Calibre - check for missing libraries? (Solved)

Booting, installing, newbie
Message
Author
User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

Calibre - check for missing libraries? (Solved)

#1 Post by bambuko »

Probably one of my more stupid questions, but I hope you will be gentle with me in the beginner's section :)

I have self contained application that starts fine, but keeps crashing.
I suspect it is because something is missing in my Puppy (Tahrpup 6.0.2), because it runs perfectly fine in other, more bloated distros.

How can I check what is missing?
Last edited by bambuko on Tue 07 Apr 2015, 18:56, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#2 Post by Semme »

:D The suspense is killing me!

/var/log should have a few goodies too.

http://dedoimedo.com/computers/strace.html

http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2011/11/strace-examples/

This a binary you picked up or something <dare I ask> you've compiled?

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#3 Post by bambuko »

Semme wrote::D The suspense is killing me!
/var/log should have a few goodies too.
http://dedoimedo.com/computers/strace.html
http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2011/11/strace-examples/
This a binary you picked up or something <dare I ask> you've compiled?
Do I detect some piss taking :lol:
You may ask - but the answer would dissapoint you.

Thank you for the pointer for trace - I will try it and report later on today!

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#4 Post by Semme »

So what is this secret, self-contained binary?
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#5 Post by bambuko »

:lol: ...
I am not doing well, even on most basic level :cry:

Code: Select all

bash: strace: command not found
Not another senior moment? :oops:
do I have to install the tool first?

Yes, I was being thick - found it :P

and the big unveil :lol:

first result of tailing the application that causes me problems:

Code: Select all

root# tail -f calibre_trace.txt
open("/usr/share/pixmaps/default/cursors/forbidden", O_RDONLY) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
open("/usr/share/pixmaps/default/index.theme", O_RDONLY) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
poll([{fd=3, events=POLLIN|POLLOUT}], 1, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLOUT}])
writev(3, [{"5\1\4\0\31\0\340\1}\0\0\0\24\0\24\0007\0\6\0\32\0\340\1\31\0\340\1\f\0\0\0"..., 376}], 1) = 376
poll([{fd=3, events=POLLIN|POLLOUT}], 1, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLOUT}])
writev(3, [{"\26\0\4\0\4\0\340\1\177\1\0\0KQ\22\0\20\0\v\0$\0\0\0applicat"..., 60}], 1) = 60
futex(0xbff9e7d0, FUTEX_WAIT_PRIVATE, 1, NULL) = -1 EAGAIN (Resource temporarily unavailable)
futex(0x9204e9c, FUTEX_WAKE_PRIVATE, 1) = 0
--- SIGSEGV {si_signo=SIGSEGV, si_code=SEGV_MAPERR, si_addr=0} ---
+++ killed by SIGSEGV +++

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#6 Post by bambuko »

So, it is segmentation fault that is killing the application (which I knew already anyway) but is this helping me to find the cause? Don't know - need to do bit more reading or hope that someone more knowledgeable can make sense of it? :)

It has been suggested that Qt crashing is the cause of my problems...
Is Qt included in the standard Tahrpup 6.0.2 or is this something I need to install?

Run it again to make sure the problem is repeatable (although I am pretty sure of it - same behaviour on three different machines with different versions of Tahrpup), and here the result:

Code: Select all

root# ps -C calibre
  PID TTY          TIME CMD
 2824 tty1     00:00:05 calibre
root# strace -p 2824 -o calibre_trace.txt
Process 2824 attached
root# tail -f calibre_trace.txt
open("/usr/share/pixmaps/default/index.theme", O_RDONLY) = -1 ENOENT (No such file or directory)
poll([{fd=3, events=POLLIN|POLLOUT}], 1, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLOUT}])
writev(3, [{"5\1\4\0\24\0\340\1}\0\0\0\24\0\24\0007\0\6\0\25\0\340\1\24\0\340\1\f\0\0\0"..., 376}], 1) = 376
poll([{fd=3, events=POLLIN|POLLOUT}], 1, -1) = 1 ([{fd=3, revents=POLLOUT}])
writev(3, [{"\26\0\4\0\4\0\340\1\177\1\0\0\33\325*\0\20\0\v\0$\0\0\0applicat"..., 60}], 1) = 60
futex(0x910febc, FUTEX_WAKE_PRIVATE, 1) = 1
futex(0xbfe9ec90, FUTEX_WAIT_PRIVATE, 1, NULL) = 0
futex(0x910febc, FUTEX_WAKE_PRIVATE, 1) = 0
--- SIGSEGV {si_signo=SIGSEGV, si_code=SEGV_MAPERR, si_addr=0} ---
+++ killed by SIGSEGV +++
and the summary of error calls (only, I edited out all good stuff):

