Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 26 Mar 2017, 05:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
vividpup beta
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 10 [139 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Author Message
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 910
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2015, 22:34    Post subject: Another happy VB(eta) user
Subject description: Frugal so far
 

G'day 666philb,

Running a Frugal without problem.

Wine and Seamonkey as symlinks, games and extra file managers from sfs, pwidgets and taskbar-CPUtemps from pets all good.

Will do a Full soon.

David S.
vividbetaFrugal.jpg
 Description   Desktop Frugal - ZooGrandkids
 Filesize   170.04 KB
 Viewed   837 Time(s)

vividbetaFrugal.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1316
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2015, 15:57    Post subject:  

Well, I did a few adjustments:

MPlayer install through PPM - Check. All good.

HandBrakeCLI install through PPM - Check. All good.

Libre Writer amended to not auto-save. - Check. No more unexpected saves.

Libre Writer amended to not auto-update. - Check. No annoying pop-ups to update.

No noticeable flaws. Looks like Puppy's future continues to get brighter.

Thanks 666PhilB!

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3083
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2015, 18:23    Post subject: Re: Vivid  

sszindian wrote:


One question... what's the name of the default PDF reader? and where is it located?

Hope you take this one all the way!!!

>>>---Indian------>


hi sszindian,

vivid has evince pdf viewer .... it's located in /usr/bin and in menu>>document

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
davids45


Joined: 26 Nov 2006
Posts: 910
Location: Chatswood, NSW

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2015, 19:28    Post subject: Full Vivid Beta
Subject description: Frugal-to-Full Install and Start-up 'oddities'
 

G'day 666philb,

Installed Vivid Beta as a Full to sdb6 from my Frugal Vivid (on sda7) via the Universal Installer using the 'Directory' option (at /home/vividpup) to locate the install files for the UI to use.

First install attempt failed to wipe and copy files to sdb6 as sdb6 may have been already mounted - the UI did not report any problem and seemed to be doing the expected copying of files. I manually wiped sdb6 of its old files from a previous Pup and then from the Vivid Frugal, the Full install went as expected.

First booting of the Full Vivid produced a fail, an immediate screen of text lines suggesting some sort of internal panic, and a hung computer.
Being a slow learner/ fast optimist, I pressed the on/off button for ~5 seconds and chose Vivid again from the grub list and this time it booted and ran as well as my Frugal Vivid.

Next day (this morning), first boot of the Full Vivid and again the instant screen of text and a hung computer. And again, second boot attempt and Vivid is running without problem.

So it may be this desktop, or a bug in the UI when operated this way, or something to do with Vivid in the Full situation, or ...

Will persevere Smile .

David S

Update: this afternoon, same Vivid hang at cold boot but I saw there was a brief red text message about "performing" something on sdb6 then text scrolled off-screen and the computer hung. Re-start and Vivid boots OK.

UpdatedUpdate: after using a few other Pups on this desktop, I went back to my Vivid Frugal (did not want to try the Full) and noticed the red text crashing the Full seems to be a file check of the partition at kernel-loading time.
My Frugal Vivid on sda7 began by checking the Full Vivid on sdb6?? No other Frugal Pup has gone looking for its Full equivalent this way or if one has, it has not reported finding anything to check..
This Full check by the booting Frugal was pretty quick - just a few dots - and then it did the menu-list-requested fsck check on the sda7 partition which took a l-o-n-g time compared to other Frugal Pups - sda7 has all my Frugals and I let Vivid have the entire partition for its Save file if needed.
Anyway, the Vivid Frugal is presently OK.

Last edited by davids45 on Thu 30 Apr 2015, 03:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6684
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 03:09    Post subject:  

Just a quick live test.Looks good on this box as well.

Code:
root# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: vividpup, version beta2

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GM107 [GeForce GTX 750] (rev a2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768x16
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 extmod fb glamoregl glx kbd mouse shadowfb

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
root#

Code:


-Computer-
Processor      : 8x AMD FX(tm)-8320 Eight-Core Processor
Memory      : 8192MB (384MB used)
Machine Type      : Physical machine
Operating System      : vividpup - beta2
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Thu 30 Apr 2015 02:07:13 AM CDT
-Display-
Resolution      : 1920x1080 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.6, 128 bits)
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA ATI SB
Audio Adapter      : HDA-Intel - HDA NVidia
Audio Adapter      : PC-Speaker - pcsp


Code:
-Version-
Kernel      : Linux 3.19.5-vivid_PAE-32-pae (i686)
Version      : #1 SMP Mon Apr 27 11:12:29 GMT-8 2015
C Library      : GNU C Library version 2.19 (stable)
Distribution      : vividpup - beta2
-Current Session-
Computer Name      : puppypc899
User Name      : root (root)
Home Directory      : /root
Desktop Environment      : Unknown (Window Manager: JWM)
-Misc-
Uptime      : 18 minutes
Load Average      : 0.40, 0.31, 0.24
Vivid Beta.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   94.16 KB
 Viewed   675 Time(s)

