Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Aug 2017, 00:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
vivaldi browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [89 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12595
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2015, 22:40    Post subject:  

Thanks, it might be a day or two before I can get to that.
starhawk wrote:
... you really can't expect to have every single support package in existence in your distro... I don't think even eg Debian does that! ...that said, DBus is pretty basic, as I understand it...

The Vivaldi .pet is 61 MB. How much larger would it be if it included the more obscure libs Vivaldi needs to run? I think what I'm talking about is an application in a directory, or perhaps a Rox app. There are many libs that every Puppy can be expected to have. Those don't need to be included -- unless they're tiny, in which case might as well include them too. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2015, 23:00    Post subject:  

...and what, pray tell, happens if Puppy already has the libs you need? For example, Caro Vanguard has libdbus (...which, BTW, should be in /usr/lib -- check there before you download!).

To answer my own question -- what happens is file clobber that breaks stuff. It's far better to have the user go off libhunting for a little bit, than to have applications that break other parts of the OS when you install them!

Applications in a directory are the basis for how Linux works, really -- and dotPET packages generally do not (if ever at all) contain ROXApps. Remember that a dotPET is a tarball (*.tar.gz archive) that has an MD5sum plunked into it such that PetGet can tell when the package has corrupted... if you were to convert a dotPET to a regular tarball and open it in eg PupZip, you'd find directories like /usr and /etc and such in there. The files within that directory hierarchy are plunked down into the appropriate places in the filesystem. All PetGet really does is verify the package, unpack it, read the directory tree, and plunk files where they go. It's not *that* complicated. Certainly not rocket science!

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 12595
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 29 Apr 2015, 23:45    Post subject:  

I thought an application-in-a-directory included in the directory everything the app needs to run. Almost like a binary. That way, the app would know right where a needed library was. No other app in the computer would know that particular library was in that particular directory, so there would be no collision. Am I wrong about how that works?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 5056
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Thu 30 Apr 2015, 12:00    Post subject:  

The binary is the executable part of the code. Everything else included supports it. However -- the person or people creating the package (not just a binary!) make certain assumptions about the filesystem content outside of that package -- the environment into which the package will be installed.

Generally you don't package all required supporting libs in with a binary. You /can/ do that, but then you end up with a boatload of duplicates. /usr/lib exists for a reason, you know Wink

Let's look at Chromium, my web browser of choice. There is a shell script at /usr/bin/chromium, but the actual binary is /usr/lib/chromium/chromium (oddly enough, with a lib icon, dunno why, it's not a *.so). There are supporting libs in /usr/lib/chromium, but those are not the only required libs by any means. Pepperflash is included with this particular Chromium (one of peebee's SFSs) and that's hanging around somewhere. Strictly speaking it's 'recommended' rather than 'required' in that Chromium will run without Pepperflash -- but then you don't get flash content, only HTML5 (etc) and that's kind of a downer.

However, if I install that SFS into Carolina Vanguard, open a terminal and type chromium [ENTER] -- I will get an error message, about a missing symlink having to do with libevent, which (as I understand it) is a thing that lets callbacks occur when something happens to a file. (Remember that everything is a file in Linux, and that libraries --'libs'-- add capabilities to the binaries within a filesystem. libjpeg, for example, allows binaries to, well, do stuff with JPEG files, for example.) You can find more info on libevent at its website.

So, Chromium's developers, and the people who packaged it up for us (peebee repackages Slackware TXZs from a guy calls himself 'alienbob', so there's a couple folks involved there), made an assumption that libevent would be present in some form in whatever distro it was plunked into. In most cases that's probably a safe assumption. However, in Carolina Vanguard, it isn't, and libevent becomes a dependency ('dep'). In this case it's the only one. You haven't been so lucky with Vivaldi, apparently, but that does happen. In particular, it happens a lot when you're pulling in stuff from other distros. So, for example, if I install an application from say Slackware 14.1 into TahrPup, because TahrPup does Ubuntu better than Slackware, I'll quite likely have a fat pile of deps (mostly libs) to hunt down. What is a safe assumption about Slackware 14.1's filesystem contents, is not necessarily so for Ubuntu Trusty Tahr.

Make sense?

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aztk

Joined: 22 Aug 2014
Posts: 47
Location: Oaxaca, México

PostPosted: Sat 22 Aug 2015, 12:04    Post subject:  Vivaldi abort  

Excuse my bad English. I used Google Translate.

