Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Aug 2015, 01:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
bmpanel2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 5766
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2015, 15:32    Post subject:  bmpanel2
Subject description: Little-known, but useful and beautiful tray/panel
 

Hello, all.

I thought I'd regroup here a few posts about the little known but useful
and beautiful bmpanel2 tray/panel, that are lying around here and there
in this forum.

You're of course welcome to join in and add your own inputs! Smile

First a snapshot of bmpanel2 (top) running with jwm (bottom).



BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 5766
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2015, 15:34    Post subject:  

From http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=840973&sort=lastpost&sid=63c9321cefe72348cbe0a7fb8c6cb7be#840973
torm wrote:
Hello!

A question: can JWM [be] used with bmpanel?
(as if keeping all else the same and just add bmpanel?)

Or it will mess up something?


Hello, torm.

I don't know about the old bmpanel, but bmpanel2 won't mess up
anything in jwm. I've tried it.

However, make sure to place bmpanel2 on the opposite side of the jwm
panel: somehow bmpanel2 has "screen precedence" over the jwm panel,
and if bmpanel2 loads on the same side of the screen as the jwm panel,
the bmpanel2 will hide the jwm panel.

Another thing: you can have only one icon tray at a time on your system.
The icon tray will only show on the panel that loads first, i.e. jwm panel.
Comment it out in .jwmrc-tray if you want your icon tray to appear in
bmpanel2. Conversely, comment out the "systray" part in your bmpanel2
theme at /usr/share/bmpanel2/themes/<some-theme> if you want the
icon tray to be in the jwm panel. Otherwise, you'll get an error message
when the second panel wants to load its tray icon.

For the windows pager and the clock, it doesn't matter, you can have two,
one in each panel.

Anyway, if you're asking the question, you probably know how to
customize those panels, so I'll stop here.

bmpanel2 and jwm panel can be a nice combination. bmpanel2 has a
couple of fabulous themes that blend in so well with the background.
E.g. : http://box-look.org/content/show.php/T-bmpanel2-themes?content=139354

I hope this helps. BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 5766
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 18 Apr 2015, 15:51    Post subject:  

Hello, all.

From 666philb, some bmpanel2 files for tahpup:
http://notesalexp.org/trusty/main/b/bmpanel2

Sources are now at https://github.com/nsf/bmpanel2
There is also a vertical mode at: https://github.com/nsf/bmpanel2/tree/vertical_mode (source only)

You can download my pet for slacko-6b and PuppyPrecise 5.4.3 from:
http://eu.storagemadeeasy.com/files/f6e7301c97b0682e89fa18611c72e1c8.pet

Enjoy! Smile BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
torm


Joined: 07 Mar 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed 26 Aug 2015, 09:17    Post subject:  

Looks great with IceWM and MyGtkMenu (IceWM original desktop-menu can be modified for desktop related stuff-only, like change background, etc.). Retrovol tray icon may need a simple script placed in Startup, to appear.
Easy to configure, works as expected
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1119s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0129s) ][ GZIP on ]