Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 24 May 2017, 04:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
vivaldi browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 3 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1526
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2016, 19:18    Post subject:  

Hello Wognath,

I have upgraded the packages to the new stable 1.0.435.40 version.

Also I have substituted the libffmpeg.so with the i686 version downloaded from the site you linked. The shipped libffmpeg.so is in a sub-directory and the main browser needs to find it there rather than in the main directory. Not sure if widevine needs it in the main directory so I put it there and also symlinked it into the sub-dir.

My packages have the run-as-root modifications. Do we know if running as root prevents Netflix from working?
https://yadi.sk/d/euoIiDRDqcFnK

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2016, 21:10    Post subject:  

Hello again, OscarTalks,
I did not delete /opt/vivaldi/lib/libffmpeg.so. I just stuck the "latest codecs" version in /opt/vivaldi.

Before, I used peebee's sfs of chromium-64_46.0.2490.71 and added /usr/lib64/libwidevinecdm.so. It runs as root and plays Netflix.

Cheers!
Pure_food.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   31.14 KB
 Viewed   744 Time(s)

Pure_food.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sheldonisaac

Joined: 21 Jun 2009
Posts: 653
Location: Philadelphia, PA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2016, 08:46    Post subject:  

OscarTalks (in part) wrote:
I have upgraded the packages to the new stable 1.0.435.40 version.
...
My packages have the run-as-root modifications. Do we know if running as root prevents Netflix from working?
https://yadi.sk/d/euoIiDRDqcFnK

Thanks, OscarTalks and Wognath. I'm just a user, and can't follow
much of what you said.
I downloaded the sfs Vivaldi from your link, above. It didn't run under SuperLuPu2 Lucid Puppy (missing libraries or something like that).
It did run under TahrPup 6.0.5 32-bit.

_________________
Dell E6410: Slim Slacko 6, LuPu Super 2, Tahr
Dell D610: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Intel D865GBF: Tiny Windows 7, Puppy Linux 5.2
Acer Aspire One: Windows XP, Puppy Linux 5.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1526
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2016, 11:56    Post subject:  

@ Sheldon,

Yeah, I'm afraid these Chromium derivative browsers are not likely to work in Lucid at all. I am aiming to get them to work in such Puppies as Wheezy, Precise and 14.0 Slackos and to do that I have to disable some of the sandboxing. In current official Puppies like Tahr and 14.1 Slackos people may want to experiment with re-enabling the sandboxing by deleting the switches from the launcher wrapper script, but if it works out of the box then that is great.

@ Wognath,

OK so I put the shipped libffmpeg.so back in the sub-dir since that configuration works for you, although I reckon a symlink to the downloaded one would also work. The downloaded one is much bigger so I guess it was compiled with extra codecs, some of which are needed for Netflix. I presume the lib is detected as a plugin in the main directory. I am at a bit of a disadvantage in all this because I don't plan to sign up for Netflix so it is not possible for me to test this out, but it would be nice to know that it works for those who want it.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2016, 14:38    Post subject:  

Hi Oscar,
I fired up Tahrpup 6.0, and loaded your vivaldi-1.0.435.40-i386.sfs. The browser runs well, but unfortunately, Netflix does not play. I tried running with sandbox, running as spot and changing permissions of the libs to 755 to match my Fatdog install. No luck. Each time I get the error "...make sure you are on an official version of Chrome.. Error Code M7355-1203", which brings back memories of trying to get Opera to work... No more ideas at present, but I'll let you know if I make any progress.

I noticed that the tab key does not work as "next box" in forms. I don't think it's anything I did.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1526
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2016, 16:43    Post subject:  

Hi Wognath,

Hmm OK, thanks for testing that. This is what makes me think that the downloaded libffmpeg.so should be placed or symlinked into the lib sub-dir to replace the shipped one. It may be that the Vivaldi devs change things with different betas and snapshots and now a stable, but looking at ldd the widevine libs don't link to libffmpeg.so but the main browser binary does. The path to the sub-dir appears to be coded in. Anyway, that configuration is not working so maybe I will try putting it back as a symlink with the shipped version removed (DONE). I assume the downloaded one is the same but with those extra codecs built in at compile time.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Thu 07 Apr 2016, 18:21    Post subject:  

Way to go, Oscar, you were right Cool . I booted Tahr 6.0 with pfix=ram, loaded your original sfs, moved the 3M libffmpeg.so into /opt/vivaldi/lib, replacing the smaller one (shipped version). Netflix now plays. Very Happy
Edit: just to confirm, OscarTalks' new Vivaldi sfs runs great on tahrpup 6.0 and plays Netflix out of the box.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1526
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2016, 13:44    Post subject:  

Thanks for your help, Wognath, great that we are developing a better understanding of it. Not sure if Vivaldi auto-updates Pepper Flash. Maybe it doesn't since it isn't shipped with the original package. Anyway I have updated my packages adding the new Pepper Flash 21.0.0.213 which has a fix for the latest vulnerability that was discovered.
https://yadi.sk/d/euoIiDRDqcFnK

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2016, 15:28    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
great that we are developing a better understanding of it
I agree. Vivaldi is a sweet browser and I'm fully committed! So glad you made an sfs available.

