Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Jun 2018, 05:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
having some YASSM Samba issues
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
hurricane567

Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2015, 12:16    Post subject:  having some YASSM Samba issues  

So i have TOWER, a Win7 PC and i had TVPC1, a Puppy Linux machine. TOWER was already rigged to share some files over the network and, utilizing YASSM Samba, i could access those files on TVPC1. TVPC1 got upgraded to a new computer, TVPC2, which i put Puppy on again, and used YASSM Samba to access files on TOWER, worked like a champ for ONE DAY. Today, nothing. I made no changes TOWER. I reset both computers and the router, and tried booting TVPC2 off the Puppy Linux CD to no avail. The only thing i can figure is that Microsoft pushed some sort of win 7 update that broke the sharing. aNY ideas?
Screenshot_2015-04-04_095212.png
 Description   
 Filesize   13.6 KB
 Viewed   408 Time(s)

Screenshot_2015-04-04_095212.png

Screenshot_2015-04-04_095318.png
 Description   
 Filesize   14 KB
 Viewed   386 Time(s)

Screenshot_2015-04-04_095318.png

Screenshot_2015-04-04_095447.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   16.21 KB
 Viewed   389 Time(s)

Screenshot_2015-04-04_095447.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2015, 14:58    Post subject:  

Hello @Hurricane567

On the TVPC2, type this in a terminal window
Code:
smbclient -U% -L TOWER
Better, if you know the IP address of TOWER, type this in the terminal window
Code:
smbclient -U% -L TOWER'sIPaddress
This will ask for the valid password that is recognized on TOWER.

Does TVPC2 show you TOWER's resources being shared? Post results.

You may have a username+password issue coming from TVPC to TOWER. The -U% parm from above, can also be coded
Code:
smbclient -U AusernameONtower -L TOWER
Which PUP distro is used on TVPC2?
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hurricane567

Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2015, 20:45    Post subject:  

Quote:
Does TVPC2 show you TOWER's resources being shared? Post results.


"connection to TOWER failed (Error NT_STATUS_BAD_NETWORK_NAME)"

can't see why TVPC2 detected the correct network name initially then forgot it. I am attached to the internet, i made this thread from TVPC2


Quote:
Which PUP distro is used on TVPC2?


Slacko 5.7 non-pae
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12094
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 05 Apr 2015, 07:29    Post subject:  

@hurricane: Try YASSMv2.7.

Have you turned on the firewall on the Puppy machine?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12094
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2015, 19:54    Post subject:  

No reply?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hurricane567

Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 14 Apr 2015, 12:08    Post subject:  

Quote:
No reply?

Free time is hard to come by Very Happy thanks for the help, the fire wall on TVPC2 is off, same result. I'll see what yassmv2.7 does and post results
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hurricane567

Joined: 26 Dec 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue 14 Apr 2015, 12:22    Post subject:  

YASSM 2.7 fixed it, ty for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12094
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 14 Apr 2015, 12:49    Post subject:  

hurricane567 wrote:
YASSM 2.7 fixed it

Excellent. But are you absolutely certain that the firewall is turned off? Run the command
Code:
lsmod | grep iptable

If anything is reported, the firewall is still running, and it would cause your problem with the previous version of YASSM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0998s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0127s) ][ GZIP on ]