Code: Select all

root# strace -c /mnt/sdb1/calibre/calibre
% time     seconds  usecs/call     calls    errors syscall
------ ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ----------------
 37.35    0.000031           0      2158      1763 open
 21.69    0.000018           0       737       599 stat64
 10.84    0.000009           0       297        46 futex
  0.00    0.000000           0        14         9 access
  0.00    0.000000           0         2         1 mkdir
  0.00    0.000000           0         4         1 ioctl
  0.00    0.000000           0         6         1 statfs
  0.00    0.000000           0        27         2 _llseek
  0.00    0.000000           0       193         2 lstat64
  0.00    0.000000           0         2         2 bind
  0.00    0.000000           0         3         1 recv
  0.00    0.000000           0        12         6 recvmsg
------ ----------- ----------- --------- --------- ----------------
100.00    0.000083                  6389      2435 total

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#7 Post by Semme »

Despite what Calibre's site says, have you considered running the dated version in Tahr's repo?

In ~/.packages you'll see "layers-installed," "woof-installed."

Here's the current Calibre deps list:

Code: Select all

python	2.7.1 not 3.x
Python Imaging Library	1.1.6
Qt	5.3.2
PyQt	5.3.1
python-mechanize	0.1.11
ImageMagick	6.5.9
xdg-utils	1.0.2
lxml	3.2.1
python-dateutil	1.4.1
cssutils	0.9.9
BeautifulSoup	3.0.5
dnspython	1.6.0
poppler	0.20.2
podofo	0.8.2
A quick observation suggests Tahr's only good for Qt 4.8.5.

I recall PhilB mentioning BeautifulSoup's in the devx.

ImageMagick's a pkg you'd have to add.

For anything else I'm unsure.

Lib versioning help.
Last edited by Semme on Sun 05 Apr 2015, 19:41, edited 1 time in total.
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#8 Post by bambuko »

Thanks Semme,
That's rather more than I expected...
and adding all this just to run Calibre would probably change Puppy into Lardy Puppy :D and I have no intention of inflicting cruelty on the poor animal.
I think I'll accept limitations of Puppy and love if for what it is.
I am also running PCLInuxOS and Calibre is perfectly happy there.

It was good lesson and thank you for your help.

User avatar
Semme
Posts: 8399
Joined: Sun 07 Aug 2011, 20:07
Location: World_Hub

#9 Post by Semme »

Like a significant other, not all the bases need to be covered, just the ones that matter most. :wink:

This page for future reference >> http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-sha ... ement.html

One mo` >> http://www.yolinux.com/TUTORIALS/Librar ... namic.html
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#10 Post by bambuko »

Another great couple of links - thank you!
Yeah, I know my significant other for many years and I am still not sure which ones "matter most" :D , so no chance with Linux - new and exciting but totally mysterious :wink:

tlchost
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 23:26
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Contact:

#11 Post by tlchost »

Download the linux calibre from

extract calibre to /mnt/home.
cd /mnt/home/calibre
click on calibre icon

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#12 Post by bambuko »

tlchost wrote:Download the linux calibre from
extract calibre to /mnt/home.
cd /mnt/home/calibre
click on calibre icon
:?: :?: :roll:

tlchost
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 23:26
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Contact:

#13 Post by tlchost »

bambuko wrote:
:?: :?: :roll:
Sorry about the missing lienk...but you can find it the way I did .... search for calibre and go to their home page

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#14 Post by bambuko »

I wasn't the missing link I was questionning.... :lol:

Anyway... if you were trying to help, it would be useful to know what particular version of Puppy you are using, and how did you test it for "success"?
It would also be useful to know which version (2.23.0?) of Calibre did you install?