Vivid Beta.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3029
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 04:00    Post subject: vividpup beta  

Installed with the puppy installer to a 16gb usb 3.0 flash drive,running
on a macmini:

root# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: vividpup, version beta2

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller (rev 09)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1920x1080
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel
Loaded modules: dbe dri2 extmod glx kbd mouse present

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
root#

No problems so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   73.41 KB
 Viewed   658 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Satori

Joined: 14 Jan 2013
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 12:08    Post subject:  

My usual method of running puppies is to use two partitions, the first contains the grub-boot and associated puppy files
while the second contains data and third party programs, which includes the savefile in a separate directory.

dpup wheezy's grub section is:

title dPup 3.5.2.11 ==> (sda3)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /puppy/dpup/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck pdevl=sda3 psubdir=puppy/dpup psubok=TRUE
initrd /puppy/dpup/initrd.gz

other puppies boot much the same way.

However Vivid fails to boot properly unless it's .SFS files are also within the same directory with the savefile.

title Vivid Beta ==> (sda3)
root (hd0,1)
kernel /Vivid/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck pdevl=sda3 psubdir=puppy/vivid psubok=TRUE
initrd /Vivid/initrd.gz

Note that each puppy directory also has a SAVEMARK that points to SDA3.

Otherwise, Vivid looks to be nice puppy.

Further testing shows that the following works, without needing vivid's .SFS files to be in the savefile directory:

title Vivid Beta ==> (sda3)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /puppy/vivid/vmlinuz pmedia=atahd pfix=fsck pdevl=sda3 psubdir=puppy/vivid psubok=TRUE
initrd /puppy/vivid/initrd.gz

Note that the dir names for both vivid boot and savefile are the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3083
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 16:53    Post subject: Re: Full Vivid Beta
Subject description: Frugal-to-Full Install and Start-up 'oddities'
 

davids45 wrote:
G'day 666philb,

Installed Vivid Beta as a Full to sdb6 from my Frugal Vivid (on sda7) via the Universal Installer using the 'Directory' option (at /home/vividpup) to locate the install files for the UI to use.

First install attempt failed to wipe and copy files to sdb6 as sdb6 may have been already mounted - the UI did not report any problem and seemed to be doing the expected copying of files. I manually wiped sdb6 of its old files from a previous Pup and then from the Vivid Frugal, the Full install went as expected.

First booting of the Full Vivid produced a fail, an immediate screen of text lines suggesting some sort of internal panic, and a hung computer.
Being a slow learner/ fast optimist, I pressed the on/off button for ~5 seconds and chose Vivid again from the grub list and this time it booted and ran as well as my Frugal Vivid.

Next day (this morning), first boot of the Full Vivid and again the instant screen of text and a hung computer. And again, second boot attempt and Vivid is running without problem.

So it may be this desktop, or a bug in the UI when operated this way, or something to do with Vivid in the Full situation, or ...

Will persevere Smile .

David S

Update: this afternoon, same Vivid hang at cold boot but I saw there was a brief red text message about "performing" something on sdb6 then text scrolled off-screen and the computer hung. Re-start and Vivid boots OK.

UpdatedUpdate: after using a few other Pups on this desktop, I went back to my Vivid Frugal (did not want to try the Full) and noticed the red text crashing the Full seems to be a file check of the partition at kernel-loading time.
My Frugal Vivid on sda7 began by checking the Full Vivid on sdb6?? No other Frugal Pup has gone looking for its Full equivalent this way or if one has, it has not reported finding anything to check..
This Full check by the booting Frugal was pretty quick - just a few dots - and then it did the menu-list-requested fsck check on the sda7 partition which took a l-o-n-g time compared to other Frugal Pups - sda7 has all my Frugals and I let Vivid have the entire partition for its Save file if needed.
Anyway, the Vivid Frugal is presently OK.


i'm getting a fail with full install as well ..... maybe kernel related ... try one of tahrs & read the readme http://ftp.nluug.nl/ibiblio/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-tahr/kernels/

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3083
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 17:06    Post subject: Re: Vivid  

sszindian wrote:
without doubt the most-responsive of any of the new Puppy's I've tested to date!

>>>---Indian------>


the main reason for this is that CPU frequency is set to 'performance' as default ..... usually it's set to 'on demand' in other pups.

menu>>system>>CPU frequency scaling tool ...set to 'performance' in other pups for extra speed Very Happy

the new kernel will give a boost on some setups as well

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6684
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 17:36    Post subject: Re: Full Vivid Beta
Subject description: Frugal-to-Full Install and Start-up 'oddities'
 

666philb wrote:
davids45 wrote:
G'day 666philb,

Installed Vivid Beta as a Full to sdb6 from my Frugal Vivid (on sda7) via the Universal Installer using the 'Directory' option (at /home/vividpup) to locate the install files for the UI to use.

