Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 07 Jul 2020, 13:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
PPM2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 18 [262 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
Sailor Enceladus

Joined: 22 Feb 2016
Posts: 1566

PostPosted: Fri 26 Aug 2016, 17:15    Post subject:  

Ghost Dog wrote:
Any option for overwriting installed packages? Every time I do this, I get the "package is already installed" message.

I don't care if it's already installed, I want it overwritten.

That's generally what I want too. I have to go into /root/.packages and manually delete file and user-installed-packages entry.

edit: I guess going into PPM and uninstalling the first one is the proper way, but it'd be nice if the prompt gave that option too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1625
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2016, 15:43    Post subject:  

Probably not too difficult to hack in a "force" option for the install. I haven't seen Mav for quite sometime, so not sure if he'll be around to make/support changes.


IMPORTANTLY: Once you upgrade to PPM2, I did not find it as easy to revert back. I guess on a live cd, you just reboot. Quirky took a bit more.... but I have the old one back!

Crazy thing, while installed, I had PPM2 delete itself. Nice and dangerous. So, no file manager and can't click to install. I had to manually install the petget folder in /usr/local/petget/....

Serves me right, I guess! Very Happy

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1625
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 28 Aug 2016, 20:24    Post subject:  

See my post above but I tried to hack PPM2 in order to have it install over the top of the other, already installed program. So far, no success. Might be a better idea to have PPM2 auto-delete the file or derivative (older version) of what you're installing and then install the new. Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2016, 02:14    Post subject:  

+1

Always wondered why this was not there. This would be similar like what we get with "apt get update" replacing installed with newer.

But, as it is obvious, I wonder if it was an original forgotten plan step.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 2082
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2016, 04:08    Post subject:  

Ghost Dog wrote:
Any option for overwriting installed packages? Every time I do this, I get the "package is already installed" message.
Option where? In thePPM2 GUI?

I don't use PPM2, but IIRC you will not find a package in the list that is already installed. You should never see the "package is already installed" message after downloading a package since you can't select it in the first place. This was a problem with the classic PPM, which didn't remove installed packages from the list.

You should see the message only when you manually install a package, and only when the package name is exactly the same as the installed. Hacking this message and adding an option to install anyway is easy. A one liner. It's one of the first options I implemented in my customized PPM because I missed that too, but I needed that for testing and development and for speed and convenience, i.e. because I'm lazy. I can understand that there is no option in the "official" version. Firsty, installing a package that is already installed makes little sense. If this is to "repair" a broken installation then deleting the broken installation should have first priority. A proper "I don't care" option would delete the existing installation before installing the package again. This would be more than a one liner and not trivial.

@gcmartin If I understand Ghost Dog correctly then this is not about updating a package, this is about installing the same package again. AFAIK PPM2 lets you install foobar-1.1..pet when you have foobar-1.0..pet installed. You wouldn't see above message and you would end up with an overwritten foobar-1.0.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2647

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2016, 04:26    Post subject:  

So you guys are still mucking about with a 'package manager' which can't --reinstall, --upgrade, --downgrade or --remove a package? I think calling it a 'manager' is a little overstated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 2082
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2016, 04:30    Post subject:  

...
Last edited by MochiMoppel on Tue 30 Aug 2016, 00:50; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13963
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 29 Aug 2016, 19:35    Post subject:  

amigo wrote:
So you guys are still mucking about with a 'package manager' which can't --reinstall, --upgrade, --downgrade or --remove a package? I think calling it a 'manager' is a little overstated.

PPM is only for program packages you want to add to a Puppy version.
Its abilities are very dependent on how the repositories used are maintained.
These repositories are the weak link.
Example:
You want a newer version of a program package. The repository has to be updated to have it. That may or may not happen. Depends on who is maintaining the repository.
Also, you have to update the PPM data base to even know there is a update to a repository.

PPM can --reinstall, --upgrade, --downgrade or --remove a package.

Reinstall:
Uninstall the program package with the uninstall button.
Go find the package and install it.
Why? Because some Puppy pet packages may or may not overwrite files correctly, so it is safer to just start over.

Upgrade:
Find a newer version of a program package and install it.
This is dependent on the naming of files staying the same.
Only version number changing.
Otherwise you may get two versions of a package installed.
An old one and a newer one.

Downgrade:
Uninstall the program package. using uninstall.
Install the older version of the program package.

Remove a package:
Use the uninstall button.

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1625
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sat 24 Sep 2016, 11:47    Post subject:  

Quote:
PPM can --reinstall, --upgrade, --downgrade or --remove a package.


I think the question is what is completely automated and what is semi-automated. For example, you just can't install the latest Libre Office over the old one. I don't recall an upgrade option that works, perhaps because of the nuances stated by Bigpup, above. I think everyone would benefit from an option that can determine across versions what's installed and remove as a part of the installing a new version option. Easier said than done? Probably...