I installed the pet Vivaldi, libraries were missing and what I did was I copied the libraries that come in my firefox 40.0.2 because they are the same that appeared me in terminal. Now, in trying to run it, this appears in terminal. I'm using X-Precise.

http://postimg.org/image/gsvf4y4yz/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 22 Aug 2015, 12:57    Post subject:  

Aztk, you symlinked that lib from where to where?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aztk

Joined: 22 Aug 2014
Posts: 47
Location: Oaxaca, México

PostPosted: Sat 22 Aug 2015, 14:39    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Aztk, you symlinked that lib from where to where?


No, I literally copy the libs files from /usr/lib/firefox/, and I see than use the same libs. I don't know if I can do this. O just create a symlinked... If so, how do I create a symlinked in xfce (thunar)?

EDIT:

Well, I unzipped the pet who kindly shared with us peebee. I copied the libraries and I still make that mistake.

Quote:
Failed to load NSS libraries.


Or, I need install chrome or chromium necessary?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 23 Aug 2015, 07:17    Post subject:  

Aztk, run this and post the output:
Code:
ldd /opt/vivaldi-snapshot/vivaldi-bin

Mind you it's (L)dd. Wink

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aztk

Joined: 22 Aug 2014
Posts: 47
Location: Oaxaca, México

PostPosted: Mon 24 Aug 2015, 13:26    Post subject:  

I use that command in terminal:

Quote:
# ldd /opt/vivaldi-snapshot/vivaldi-bin
linux-gate.so.1 => (0xffffe000)
librt.so.1 => /lib/librt.so.1 (0xb1f08000)
libdl.so.2 => /lib/libdl.so.2 (0xb1f03000)
libgobject-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0 (0xb1eb3000)
libglib-2.0.so.0 => /lib/libglib-2.0.so.0 (0xb1dba000)
libnss3.so => not found
libnssutil3.so => not found
libsmime3.so => not found
libplc4.so => not found
libnspr4.so => not found
libgconf-2.so.4 => /usr/lib/libgconf-2.so.4 (0xb1d7c000)
libgio-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgio-2.0.so.0 (0xb1c1c000)
libfontconfig.so.1 => /usr/lib/libfontconfig.so.1 (0xb1be8000)
libfreetype.so.6 => /usr/lib/libfreetype.so.6 (0xb1b4d000)
libpangocairo-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangocairo-1.0.so.0 (0xb1b40000)
libcairo.so.2 => /usr/lib/libcairo.so.2 (0xb1a75000)
libpango-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpango-1.0.so.0 (0xb1a2b000)
libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0xb18f7000)
libXi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXi.so.6 (0xb18e6000)
libXcursor.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcursor.so.1 (0xb18db000)
libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0xb18c9000)
libXfixes.so.3 => /usr/lib/libXfixes.so.3 (0xb18c3000)
libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0xb18b9000)
libXcomposite.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXcomposite.so.1 (0xb18b5000)
libasound.so.2 => /usr/lib/libasound.so.2 (0xb17c2000)
libm.so.6 => /lib/libm.so.6 (0xb1796000)
libXdamage.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXdamage.so.1 (0xb1792000)
libXtst.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXtst.so.6 (0xb178b000)
libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXrandr.so.2 (0xb1782000)
libexpat.so.1 => /lib/libexpat.so.1 (0xb1758000)
libudev.so.0 => /lib/libudev.so.0 (0xb1746000)
libcups.so.2 => /usr/lib/libcups.so.2 (0xb1708000)
libpthread.so.0 => /lib/libpthread.so.0 (0xb16ed000)
libdbus-1.so.3 => /lib/libdbus-1.so.3 (0xb16a4000)
libcap.so.2 => /lib/libcap.so.2 (0xb169e000)
libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgtk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0xb1236000)
libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk-x11-2.0.so.0 (0xb1186000)
libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgdk_pixbuf-2.0.so.0 (0xb1165000)
libXss.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXss.so.1 (0xb1161000)
libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0xb107c000)
libgcc_s.so.1 => /lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0xb105e000)
libc.so.6 => /lib/libc.so.6 (0xb0eb4000)
/lib/ld-linux.so.2 (0xb7795000)
libffi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libffi.so.6 (0xb0ead000)
libpcre.so.3 => /lib/libpcre.so.3 (0xb0e71000)
libgmodule-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgmodule-2.0.so.0 (0xb0e6c000)
libdbus-glib-1.so.2 => /usr/lib/libdbus-glib-1.so.2 (0xb0e4a000)
libz.so.1 => /lib/libz.so.1 (0xb0e34000)
libresolv.so.2 => /lib/libresolv.so.2 (0xb0e1b000)
libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpangoft2-1.0.so.0 (0xb0def000)
libpixman-1.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpixman-1.so.0 (0xb0d57000)
libpng12.so.0 => /lib/libpng12.so.0 (0xb0d2d000)
libxcb-shm.so.0 => /usr/lib/libxcb-shm.so.0 (0xb0d29000)
libxcb-render.so.0 => /usr/lib/libxcb-render.so.0 (0xb0d1e000)
libxcb.so.1 => /usr/lib/libxcb.so.1 (0xb0cfd000)
libssl.so.1.0.0 => /lib/libssl.so.1.0.0 (0xb0ca6000)
libcrypto.so.1.0.0 => /lib/libcrypto.so.1.0.0 (0xb0afb000)
libcrypt.so.1 => /lib/libcrypt.so.1 (0xb0ac9000)
libatk-1.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libatk-1.0.so.0 (0xb0aa9000)
libXinerama.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXinerama.so.1 (0xb0aa5000)
libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXau.so.6 (0xb0aa1000)
libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXdmcp.so.6 (0xb0a9a000)


