of us at all closely involved in BitMeter's 'Puppification' process.....with some rather mixed results. To this day, I've no idea how many people have ever bothered to download it, and try it out... I'd used it in Ubuntu for about a year before I came over to Puppy full-time; it was stable, and was extremely useful. At the time, we had a monthly data 'cap' of just 10 GB, so I really needed to watch what I was doing. That subsequently increased to 20 GB / month, and we've since switched ISPs and have an unlimited plan. I don't really need to use it at all now, but I've reverted to the 'one Pup, one BM-OS' set-up I was using originally. The reasons I really started this thread were two-fold; I thought it was a very neat, small, self-contained app, that would be useful to a number of people, and was amenable to 'Puppification'; the other being that I badly wanted a way to have multiple Pups write to a single common database, so as to obtain a monthly running total across all Pups in the kennel.

We got that working, though I, personally, have never managed to keep 0.8.0 running for longer than a fortnight, tops. The sQLite database that Rob Dawson, its creator, used when he wrote it, seems ( in the 0.8.0 version) to very easily and spontaneously corrupt. Or it could be that it doesn't like being moved, and then sym-linked.....perhaps they really are that sensitive. The older 0.7.6, on the other hand, is absolutely rock-solid, and will just run indefinitely.

So; the famous 'NaN PB' problem has reared its ugly head again, has it? Hm. I never really got into the 'nuts'n'bolts' of what made it tick. Davids45, who's also in this thread, a few posts back, did. He really dug around in the thing's guts, 'cos he was at the time trying to get it working across a small home LAN of about 5 or 6 machines.....and he managed it, too! He also has rather more experience than me with regard to what the various errors are, and how to get it running again. I'm going to shoot him a line, and see if he can be persuaded to come in on this, and give you the benefit of his experience.

The only thing that I know for definite is that the 'NaN PB' error almost always indicates that data is not being written to the database. You can try this:-

In the terminal,

Code:
/etc/init.d/ bitmeter restart
/etc/init.d/bitmeterweb restart


If all goes well, you'll get a message something along these lines:-

Code:
# /etc/init.d/bitmeter restart
Stopping BitMeter Capture daemon: bmcapture.
Starting BitMeter Capture daemon: bmcapture.
# /etc/init.d/bitmeterweb restart
Stopping BitMeter Web Interface daemon.
Starting BitMeter Web Interface daemon: bmws.


Close your browser, re-open it, then open BitMeter's web interface again; touch wood, this time, it should be working. If not, come back to me with the results, and we'll get this to behave itself one way or another..! Laughing It's just a wee bit temperamental, although I cannot fault Rob Dawson's concept.....that of combining some of the existing Linux command-line tools with an extremely neat GUI, and some rather inspired lateral thinking.

To be fair, I doubt he ever envisaged it being 'hacked-about' in quite the way we did..! Laughing If you scan back through the thread, you'll find a few posts by Rob himself; I kept him informed as to what we were doing with BitMeterOS, through his own 'CodeBox' website, having originally sought his advice with one or two issues.

http://codebox.org.uk/pages


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 995
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Sat 23 Apr 2016, 23:14    Post subject:  

Did that twice but it gave the responses indicated but the pages remained the same.
I may not be here shortly so thanks for the help anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Location: Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 00:43    Post subject:  

April,
FWIW, the bitmetros_0.7.6-i386.deb that I downloaded from http://codebox.org.uk/downloads/bitmeteros/linux has worked fine in precise5.7.1, might be worth a shot.

The address for the bitmetros info page on my system is http://localhost:2605/index.html

.

_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 987
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 05:11    Post subject: Bitmeter NaN issue
Subject description: Renew the .db file in /var/lib/bitmeter?
 

G'day april,

The data base file storing the activity of the browsers is in /var/lib/bitmeter/
and is called bitmeter.db.

Do you see it?

If not, stop bitmeter (enter in a terminal "./bitmeter stop" whilst in /etc/init.d/), then make a copy of bitmeter.db.new (which should be there too) and call it bitmeter.db - so you have a new .db file.
Then restart bitmeter via the terminal 'restart' script, and see if it now logs browser transfers.

You could now watch the bitmeter.db file in a Rox window which should indicate regular 'Scanning' and, if you are browsing, the .db file should slowly grow in size.

Another option could be delete the original bitmeter.db file if it was there and try a new one via the copying step.

