Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 19 Nov 2017, 06:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
vividpup beta
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 7 of 10 [146 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 00:57    Post subject:  

Just a quick live run/hardware check. All basics working on initial boot.

Code:
root# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: vividpup, version beta2

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 4000] (rev a4)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
root# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh.  The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
373 frames in 5.0 seconds = 74.440 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.025 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.024 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.008 FPS
371 frames in 5.0 seconds = 74.044 FPS
376 frames in 5.0 seconds = 75.025 FPS


Code:
-Computer-
Processor      : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3800+
Memory      : 2064MB (330MB used)
Machine Type      : Physical machine
Operating System      : vividpup - beta2
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Sat 13 Jun 2015 11:58:00 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution      : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Mesa DRI nv18 x86/MMX+/3DNow!+/SSE2
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter      : VIA8237 - VIA 8251



Code:
root# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       2064736      1187564       877172       475992       137244
-/+ buffers:            1050320      1014416
Swap:            0            0            0
root#
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 692
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2015, 20:09    Post subject:  

Oops, I spoke a little too soon about everything working right. Last time I tried to open Pale Moon, my computer froze up and I had to shut down improperly. I restarted, waited several minutes for two filesystem checks, and now everything is back to normal. When I tried Tahrpup, I got repeated freezes from browser-opening, but this is the first time it's happened with vividpup. Anyone have any idea what the problem might be and how it might get fixed?
_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
irishrm


Joined: 14 Mar 2009
Posts: 237

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2015, 15:06    Post subject:  

Haven't been posting for quite a while. Just done a USB install of vividpup. The b43 driver recognized my wl driver first go. First time that has happened with any distro. Everything working very well. 666philb congratulations, great work. irishrm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2015, 15:25    Post subject:  

Hello @Pa_McClamrock

I would like to ask:
Do you have a SWAP partition on your system's HDD?
(Menu>Filesystem>Pmount or Menu>System>Gparted
Look for "SWAP" partition in either screen.)

Was it being used by your system during its boot and running?
(enter the following command in a terminal)
Code:
# free
Typically, although not true for every case, the presence of a SWAP partition eliminates one reason a system will lock/stop.

But, you are probably way beyond that, with Vivid, by now.

Hope this is helpful

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 692
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2015, 16:48    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Hello @Pa_McClamrock

I would like to ask:
Do you have a SWAP partition on your system's HDD? [ . . . ]
Was it being used by your system during its boot and running?


I do have a swap partition, and I also now have 4 GB RAM, not just 2. Apparently the swap partition isn't being used because the RAM is enough:

Code:
root# free
               total            used           free              shared       buffers
Mem:       4069520      2226444      1843076       501280       169220
-/+ buffers:            2057224      2012296
Swap:      2353484            0      2353484


The freeze-up has only happened once since I got the additional RAM, but still it's dismaying; I'd like to know what caused it and what might cure it.

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 358
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2015, 18:14    Post subject:  

Hi @Pa_McClamrock Very Happy

What is the output if you run this in a terminal :

cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness
My guess is that your swap is being used when it really doesn't need to be Shocked
See here ! And follow answer Wink
Hope it helps ! I think this is where gcmartin was going with !


http://askubuntu.com/questions/103915/how-do-i-configure-swappiness

_________________
Anyone can build a fast processor. The trick is to build a fast system. (Seymour Cray) Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2015, 18:16    Post subject:  

I see. Your Vivid detects and incorporates SWAP at boot. So the problem resided elsewhere. (BTW: there is very good chance your swap may never get used, but, the benefit of its presence is there, nonetheless.)

Hard to say on that problem. Further, again too, it may never resurface as your RAM footprint has increased.

And, yes, as @Partsman points, this can/could have an impact and is worth noting.

Thanks for posting your findings.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pa_mcclamrock


Joined: 03 Jun 2005
Posts: 692
Location: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jul 2015, 21:07    Post subject:  

partsman wrote:
Hi @Pa_McClamrock Very Happy

What is the output if you run this in a terminal :

cat /proc/sys/vm/swappiness


The output is 60. I'll read about how to decrease it in the article you referenced, but not tonight before I go to bed. Rolling Eyes Thanks!

_________________
It's stupid to use inferior software for ideological reasons.
--Linus Torvalds
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rek769


Joined: 15 Jul 2010
Posts: 63

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jul 2015, 22:35    Post subject: Frugal on Toshiba Sattellite
Subject description: Working well for 12 hours
 

Intel Duo Core with 8Gb RAM
Fluxbox w Tint2 panel in lieu of JWM
Seamonkey suite in lieu of Palemoon / Thunderbird
3.19.5 Kernel
Created and loaded Gnucash SFS
WPS office via SFS
No Swap

No issues to report...
capture9742.jpg
 Description   Screeny
 Filesize   79.94 KB
 Viewed   850 Time(s)

capture9742.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oui

Joined: 20 May 2005
Posts: 3040
Location: near Woof (Germany) :-) Acer Laptop emachines 2 GB RAM AMD64. franco-/germanophone, +/- anglophone

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jul 2015, 19:20    Post subject:  

this Puppy is enormous. the add's from RSH are very good (but probably on German: remasterize, convert *.deb's in LazY-format.sfs, etc.) but the obligatory add's in the original ISO, that is to much! And with over 400 Mb, it is not a Puppy any more. Why all this matter in the standard ISO, why an obligatory browser (I use Seamonkey because I did become Puppyist more than 10 years ago as Mozilla was a living suite under this name! I did never abandon longer time Seamonkey (as Xombrero does not work correctly in Puppy because avoid of some icons... I did reinstall it completely fresh from Lubuntu/Ubuntu vers. Unicorn, it works pretty, but the icons are not to find for me and I have not time more to spend to such an action; see added picture giving the list of the needing *.deb's),

my full install from Debian Jessie made by me as a Puppy is only a bit bigger as it is not squashed: if it is our future, we will not need some Puppy any more! Why? I refuse Debian LXDE because it is to big for me and build my Puppy like Debian installation myself, and Puppy's become as fat as a Debian full Idea ...