Did you also install all the dependencies Calibre needs for sucessful running (or only some of them? and if so, which ones?), or are you saying:
install Calibre, press calibre and Bob's your uncle foreverafter?

I have 2.22 installed on 6.0.2 and it repeatedly, reliably crashes after running for a bit (which can vary from few seconds, to few minutes, although usually few seconds is more likely).

It's always segmentation fault, broken pipe or something similar.
According to Kovid:
...underlying problem is that Qt is crashing on your system
The fault repeats itself across three different machines and both Tahrpup 6.0 and 6.0.2

tlchost
Posts: 2057
Joined: Sun 05 Aug 2007, 23:26
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA
Contact:

#15 Post by tlchost »

bambuko wrote: Anyway... if you were trying to help, it would be useful to know what particular version of Puppy you are using, and how did you test it for "success"?
It would also be useful to know which version (2.23.0?) of Calibre did you install?
I have used the method of extracting calibre to /mnt/home in Precise, Tahr and man other puppies. Since Calibre from the Calibre site is free standing, it simply works.
Did you also install all the dependencies Calibre needs for sucessful running (or only some of them? and if so, which ones?),
If you do what I suggested, you are not installing calibre, simply using it as a stand alone application...so no need to install what Calibre needs, since it's already in the application.
or are you saying: install Calibre, press calibre and Bob's your uncle foreverafter?
I have NEVER said install Calibre, I have NEVER said use any Calibre .pet or .sfs file. What I did say was extract the Calinre Archive to /mnt/home and run it
I have 2.22 installed on 6.0.2 and it repeatedly, reliably crashes after running for a bit (which can vary from few seconds, to few minutes, although usually few seconds is more likely).
Don't install Calibre....do what I suggested....trust me, it works, it's a non-geeky solution.

The downside is the method eliminates all the joys of messing with dependencies, versions, secret handshakes, white socks and pocket protectors....it's almost as easy as WIndows.

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#16 Post by bambuko »

Yes, I was a bit sloppy when using word "install" - sorry for the confusion.
All my Calibres are self-contained applications extracted to their own directory (like you are doing).

Working very sucesfully with other distros, but not in Tahrpup.
...I have used the method of extracting calibre to /mnt/home in Precise, Tahr and man other puppies. Since Calibre from the Calibre site is free standing, it simply works....
I am very happy that it works for you :)

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#17 Post by 666philb »

various versions of calibre have been working fine for me on tahrpup.

calibre's qt libs are self contained as are all of its dependencies (unless from the PPM)

are you getting these crashes if you boot live?
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#18 Post by bambuko »

...You can also do an "isolated" install that only touches files inside the installation directory...
That's what my Calibre (2.22.0) is - self contained, isolated Calibre in it's own directory (on usb stick) from http://calibre-ebook.com/download_linux.
It runs pefectly happy in another distro.
It starts fine on Tahrpup (full install), will run fine for a while, but always eventually ends up with broken pipe/segmentation fault
See: Calibre forum
When you ask "..are you getting these crashes if you boot live?.." do you mean Puppy running from live CD?
(sorry for being slow :) )
No, I haven't tried this, but will try it and report back.

ps I also had Calibre in it's own directory on hdd - problems were the same...

User avatar
bambuko
Posts: 578
Joined: Wed 14 Nov 2007, 14:03
Location: North Devon

#19 Post by bambuko »

666philb wrote:...are you getting these crashes if you boot live?
Yes, tried it today with Tahrpup 6.0.2 PAE live CD, with exactly the same error :cry:

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#20 Post by 666philb »

is this the standard calibre from quickpet? or your custom one?
if it's your own custom one (as from an older post by you) it would be worth trying the one from quickpet to see if that exhibits the same problems
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

Post Reply