I've 0.76 and 0.8 running OK in different Pups and with different browsers (seamonkey & chromium).

But, like Mike, I now have a good ISP package so that bitmeter is not essential in avoiding any download excess (despite visits of device-laden children and grandchildren). I just keep Bitmeter there for occasional interest.

If you have only one Pup (Precise-5.7.1?), hovering your mouse over the globe/monitor icon on the Task bar may pop up a meaningful download report of monthly ups-n-downs.

David S.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 995
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 06:24    Post subject: Re: Bitmeter NaN issue
Subject description: Renew the .db file in /var/lib/bitmeter?
 

davids45 wrote:
G'day april,

The data base file storing the activity of the browsers is in /var/lib/bitmeter/
and is called bitmeter.db.

Do you see it?

If not, stop bitmeter (enter in a terminal "./bitmeter stop" whilst in /etc/init.d/), then make a copy of bitmeter.db.new (which should be there too) and call it bitmeter.db - so you have a new .db file.
Then restart bitmeter via the terminal 'restart' script, and see if it now logs browser transfers.

You could now watch the bitmeter.db file in a Rox window which should indicate regular 'Scanning' and, if you are browsing, the .db file should slowly grow in size.

Another option could be delete the original bitmeter.db file if it was there and try a new one via the copying step.
David S.


It was there but was not changing and was from yesterday when I installed it so I deleted it and went looking for
Code:
bitmeter.db.new (which should be there too) and call it bitmeter.db

I could not find that
Thanks . Going to try above link
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3043
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 06:34    Post subject:  

@davids45:-

Morning, David. Just FYI (though I think you know this anyway), don't forget that the 'bitmeter.db.new' file is only present in 0.8.0. If you're using 0.7.6, it's not present by default. Rob did explain to me the reason for that; mainly that it was simply a further development for the newer version, and since 0.7.6 was running so stable he was loath to mess about with it.

Also, of course (as you found out yourself!), the 0.7.6 & 0.8.0 databases are not interchangeable.

I still think that for single Pup usage 0.7.6 is probably the better option.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------


Last edited by Mike Walsh on Sun 24 Apr 2016, 06:37; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 995
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 06:35    Post subject:  

Perdido .
I got that one previously and it did not work . I got a menu item in network but nothing came upp when I clicked it and when I went to the given browser address I got an un-laid out page with no activity and big blanks .

I got that again with your deb package.

When I rebooted however up it came working and all and I can now experiment a bit with it if you will excuse the pun .

Thank you all for the help.

Last edited by april on Sun 24 Apr 2016, 07:10; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3043
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 06:45    Post subject:  

Morning, april.

Glad to hear you've got it operational for now! I did state, some time back in the thread, and, I believe, in the OP, that some people may well find that the .deb package will work for them, whereas the .pet package will not.

Certainly the .deb has always worked for me in the 'buntu-based Pups. Unsurprisingly. I always found, like I said, that 0.7.6 simply works.....and keeps on working. 0.8.0 was always a bit more finicky, for some reason; I seem to recall Rob told me he'd switched to a new type of sQLite database, and it hadn't proved as reliable as he'd hoped. But since we'd started experimenting with BitMeter some 4-5 years after he'd originally written it, he had no intentions of re-visiting, or re-writing, as he'd moved onto other projects.

But any further help required, just ask. There's a small number of us who still use it regularly, and we can probably sort most snags out!


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 995
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 07:11    Post subject:  

Cheers Mike
A very handy piece of software for me. Thanks Semme too
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3043
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 11:30    Post subject:  

perdido wrote:
April,
FWIW, the bitmetros_0.7.6-i386.deb that I downloaded from http://codebox.org.uk/downloads/bitmeteros/linux has worked fine in precise5.7.1, might be worth a shot.

The address for the bitmetros info page on my system is http://localhost:2605/index.html

.


Hi, perdido.

Funny you should mention that! That's the exact same one that I currently use across all my Pups; quite simply, it just works.

It's the one I started in Ubuntu with; and, despite all the experimenting with various other things throughout the course of this thread, it's the one I've returned to...

Strange how things often go full circle. Smile


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Location: Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 16:09    Post subject:  

Hello Mike,

I remember this thread from when it was a hot topic, I appreciate the testing you and others put into making this program usable.