Best,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 6730
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 26 Sep 2016, 22:13    Post subject:  

@Bigpup, I agree with your re-install steps. But, the reason it is mentioned is that it would have been nice, as the Package Manager has progressed, that it would be capable of doing those steps automatically.

I feel that the reinstall sub-process "may" have been overlooked. Yet, it is understood (I think by many/most members) that, today, those steps you share are required. For built-in packages, though, I am unsure if the PPM sees those as un-install available.

Just a note.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engines or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5827
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2019, 15:53    Post subject:  

After seeing mike walsh talking about PPM2 on another thread I thought I would give it a try but get the error shown in the pic below

Code:
This is a rare pup_even error that fails to report the available free space. Just click on the free memory applet at the tray and try again. It should be OK after that.


However clicking that icon does not get me past the problem.

I see others have initially had similar problems but my triggers may be different because I run without any savefile, and with a 10GB swap file. Maybe these things upset the PPM space calculations.

I have not read every post in this thread yet but does anyone else without savefiles have any suggestions?

cheers!

EDIT : I am testing with ppm_auto-2.pet from the first post. And using a Slacko 5.6 derivative.

EDIT2 :
mavrothal wrote:
OK, as we said before this has to do with pup_event not ppm. In meant that the file /tmp/pup_event_sizefreem is not there.
This file is produced by pup_event.
Is the file there? Apparently your system has something that messes up pup_even.....
Finding available free space through pup_event_sizefreem is something that PPM is doing at least since puppy 4, 6 years ago. Is not specific to PPM2 (There is no point in removing the check as it is important to be sure about the available space, otherwise you may end up with a broken system in the middle of an installation)

I definitely do not have the file /tmp/pup_event_sizefreem - yet my original PPM seems to work fine. I'm stumped.
pup_even_error.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   51.94 KB
 Viewed   231 Time(s)

pup_even_error.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Mike Walsh


Joined: 28 Jun 2014
Posts: 6385
Location: King's Lynn, UK.

PostPosted: Wed 29 May 2019, 20:16    Post subject:  

@GG:-

Ian, it's worked for me in every single Pup I've added it to. But then my Pups all run with 'standard' Puppy structure, including 'save-file'.

I'm pretty certain your problem stems from the way in which you run your Pups; not unique, of course (several other folks have owned up over the last year or so to running in the same fashion), but sufficiently different to standard Puppy operation to throw a spanner in the works for normal Puppy 'procedure'.

That's what happens when you decide to do things differently, of course; you inadvertently become a bit of a 'trail-blazer' as you do so. Like with your 'Banksy' Pup.....

I can't help wondering whether the same problem would exist if you performed a re-master to include PPM v2.0 as standard? Worth a try, perhaps? Either that, or drop Mavrothal a line to see what he may suggest as a work-around.....


Mike. Wink

_________________
MY 'PUPPY' PACKAGES

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mistfire

Joined: 04 Nov 2008
Posts: 1424
Location: PH

PostPosted: Thu 30 May 2019, 11:12    Post subject:  

Hello I made also a modified PPM it is more a radical one. You can check it out

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107586
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
miriam


Joined: 06 Dec 2006
Posts: 373
Location: Queensland, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 22 May 2020, 13:03    Post subject:  

GreenGeek, I have exactly the same problem you have with the PuppyPackageManager not letting me install anything because it keeps giving that bogus free space error.

Mike Walsh, I'm using BionicPup with a savefile (save directory, actually). I normally do a full install, and have never had a problem before. Weirdly, I have a frugal install of BionicPup, just like this one, on my laptop and that works just fine.

The file /tmp/pup_event_sizefreem does not exist, and I checked the 6 scripts in /usr/local/pup_event/ and none of them mention /tmp/pup_event_sizefreem so there must be some other explanation.

_________________
A life! Cool! Where can I download one of those from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13963
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 22 May 2020, 15:51    Post subject:  

This topic is 5 years old.
Last developer (mavrothal) post was Dec 2015.

If the Puppy version was developed using Woof-CE over the last 4 years.
As I understand, the Puppy Package Manager(PPM), that is in the Puppy version, is this PPM2.

There has been a few bug tweaks done in Woof-CE supplied PPM2.

Note:
In the PPM2 pet package info:
Quote:
NOTE: PPM in puppies produced from woof-CE after May 10,2015, is newer than this pet.


So, if you installed this older build of PPM2.
You may have put the bugs back in the PPM that is in the Puppy version.

The people coding for Woof-CE, are also keeping some of the core Puppy programs updated, as Woof-CE changes.
PPM is one of the programs.

Example:
Bionicpup64 8.0 has PPM v2.1.2

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)

Last edited by bigpup on Fri 22 May 2020, 16:27; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 18 [262 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0892s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0303s) ][ GZIP on ]