Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 22 Jul 2019, 03:55
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to find the bandwidth my wifi is using?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12341
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 21:02    Post subject:  

Mike Walsh,
Thanks for this BitMeter OS program.

How about you posting a topic about it in the Additional Software section of the forum? Very Happy Idea

Network section, maybe Idea


It did make a menu entry in menu->Network, but as you state that is not the way to run it.
When clicked on, It did start the default browser , but just a blank page.
Wonder if there may be a way to make that work. Idea

I think I fixed the menu entry. Very Happy Idea

I opened the file /var/lib/bitmeter/runweb.sh in a text editor.
I changed the first line to this:
Code:
WEB_URL=localhost:2605/index.html


Now when you click on the menu entry for BitMeter OS it opens the default browser (Firefox) to the BitMeter OS screen.

Edit:
Not sure what would happen if Firefox was not on this computer.
This line in runweb.sh, not sure what it would do if I did not have Firefox.
Code:
BROWSER=$(which gnome-www-browser || which x-www-browser || which firefox || which www-browser)

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 965
Location: Mid-mitten

PostPosted: Tue 05 May 2015, 21:38    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
Mike Walsh,
Thanks for this BitMeter OS program.


+1

Appears to be working great with Firefox 37 on Precise 5.7.1. So simple. Neat! Cool

@ bigpup - Thanks, the menu entry fix works here as well!

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5158
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 04:40    Post subject:  

@bigpup, moat (and linuxwannabe):-

I'm glad other folks find it useful! Be nice if I could take the credit for this, but I am in no sense of the word a programmer. All I did was dig it up, out of a lengthy (and as I recall, quite involved) Google Search. Rob Dawson, the guy responsible for BitMeterOS, has a few other rather nifty utilities on his site; it's well worth a look.

bigpup, I've never bothered with trying to start it from the menu. The way I've always done it, it gets installed along with printer utilities and that kinda thing when I do a new install. I then get my browser up & running, and because of the way most of them work these days, it's there on the bookmarks bar straightaway. Soon as I fire the browser up (whichever one I'm using that day), it's the first thing I open after signing in.

That's it.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:
Mike Walsh,
Thanks for this BitMeter OS program.

How about you posting a topic about it in the Additional Software section of the forum? Very Happy Idea

Network section, maybe. Idea


Not a bad idea, actually. I don't know too many people who are lucky enough to have an unlimited data-plan; most of us tend to have a cap of some kind imposed on us by our ISPs. Yah; I'll have a re-organise of that post, and tidy it up a bit; my way of writing is NOT to everybody's taste, I know! Leave it with me.

Regards,

Mike. Smile

Last edited by Mike Walsh on Wed 06 May 2015, 05:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11266

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 05:00    Post subject:  

Ah ha... so an answer for the lazy Very Happy

Well had to make the folder /var/lib/bitmeter and rename /var/lib/bitmeter/bitmeter.db.new to bitmeter.db
Then ran bmcapture and bmws directly since i dont have the debian daemon crap ) a quick hack of the start scripts would fix that) and it works a treat... as you say its a tiny webserver taking very little..the browser interface does but you only need that when you want to check.

A quick test in something like lucid but i get the feeling it would work on older.

Also I guess the data is in bitmeter.db so if that was shared (a symlink for example) then logging would happen regardless of system.

Mike is impressed... Smile

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5158
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 05:20    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Ah ha... so an answer for the lazy Very Happy

Mike is impressed... Smile

Mike


Morning, Michael.

I was, too, when I first found Rob Dawson's CodeBox site; there's quite a few nifty utilities on there. Worth a look.

Takes a LOT to impress you, doesn't it? Laughing

I tend to take the path of least resistance; don't know the first thing about programmimg, If there's an easy way of doing something.....I'LL find it. Rolling Eyes

This one's more useful than most.


Mike to Mike.

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11266

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 05:27    Post subject:  

Code:
Takes a LOT to impress you, doesn't it? Laughing

not really...its just I don't hide it when I am not impressed Very Happy

Perhaps it's to do with where I hang out Wink

Well this bunny is a keeper.....

mike

ps unlimited bandwidth at the house but 3g on the boat....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5158
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 07:53    Post subject:  

Hey, Mike.

What d'you reckon to the idea of making a 'Network' section article about it? I reckon there'll be a few other people out there could be interested in this; and we ALL spend time in the browser, don't we?

I mean, that's where your bandwidth goes, after all...

(Need to get the "grand old man's seal of approval", don't I?) Laughing


Mike to Mike. Very Happy

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11266

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 08:02    Post subject:  

Hmm well a puppy friendly pet perhaps..ie menu link etc and then additional software

I had to fiddle a couple of things for lucid so perhaps make it more generic.

By the way was testing with seamonkey 2.9..1 and it rendered just fine....a very comprehensive output.... there is a tab related to cross system usage.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 5158
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 09:38    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
... there is a tab related to cross system usage...


Indeed there is. If you have a dig around on the site, you should find it; bmsync. However, I've never been able to get this to work. All the app does is to squirrel the data away into a database, which you can then access from your web-interface. Goes without saying that you need to have it installed on each OS that you wish to monitor.

Can't think of any reason why it shouldn't work in SeaMonkey. It's closely-related to FF, isn't it? Same as Pale Moon.....they all use modded versions of the Gecko 'engine', don't they?

Anyway, I'm working on a draft of the Network article at the moment...


Mike to Mike.

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11266

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 09:49    Post subject:  

I just mentioned the monkey as it does not seem to require this weeks software as some things do. Javascript doing something useful for a change Smile

As for sharing the config, seems like moving it to a drive and symlinking from all that want it...also good for anthing that does not preserve /var or booting without saves.


Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1100s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0236s) ][ GZIP on ]