I ended up just installing the deb because the pet wasn't available yet in the thread (if I remember correctly) and was happy with how it runs - never had a reason to try the modified pets. Its more of a toy for me that runs good and was small so it was a keeper.

.

_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 3043
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 18:12    Post subject:  

Hi again, perdido.

'...runs good and was small so it was a keeper...'

Good description. For years I used an even tinier bandwidth app in XP, called ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter. Teeny little thing; uses around 450k. I've found out that it will run under Puppy.....IF you install around 300 MB of WINE first!

I do have it running in a couple of my Pups, since I run WINE in all of them anyway; my hobby is graphic design, and I can't be a****d to keep firing up XP everytime just to use Photoshop.....so I got it running under WINE. PS is a large enough & complex enough program to justify running WINE; CS2 runs absolutely perfect, as it is. Since I had WINE running anyway, I experimented with ShaPlus, and found it just needs one thing installing to work (vbrun6); and it works just as well as it does in XP.

There's a link here, if you're interested in it; I'd recommend it to anybody who needs one for XP or whatever.

http://www.shaplus.com/bandwidth-meter/

If you'd care to try it, and happen to be using WINE for anything, you can d/l VBRun6 from my MediaFire account here.

There's also a link to a CNet review of it, showing what it looks like, and detailing how it works. I find it's best to run it in a Pup that's using anything other than the JWM window manager; It works fine in X-Slacko (which uses XFCE), and also ETP's 'Chromebook' Pup, which uses OpenBox. For whatever reason, it just won't show up in JWM's 'tray'.....and it runs entirely from the tray icon.


Mike. Wink

_________________
If I've helped you.....please say 'Thanks'!
MY PUPPY PACKAGES
--------------------------------------

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Location: Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 20:09    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh wrote:


For years I used an even tinier bandwidth app in XP, called ShaPlus Bandwidth Meter. Teeny little thing; uses around 450k. I've found out that it will run under Puppy.....IF you install around 300 MB of WINE first!


Wine is smaller than running the Oracle VM Virtualbox with XP, so you are money ahead there. I've installed a low-end XP under Oracle called Windows for Legacy PC's, use it for stubborn stuff that turns its nose up at wine. I also use wine for some programs as it loads much faster than Oracle/WinLeg

I used to use DUMeter to monitor network speed/usage with the dedicated Win2k/XP boxes, wish there was similar in Linux but oh well... cobbled up some of the PWidgets to show up/down speed in Puppy that does ok, also tried gkrellum but that was not as adjustable as PWidgets - this all due to flakey internet. Will take a pass on the shaplus for now but thanks.

.

_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
april


Joined: 14 Sep 2013
Posts: 995
Location: Off Lizard Island for a bit

PostPosted: Sun 24 Apr 2016, 23:01    Post subject:  

DU Meterhttp://www.hageltech.com/dumeter/download

Quote:
Create a linux version
· 11 votes · 1 comment · open in new window →
You have 7 votes left! (?)

Could be nice to have a linux version, you already made a Android app, shouldn't be hard to adapt for linux.
I would like combine data from my NAS and from my Laptop of the same network.
planned · Haim Gelfenbeyn avatarHaim Gelfenbeyn (Admin, Hagel Technologies Ltd.) responded

We've have dumeter.net reporter planned... It won't be a full-fledged DU Meter application, but it will report traffic statistics to dumeter.net.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
perdido


Joined: 09 Dec 2013
Posts: 639
Location: Altair IV , Just north of Eeyore Junction.

PostPosted: Mon 25 Apr 2016, 11:16    Post subject:  

april wrote:
DU Meterhttp://www.hageltech.com/dumeter/download

Quote:

planned · Haim Gelfenbeyn avatarHaim Gelfenbeyn (Admin, Hagel Technologies Ltd.) responded

We've have dumeter.net reporter planned... It won't be a full-fledged DU Meter application, but it will report traffic statistics to dumeter.net.


Thats interesting, dug a bit into it - seems you have to register an account with them and that gives you the opportunity to go to their website to check your net usage, etc. Its up and running according to this page http://www.hageltech.com/blog/2015/06/12/dumeter-net-supports-bandwidth-accounting-on-linux.html, I wonder what else they are mining besides net usage stats?

.

_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 14 of 15 [223 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 12, 13, 14, 15 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0789s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0136s) ][ GZIP on ]