First install attempt failed to wipe and copy files to sdb6 as sdb6 may have been already mounted - the UI did not report any problem and seemed to be doing the expected copying of files. I manually wiped sdb6 of its old files from a previous Pup and then from the Vivid Frugal, the Full install went as expected.

First booting of the Full Vivid produced a fail, an immediate screen of text lines suggesting some sort of internal panic, and a hung computer.
Being a slow learner/ fast optimist, I pressed the on/off button for ~5 seconds and chose Vivid again from the grub list and this time it booted and ran as well as my Frugal Vivid.

Next day (this morning), first boot of the Full Vivid and again the instant screen of text and a hung computer. And again, second boot attempt and Vivid is running without problem.

So it may be this desktop, or a bug in the UI when operated this way, or something to do with Vivid in the Full situation, or ...

Will persevere Smile .

David S

Update: this afternoon, same Vivid hang at cold boot but I saw there was a brief red text message about "performing" something on sdb6 then text scrolled off-screen and the computer hung. Re-start and Vivid boots OK.

UpdatedUpdate: after using a few other Pups on this desktop, I went back to my Vivid Frugal (did not want to try the Full) and noticed the red text crashing the Full seems to be a file check of the partition at kernel-loading time.
My Frugal Vivid on sda7 began by checking the Full Vivid on sdb6?? No other Frugal Pup has gone looking for its Full equivalent this way or if one has, it has not reported finding anything to check..
This Full check by the booting Frugal was pretty quick - just a few dots - and then it did the menu-list-requested fsck check on the sda7 partition which took a l-o-n-g time compared to other Frugal Pups - sda7 has all my Frugals and I let Vivid have the entire partition for its Save file if needed.
Anyway, the Vivid Frugal is presently OK.


i'm getting a fail with full install as well ..... maybe kernel related ... try one of tahrs & read the readme http://ftp.nluug.nl/ibiblio/distributions/puppylinux/puppy-tahr/kernels/


I was intending to confirm but my full install is working without any apparent problems.

From my running Vivid Beta 2 frugal install in sdb8 I used the installer (Vivid files in a directory) to do a full install in sdb 13. Booting from legacy Grub in sda3 using the default menu.lst entry.

Been tweaking and rebooting.more tweaking and rebooting...rebooted 7 or 8 times with no delays and no problems.

I did start with sdb 13 already formatted to ext4 and did not install grub4dos.

HTH.

EDIT:Doing a complete poweroff now to see if any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6684
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 17:52    Post subject:  

Rebooted and powered off this full install at least 10 times....zero problems.

Code:
PUPMODE=2
#ATADRIVES is all internal ide/pata/sata drives, excluding optical, excluding usb...
ATADRIVES='sda sdb '
#ATAOPTICALDRIVES is list of non-usb optical drives...
ATAOPTICALDRIVES='sr0 '
PUP_HOME='/'
PDEV1='sdb13'
DEV1FS='ext4'


Code:
root# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: vividpup, version beta2

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82865G Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel
  Loaded modules: dbe dri2 extmod glx kbd mouse present

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1024x768 pixels (270x203 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video


Code:
root# free
             total         used         free       shared      buffers
Mem:       2056452       467072      1589380        70180        11868
-/+ buffers:             455204      1601248
Swap:      2150396            0      2150396
root#



Code:
-Computer-
Processor      : 2x Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Memory      : 2056MB (174MB used)
Machine Type      : Physical machine
Operating System      : vividpup - beta2
User Name      : root (root)
Date/Time      : Thu 30 Apr 2015 04:50:01 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution      : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer      : Mesa DRI Intel(R) 865G x86/MMX/SSE2
X11 Vendor      : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter      : ICH4 - Intel ICH5
Audio Adapter      : PC-Speaker - pcsp


Some variable must be causing the problems but not present on this old box.

Just for info purposes

Code:
title Puppy Linux beta2 full install in sdb13
root (hd1,12)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sdb13 pmedia=atahd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6684
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 19:09    Post subject:  

Latest Google Chrome works fine on Vivid Beta too.
latest Chrome.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   12.28 KB
 Viewed   525 Time(s)

latest Chrome.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3083
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 19:15    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Latest Google Chrome works fine on Vivid Beta too.
cheers james C

does cups still work after installing the .deb?

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 6684
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 19:37    Post subject:  

666philb wrote:
James C wrote:
Latest Google Chrome works fine on Vivid Beta too.
cheers james C

does cups still work after installing the .deb?


Cups interface is showing up in Palemoon but nothing appearing in Chrome.

Didn't install a ,deb. Downloaded and extracted manually if that could make a difference..No ink in printer though. Smile
cups.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.59 KB
 Viewed   513 Time(s)

cups.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 3083
Location: wales

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 19:51    Post subject:  

installing the deb breaks some cups permissions but there's supposed to be a fix
does cups work after installing the .deb?

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 10 [139 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, ..., 8, 9, 10 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0808s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]