Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 28 Mar 2015, 14:54
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Tahrpup 6.0.2 Full Won't Boot
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Author Message
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 281
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2015, 22:22    Post subject:  Tahrpup 6.0.2 Full Won't Boot  

This is weird. It boots fine from a usb flash drive, but will not from the full install on HDD.

Issue showed right after installing 2 extra HDDs (boots fine with just 3 drives, but will not with even 1 of the 2 more I installed) via a PCIe SATA card.

If I pull the HDDs it boots fine. But with them installed I get the following:

Code:
Kernel panic - not syncing: No working init found.


I have checked and reinstalled GRUB from the legacy installer in 6.0.2 at least twice now on the same install. And I also did a fresh full install to another HDD with the same result.

I'm lost.

Hardware is below:

AMD AM2 Athlon 64 2.2ghz
2GB RAM
PSU that is more than capable of running my 5 drives
4 x 2TB HDD
1 x 80GB HDD - trying to boot from

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9798
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2015, 22:34    Post subject:  

Your GRUB entry for the full install probably has "root=/dev/sda1".

I wonder if the drives are being enumerated differently because of the add-on card.

Try changing "sda1" to something else.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 281
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2015, 22:47    Post subject:  

I figured as much, and already checked it.

The BIOS assigns the boot drive to the first drive when it's a HDD. So /dev/sda1 is right.

Oh, and the card has 2 of the other drives on it too, which let the machine boot fine when only they and the boot HDD are installed.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9798
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2015, 22:59    Post subject:  

So there are four drives on the card?

What happens if you unplug the two OLD ones?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 281
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2015, 23:09    Post subject:  

Yep, 4 drives on the card, and 1 on the mobo SATA port for boot.

I'l try it and get back to you now.

Image from GRUB command line.


_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 281
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2015, 23:16    Post subject:  

OK. I unplugged the 2 that the machine was OK with. Still won't boot.

Tried swapping the SATA cables around at the card in all possible configs. No boot.

It's like its definitely something to do with those specific drives. And that's weird because I just pulled them from a working environment to use in this one. Literally minutes ago.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 281
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2015, 23:47    Post subject:  

Fairly certain there is either something wrong with the mobo SATA controller, or both my boot drives are bad. I'm betting on the controller. With nothing hooked up to the mobo SATA port the machine boots fine. All 4 of my storage disks are OK too.

I'm going to probably just install frugal to a flash drive and try to forget about this unless anyone has any other ideas.

It's an old mobo, and I'd like to use it if possible, but I understand its life is finite. Might just pick up another SATA card down the road too. Have to wait and see.

Thanks for the input, anyway.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 281
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Mar 2015, 10:17    Post subject:  

Tested my idea just now with the same HDD install booting through a USB SATA adapter. Same error. So it's not the SATA controller. I even disabled it in the BIOS before I tried USB.

This is bizarre. Going to try a frugal install and see if that will even boot now.

I'm thinking this mobo is just hosed completely.

EDIT: USB flash drive with frugal works fine. I guess a workaround is better than a complete rebuild. Oh well.

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3523
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Wed 04 Mar 2015, 19:19    Post subject:  

Maybe reset bios to defaults.

Then reboot and modify the bios as necessary.

Works sometimes....Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sketchman


Joined: 01 Jun 2006
Posts: 281
Location: West Virginia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Mar 2015, 23:01    Post subject:  

Thanks but for now it's booting flawlessly from USB, so I'm hesitant to mess with it any more. I might play with it some more after I get some use on it, though.

I do appreciate the input.

Oh, I did make one other observation though. Just before (like in the same second) boot stops, the drives make this noise like they are parking or un-parking or something. Not sure how to describe it, but it's not a good noise like if they were just behaving normally.

I'm curious if they really are just disconnecting momentarily or something. Any other time the disks are fine. Never make that noise unless they are booting up, and I don't think it's all of them either. I have 3 different brands and 4 different models I'm using to hopefully have better reliability odds. So far it doesn't seem to be helping. Smile

_________________
"In a world that exists without walls and fences, who needs Windows and Gates?"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [10 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0648s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]