... and are only in ONE unique language Rolling Eyes , often without manpages etc. in the right language for me! it's become more or less nonsens Confused

alsamixer did change and requires now options. it is NOT a progress...

I did have to reinstall mTpaint to avoid to be disturbed by the usual job to shrink the size of my printscreen (i know, they are perfectly describded in http://www.gimp.org/tutorials/GIMP_Quickies/ ! but I must loose my time to learn somewhat i really not need. ballast is that. about 220 Mb ballast compared with an usual Puppy mixture, which I know perfectly...)

hm, also that is NOT a progress...
xombrero.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   88.6 KB
 Viewed   787 Time(s)

xombrero.jpg

vivid.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   49.32 KB
 Viewed   798 Time(s)

vivid.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moat


Joined: 16 Jul 2013
Posts: 766
Location: Mid-mitten, USA

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jul 2015, 20:54    Post subject:  

oui wrote:
this Puppy is enormous... but the obligatory add's in the original ISO, that is to much!


"as for this version, i wanted it to be an everything and the kitchen sink type of puppy"

Here -

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=849855#849855

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=849836#849836

Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jul 2015, 21:29    Post subject:  

@Oui is consistent with the theme of a decade ago, but, and I mean this with NO disrespect, the landscape has changed as did my community from my childhood.

When PUPPY started, we were many 486s/PentiumPros/P1/P2/P3 with some P4. RAM sizes were meager or sparce (and expensive) depending on which of us you were back then.

We were faced with
  • most/many on dialup
  • slow downloads
  • CDRs were the norm
  • no to low RAM for loading
  • CPU, though functional, but ...
  • slow peripherals
PUPPY distros were developed for those machines and that neighborhood of user environments. Those distro still exists for those PC users. Question in their operations are still answered here in the forum

Today, most every user have moved on: WHY? I dont think I need to answer that, its obvious.

This distro runs very very comfortable on every PC that was sold from manufacturers shipping Windows since 2004....without fail.

Yes, it may have some things some may not like, but, it is also missing some things some would like.

If anyone's PC is sparce, this is NOT the distro for you. There are a plethora of other PUPs in the forum which will run. They may be older for the PCs gone by, but the distros still operate on those PCs.

The author is providing a contribution for the community and it seemingly intends to move the timeline forward to match where we are today with the kinds of things people are doing today.

No offense to anyone who feels that small is better. Measurements show that this is not the case.

I am not denigrating anything. Its just a constant complaint which sometimes I wish did not occurs as so many developers are doing their best to help us. If a program is failing, we need to know circumventions. But, lambasting a developer because he/she doesn't match our outlook, well ... you be the judge.

This PUP is a rather "friendly" presentation of PUPPY Linux in all its glory.

I admire this author, not just for the contribution he provides us, but if one looks at his "opening post", he is clear on the target PC this distro will live comfortably with little to no issues in behavior for the user.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper

Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1350
Location: England

PostPosted: Wed 15 Jul 2015, 09:54    Post subject:  

Very, very - (e)very - without fail; well, well, is gcmartin well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 06 Aug 2015, 15:47    Post subject:  

Just installed a refurb mobo in this box so needed to do a hardware check.

Code:
root# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: vividpup, version beta2

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation C51G [GeForce 6100] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video


Code:
root# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:        959544       870284        89260       466108        49076
-/+ buffers:             821208       138336
Swap:


Code:
-Computer-
Processor      : AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3500+
Memory      : 959MB (244MB used)
Machine Type      : Physical machine
Operating System      : vividpup - beta2
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Thu 06 Aug 2015 02:48:02 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution      : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Gallium 0.4 on NV4E
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter      : NFORCE - Intel ICH


Everything working well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6713
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 09 Aug 2015, 01:35    Post subject:  

Just built a new box so did a quick frugal install.
Code:

root# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: vividpup, version beta2

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GT218 [GeForce 210] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video



Code:
root# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       8192944      1647576      6545368       500288       119568
-/+ buffers:            1528008      6664936
Swap:      8396796            0      8396796

Code:

-Computer-
Processor      : 6x AMD FX(tm)-6300 Six-Core Processor
Memory      : 8192MB (348MB used)
Machine Type      : Physical machine
Operating System      : vividpup - beta2
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Sun 09 Aug 2015 12:33:04 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution      : 1440x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Gallium 0.4 on NVA8
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Audio Adapter      : PC-Speaker - pcsp
Vivid Beta.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   116.78 KB
 Viewed   454 Time(s)

Vivid Beta.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 7 of 10 [146 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0734s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]