But, I have all...
Vivaldi carpeta.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  Vivaldi carpeta.png 
Filesize  181.96 KB 
Downloaded  172 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 24 Aug 2015, 15:01    Post subject:  

Unpack, run the enclosed script, then tell me what I wanna hear!
4u.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  4u.tar.gz 
Filesize  220 Bytes 
Downloaded  155 Time(s) 

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Aztk

Joined: 22 Aug 2014
Posts: 47
Location: Oaxaca, México

PostPosted: Mon 24 Aug 2015, 17:13    Post subject: Solved  

It's alive!!!! Thank you for your time Semme.


But, I have a little problem. It's not a very thing, but after opening well Vivaldi; Firefox and Palemoon show me this at startup:

Well, I do not want to spam here, so please instruct on where to open a new post for a possible solution . However, it does not affect me at all . Navigate with ease in all three browsers. thanks again Semme.
Error.png
 Description   
 Filesize   32.73 KB
 Viewed   836 Time(s)

Error.png

It's alive.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  It's alive.png 
Filesize  248.56 KB 
Downloaded  176 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 24 Aug 2015, 20:10    Post subject:  

I suppose you put those libs there because my Retro-Precise is quite different. Vivaldi runs off the bat.

What may be different about X-Precise should be answered by the maintainer or someone who runs a copy.

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 7775
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 25 Aug 2015, 18:38    Post subject:  

Mind you, the moment you become passive, people forget and move on.
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks


Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1569
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 30 Mar 2016, 14:03    Post subject:  

So many Chromium derivative browsers to choose from. Under the hood they are all fairly similar. With Vivaldi the emphasis seems to be on tarting up the UI among other things. Unlike Opera there does not seem to be any browser updater included and personally I prefer this (especially if the updater causes problems which happens sometimes).

Here is Vivaldi 1.0.403.24 with the usual tweaks and running in Wheezy so will also work in Precise and 14.0 Slackos.

Not sure if it will work with Netflix. there is the libwidevinecdmadapter.so but the other libwidevinecdm.so is a symlink which seems to assume google chrome also installed so I am a bit puzzled by all that.

Pepper Flash is now working. I have added version 21.0.0.197

OK so I have also copied in the libwidevinecdm.so lib from chrome and the ffmpeg.so lib is there in a sub-dir so perhaps someone can test if Netflix works like that?
https://yadi.sk/d/euoIiDRDqcFnK
vivaldi.jpg
 Description   Vivaldi works in Wheezy
 Filesize   33.26 KB
 Viewed   560 Time(s)

vivaldi.jpg


_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Wognath

Joined: 19 Apr 2009
Posts: 394

PostPosted: Wed 06 Apr 2016, 15:27    Post subject:  

Hello, OscarTalks,
I just tested Netflix in vivaldi-stable and it did not work with the included libffmpeg.so. It does work with the version linked here. Libwidevinecdm.so is proprietary and must be borrowed from chrome, hence the link to opt/google/chrome. I just installed the lib into /opt/vivaldi (replacing the link) from my Chrome sfs, which does not need to be loaded.

Vivaldi has always worked out of the box in Fatdog, including today's stable release. I just extract the deb and make an sfs. If anyone wants, I can list the steps. (Fatdog has deb2txz, but I have not tried it.) Vivaldi must be run as spot, although you probably know how to get around that.

PepperFlash, not included, can be placed in any of the directories listed around line 85 in the script /opt/vivaldi/vivaldi.

The first "stable" came out today. Very Happy I expect to stick with Vivaldi for a while, having jumped ship from Opera.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [89 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0652s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]