Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 25 Aug 2019, 21:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to find the bandwidth my wifi is using?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sat 02 May 2015, 15:55    Post subject:  How to find the bandwidth my wifi is using?  

Hi,
I'm new here and new to linux. I'm running puppy wary 5.3 off a dvd, I don't understand much but I've managed to connect to the internet with a hauwei data stick. My question is, how do I see how much bandwidth I'm using? My provider is Wind Mobile if that makes a difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13285
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 May 2015, 16:10    Post subject:  

Do you mean bandwidth as in MB/sec, or do you mean the total data downloaded during this billing period, as in GB?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sat 02 May 2015, 16:23    Post subject:  

Yes I mean MB/sec so I can keep track on how much I'm using during a connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13285
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 02 May 2015, 23:08    Post subject:  

I don't know the answer to your question, but I don't think it matters. I don't think there's any need to monitor your bandwidth because the mother ship does that for you. You get what it will give you, and your transmitter sends at whatever speed the mother ship tells it to. I could be wrong.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 830

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 00:00    Post subject:  

Flash wrote:
I don't know the answer to your question, but I don't think it matters ...

You can use more than your contract allows within a specified period of time, and have to pay a penalty , e.g. £5 for each 5Gb, (or part thereof), over your agreed limit.

The magic phrase is "bandwidth monitoring tools for Linux" ...
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=490582#490582

Last edited by Barkin on Sun 03 May 2015, 00:03; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 00:03    Post subject:  

Yes, I know that but I need to monitor my usage so that I don't use it all up before my next billing cycle begins. You know what I mean?

Thanks for that link barkin, I'll check it out. Hope it's not over my head.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13285
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 14:34    Post subject:  

So you really wanted to determine the total data downloaded over a given period, not the instantaneous bandwidth usage.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 15:58    Post subject:  

I want to know how much bandwidth I'm using as I'm connected to the internet so I'll have enough to get me to the next billing cycle.

The data stick has a management utility for checking daily, monthly and yearly usage. Would there be away to get it installed on puppy? The stick only gives windows installation instructions so I'm assuming not, but I thought I'd ask anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 16:00    Post subject:  

WINE (the Windows Emulator) is available here --> http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88711

You probably want version 1.6.2...

I know a little of how you feel, though. Mom & I have Verizon. We're lucky to have an old, grandfathered unlimited plan...

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Barkin


Joined: 12 Aug 2011
Posts: 830

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 16:07    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
WINE (the Windows Emulator) is available here --> http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88711

I don't think a bandwidth-monitor will work properly on WINE.
You'd have to have WINE running all the time while using Linux, and I'm not sure the data would be survive a reboot, [ i.e. it would "forget" your previous usage and start counting from scratch again after a restart ].
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 12468
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 17:30    Post subject:  

What do you see if you hover the mouse pointer over the network icon in the taskbar?

Mine shows me this, but I am not too sure if you can trust what it says.
capture23233.png
 Description   
 Filesize   15.83 KB
 Viewed   221 Time(s)

capture23233.png


_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer) http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107601
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11268

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 17:47    Post subject:  

If memory serves that usage monitor stores the info in /var so if thats preserved then it is...depends on yer puppy setup....don't quote on that one i only looked briefly a while ago and i doubt wine would work for the windows monitor since its a hardware device function.

I have a network monitor in XFCE4 so not much use to you but if I log into my 3g account which I use for mobile broadband then they tell me how much data I have used...is that not available with your provider?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
linuxwannabe

Joined: 02 May 2015
Posts: 94

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 15:44    Post subject:  

Yes_I_can_log_in_to_my_provider_but_that's_too_cumbersome.
What_does_Rx_and_Tx_mean?_I_see_that_when_I_hover_over_the_network_icon.
How_do_I_do_a_printscreen?

Sorry,_I'm_on_a_laptop_with_busted_spacebar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12627
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 16:00    Post subject:  

If you are using Wary 5.3, those RX/TX numbers are not going to be reliable. There was a long-standing bug in the usage monitor once the values got large. It was only fixed in very recent Puppies.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 966
Location: Mid-mitten

PostPosted: Mon 04 May 2015, 18:11    Post subject:  

Conky, on it's own, can monitor network data totals transmitted/received per session - but the data gets tossed when rebooting.

For saving that data between sessions/reboots, apparently conky with vnstat can work.

Since Pwidgets config files are really conky configs, a bit of added code to an existing, working Pwidgets config should do the trick. Here's a couple of threads that might get you going...

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1682010

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1801366

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=52649

Hmm... this has me thinking - a conky w/vnstat and a simple little script to flush the totals at the end of the month (looks like vnstat --rebuildtotal - either via cron or triggered manually by an associated .desktop file, so available from the menu) - would be pretty slick...

I'm on Precise 5.7.1, and vnstat appears available in the repos (quite small with no dependencies).

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [33 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0653s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]