I got a pm requesting the steps for making the 64-bit sfs with Netflix. I posted that in the HowTo section here. Please correct any mistakes.

I also suspect Vivaldi does not update flash since it looks for it in other browsers' directories. I keep mine outside the sfs in /usr/lib/PepperFlash/, which is searched by Vivaldi. To update, I use a script: wget https://dl.google.com/linux/direct/google-chrome-stable_current_amd64.deb, then extract, copy libflashplayer and clean up. Convenient!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2016, 17:47    Post subject:  

If Puppy has a folder named "/usr/lib/PepperFlash", will other browsers beyond Vivaldi find it for flash support or must they be modified to locate the folder? If so, a simple Menu>Internet utility could provide updates for universal use.

Curious.

On another note, seems MS is abandoning Flash, as well, in their recent update to Edge browser. That now makes Safari, Edge, and Chrome who are moving on. Is Vivaldi positioning as well?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 386

PostPosted: Fri 08 Apr 2016, 19:58    Post subject:  

gc martin, I chose /usr/lib/PepperFlash because it is "unbranded"--no google or chromium. Opera looks there, among other places: 2014 forum post . GC keeps it in /opt/google/chrome/PepperFlash/ . Chromium browsers allow the startup parameter "--ppapi-flash-path=" Peebee's chromium sfs's use --ppapi-flash-path=/usr/lib64/chromium/PepperFlash/libpepflashplayer.so And there's always links! All you need to do is to get everyone to agree on where puppy browsers should keep it Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 892
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2016, 04:25    Post subject:  

I can't seem to get Vivaldi to run on Precise 5.6.1.

I've been using Vivaldi successfully on windows all through the development cycles, and did get one of the early beta snapshots to run on Precise.

However I've just tried the released 1.1 version (downloaded and ran the 32-bit deb) and "nothing happens" when I run it ... by which I mean, I can try to run Vivaldi either from the command line (terminal) or from the menu, and I simply don't get the application appearing on screen.

There are no error messages in the terminal (it's not complaining about not being able to find libraries, or being run as root, or anything else).

top & ps both reveal vivaldi as running, and running it from the terminal I can ctrl-c to break out and back to the prompt, whereupon ps/top show that vivaldi has unloaded.

if I had an error message, i'd at least have a clue where to start, but at the moment i'm stumped ...

any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3130
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2016, 04:52    Post subject:  

paulh177 wrote:

There are no error messages in the terminal (it's not complaining about not being able to find libraries, or being run as root, or anything else).

top & ps both reveal vivaldi as running, and running it from the terminal I can ctrl-c to break out and back to the prompt, whereupon ps/top show that vivaldi has unloaded.

if I had an error message, i'd at least have a clue where to start, but at the moment i'm stumped ...

any ideas?


I've never tried Vivaldi, but if no better or more knowledgable idea comes up I would suggest trying to run it as user spot (from a terminal in case any error messages do then appear) in case it IS an issue of running it as root user related somehow to X server DISPLAY values/permissions or whatever...

You can check needed libraries with ldd command (i.e. ldd path_to_vivaldi_browser) with will dispay the libraries list and any "not found".

William

_________________
SomeOfMyWork with links:
dCoreDog
weX, scrox, Precord, Premote, fokSyfEyeR, xhippo-mod, flite_hts_pet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
paulh177


Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 892
Location: ST862228

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2016, 05:06    Post subject:  

hmm in all the years I've used Puppy I don;t think I've ever tried spot.

However,
Code:

# su spot
su: can't execute '/bin/sh': Permission denied


Shocked


no problems revealed by ldd I think:

Code:

# ldd /opt/vivaldi/vivaldi-bin
   linux-gate.so.1 =>  (0xffffe000)
   libffmpeg.so => /opt/vivaldi/lib/libffmpeg.so (0xb00bb000)
   librt.so.1 => /lib/librt.so.1 (0xb00b2000)
   libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb00ac000)
   libgmodule-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgmodule-2.0.so.0 (0xb00a7000)
   libgobject-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0 (0xb0058000)
   libglib-2.0.so.0 => /lib/libglib-2.0.so.0 (0xaff5f000)
   libnss3.so => /usr/lib/libnss3.so (0xafe33000)
   libnssutil3.so => /usr/lib/libnssutil3.so (0xafe10000)
   libsmime3.so => /usr/lib/libsmime3.so (0xafde6000)
   libnspr4.so => /usr/lib/libnspr4.so (0xafda8000)
   libgconf-2.so.4 => /usr/lib/libgconf-2.so.4 (0xafd7a000)
   libgio-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgio-2.0.so.0 (0xafc23000)
   libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xafbf7000)
   libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0xafbc2000)
   libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0xafb28000)
   libpangocairo-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangocairo-1.0.so.0 (0xafb1b000)
   libcairo.so.2 => /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2 (0xafa50000)
   libpango-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0 (0xafa06000)
   libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xaf8d1000)
   libXi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXi.so.6 (0xaf8c1000)
   libXcursor.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcursor.so.1 (0xaf8b6000)
   libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0xaf8a4000)
   libXfixes.so.3 => /usr/lib/libXfixes.so.3 (0xaf89e000)
   libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0xaf894000)
   libXss.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXss.so.1 (0xaf88f000)
   libXcomposite.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcomposite.so.1 (0xaf88b000)
   libasound.so.2 => /usr/lib/libasound.so.2 (0xaf799000)
   libXdamage.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXdamage.so.1 (0xaf795000)
   libXtst.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXtst.so.6 (0xaf78e000)
   libdbus-1.so.3 => /lib/libdbus-1.so.3 (0xaf744000)
   libatk-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libatk-1.0.so.0 (0xaf724000)
   libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXrandr.so.2 (0xaf71b000)
   libexpat.so.1 => /lib/libexpat.so.1 (0xaf6f1000)
   libcups.so.2 => /usr/lib/libcups.so.2 (0xaf6b3000)
   libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xaf698000)
   libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0xaf22f000)
   libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0xaf180000)
   libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 (0xaf15f000)
   libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0xaf07a000)
   libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xaf05c000)
   libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xaeeb2000)
   /lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7707000)
   libffi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libffi.so.6 (0xaeeab000)
   libpcre.so.3 => /lib/libpcre.so.3 (0xaee6f000)
   libplc4.so => /usr/lib/libplc4.so (0xaee69000)
   libplds4.so => /usr/lib/libplds4.so (0xaee64000)
   libdbus-glib-1.so.2 => /usr/lib/libdbus-glib-1.so.2 (0xaee46000)
   libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0xaee2f000)
   libselinux.so.1 => /lib/libselinux.so.1 (0xaee10000)
   libresolv.so.2 => /lib/libresolv.so.2 (0xaedf8000)
   libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 (0xaedcc000)
   libpixman-1.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpixman-1.so.0 (0xaed34000)
   libpng12.so.0 => /lib/libpng12.so.0 (0xaed09000)
   libxcb-shm.so.0 => /usr/lib/libxcb-shm.so.0 (0xaed05000)
   libxcb-render.so.0 => /usr/lib/libxcb-render.so.0 (0xaecfb000)
   libxcb.so.1 => /usr/lib/libxcb.so.1 (0xaecda000)
   libssl.so.1.0.0 => /lib/libssl.so.1.0.0 (0xaec82000)
   libcrypto.so.1.0.0 => /lib/libcrypto.so.1.0.0 (0xaead7000)
   libcrypt.so.1 => /lib/libcrypt.so.1 (0xaeaa6000)
   libXinerama.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXinerama.so.1 (0xaeaa2000)
   libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXau.so.6 (0xaea9d000)
   libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXdmcp.so.6 (0xaea96000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 3130
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 03 May 2016, 05:33    Post subject:  

I forgot I had briefly tried and posted about vivaldi before, albeit in MintPup:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=862353#862353

Moreover, I just downloaded the latest 64bit deb and tried it in DebianDogJessie64 and it started up okay as root user with commandline:

Code:
vivaldi --no-sandbox --user-data-dir /root/.vivaldi


EDIT: Actually, I now note Vivaldi creates a data-dir in /root/.config/vivaldi so better to use that than the suggested /root/.vivaldi

When trying only the argument --no-sandbox, it did say to start it up as a normal user, however, as I say, above line as root user did start it up at least though I haven't tested it further.

EDIT3: But some of the info in below thread might help you (I note there that some run-as-spot script is being used, though can't check since not, as I said, on Puppy):

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=898094

William

EDIT: when I tried the 32bit version earlier in MintPup, I apparently did not need --no-sandbox argument in above code line. However, did this time in DDJessie64 with that latest vivaldi, though I've read elsewhere that running --no-sandbox is considered bad security method. Perhaps there is some other way, or better yet to find out how to run successfully as ordinary user (spot in Puppy). I don't have Puppy on this machine to try that though - just using DD and MintPup just now.

EDIT2: you might find some useful info further here:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=97978

Hmmm, just noticed it is the start of the same thread so I guess you have read the rest already...

_________________
SomeOfMyWork with links:
dCoreDog
weX, scrox, Precord, Premote, fokSyfEyeR, xhippo-mod, flite_hts_pet

Last edited by mcewanw on Tue 03 May 2016, 06:17; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 3 of 6 [81 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.4159s ][ Queries: 14 (0.1059s) ][ GZIP on ]