(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 26 Feb 2021, 00:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Unable to delete broken directory - SOLVED
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2015, 19:46    Post subject:  Unable to delete broken directory - SOLVED  

I mistakenly disconnected or shut down an external hard drive prematurely (before the directory being written was finished) and ended up with a grey bordered yellow icon (! boldly centered in icon) that will not open, be renamed or deleted.

"chmod -R 777 /mnt/sdc1/directoryname" returns "chmod: cannot access '/mnt/sdc1/directoryname/': Input/output error"

Permissions cannot be changed via right-click GUI or Properties GUI.

How do I get rid of this directory? Using FatDog 6.00 here ATM, but it is an external HD that can be connected elsewhere.

-Roy

Last edited by Roy on Tue 03 Mar 2015, 13:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 13653
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 01 Mar 2015, 23:12    Post subject:  

The Rube Goldberg way would be to copy everything except the bad directory from the partition, then reformat the partition and copy everything back to it.

I'm sure there's a better way, especially if you'd like to try to save what you could from the bad directory.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2015, 00:37    Post subject:  

Have the drive plugged in, but not mounted.

Try running Gparted program.

Select the drive for Gparted to scan.

Right click on the drive partition and choose check.

See if maybe something is wrong with the file system on the partition.

This check will see if the file system is OK and also correct anything it finds wrong.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 11331

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2015, 05:21    Post subject:  

ntfs or fat...use windows to run a chkdsk on it.

if posix...ext2/3/4 fsck /dev/whatever will sort it out.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 3444
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2015, 06:56    Post subject:  

mikeb wrote:
ntfs or fat...use windows to run a chkdsk on it.

if posix...ext2/3/4 fsck /dev/whatever will sort it out.

mike

I've used Windows on numerous occasions to fix the FAT drive which host my frugal puppies. Very easy to delete something in puppy (like a save file still in use/editing gone wrong, etc.) and boom, gone but not really gone permanently. You just see you have less space left on the drive and then it's Windows to come to the rescue. Do not get rid of Windows, especially if you have FAT and ntfs partitions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 4013
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2015, 11:44    Post subject:  

lol so keeping windows to fix a problem caused by running linux as root, my suggest a more baby proof linux. Or not using a proprietary filesystem like NTFS.

I am always surprised by these types of problems, intermixing Windows with Linux on same hardware is worse than running them as two separate machines. Buy a second harddrive and be done with windows = problem solved.

As I type this I am aware most of us me included just like to have windows beaten back by our own choices and the problems caused is fun to fix and complain about.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007


Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 3444
Location: Cradle of Humankind

PostPosted: Mon 02 Mar 2015, 13:32    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
lol so keeping windows to fix a problem caused by running linux as root, my suggest a more baby proof linux. Or not using a proprietary filesystem like NTFS.

I am always surprised by these types of problems, intermixing Windows with Linux on same hardware is worse than running them as two separate machines. Buy a second harddrive and be done with windows = problem solved.

As I type this I am aware most of us me included just like to have windows beaten back by our own choices and the problems caused is fun to fix and complain about.

Well, if I have to choose between Puppy and Windows XP Pro which I have, then I will have to go with Windows, it just works better in my particular circumstances. Windows is my primary system and installed on a second ntfs partition. Frugal puppies on a small FAT partition. I like being able to access all partitions from all operating systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Roy

Joined: 31 Dec 2008
Posts: 453

PostPosted: Tue 03 Mar 2015, 13:25    Post subject:  

Thanks to all!

I followed bigpups's suggestion and it worked on my 1.5TB ext2 drive -- or at least it removed the offending directory. I haven't checked to see if it corrupted any other files/directories, but I'm betting they are fine.

mikeb's suggestion would have probably worked, too -- but I'm no genius with the Command Line stuff and make my fair share of mistakes. Flash gave a definite solution -- but where to put 1.5TB of stuff in the meantime? (BTW Flash, thanks for cleaning up my original post for me.)

I am marking this as SOLVED. Thanks again.

-Roy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 1.8730s ][ Queries: 11 (1.8111s) ][ GZIP on ]