(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 25 Oct 2020, 00:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
PPM2
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 18 [262 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sun 29 Mar 2015, 13:30    Post subject:  

john009 wrote:
Quote:
I can not reproduce this.

Selected configure.
Went to options tab.
clicked do not show terminal actions
went to update tab
clicked update now
the yellow terminal came up asking to update the repos
closed the terminal (no updates)
Clicked "OK" on the configure window.
PPM restarted with everything OK.



1-5-same..

6th step-no yellow terminal,nothing happened...,waited for some time,closed ppm and restarted ppm..

repo's were deselected..could not reselect them and no updates..

These are the steps I did ,didn't do anything else Confused Sad ..

As I described above, I can not reproduce it.
As a matter of fact the "do not show terminal activity" option and the yellow update terminal, are totally unrelated. The update process itself is performed by the 0setup script that was never changed in PPM2.
You can just run
Code:
rxvt -bg yellow -title "download databases" -e /usr/local/petget/0setup
to see it going.

To make the databases disappear you have to start the update process (by opening the "yellow" terminal and pressing enter) and then interrupt it before it finishes. Any chance that the terminal open behind some other window or minimized or something and you missed it?
Is it happening again if you repeat the process? ie the "yellow" terminal never appears?

Anyway, if the Packages-puppy-* files are missing from /root/.packages you can copy the files from the main sfs (/initrd/pup_ro2/root/.packages) and try the update again.

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
john009

Joined: 22 Jan 2015
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue 31 Mar 2015, 11:34    Post subject:  

Quote:
Anyway, if the Packages-puppy-* files are missing from /root/.packages you can copy the files from the main sfs (/initrd/pup_ro2/root/.packages) and try the update again.


Thanks mavrothal.that worked;updated ppm and everything is A-okay..

ppm is now a lightweight synaptic ,Itś really good..

john009
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1600
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2015, 18:07    Post subject:  

Just came across this, looks nice but 5 faults for you to start with.

Working with 5.5.1. and todays d/l. ppm_auto.2.pet

Open to full screen:

1- go up to the 'Packages to Install' - it's marked out with two horizontal lines - pass over these with the mouse and the lines disapear, even though you've done nothing.

2- Description doesn't / won't extend to the right, although the size for 'Repository' is now enormous and a number of items under Description extend beyond it's field boundary.

3- When opening it shows for the first repository of your 'ticked set', not the last one you left it on when last closing PPM2.

4- When restarting after closing it reopens as a small window, even if you closed it as a full window.

5- When installing it, it says it's being installed to Utility, not Setup where PPM lives. Confusing to new users and those new to adding packages.

Sorry, but going back to the old one, i'll check back later though when you have things sorted out

Smile} ain't bugs fun Smile Smile Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 04 Apr 2015, 23:24    Post subject:  

scsijon wrote:
Working with 5.5.1.
Thanks for testing, particularly in such an old build.
Is 5.5.1 what?

scsijon wrote:
1- go up to the 'Packages to Install' - it's marked out with two horizontal lines - pass over these with the mouse and the lines disapear, even though you've done nothing.
I do not remember having seen that. And I can not reproduce it. Maybe is puppy/hardware specific. Also is not clear to me what "two horizontal lines" means. Maybe a screeny will help.

scsijon wrote:
2- Description doesn't / won't extend to the right, although the size for 'Repository' is now enormous and a number of items under Description extend beyond it's field boundary.
Sorry. I'm the "visual" type Embarassed A screeny would be again helpful here but I can not see any truncation of the description field (if that's what you mean). If you suggest that the description window should auto-resize at the expense (up to a limit) of the repository window, that is a design limitation. The 2 windows have a fixed width ratio. Not sure if gtkdialog can do what you suggest though, and I'm certainly sure that I can not. Have you seen that in any other gtkdialog app? We welcome pointers or better yet, patches Wink (or bug Zigbert Very Happy )

scsijon wrote:
3- When opening it shows for the first repository of your 'ticked set', not the last one you left it on when last closing PPM2.
This is not what I see. Besides, if you open the configure window, change the "ticked" repositories and press OK, PPM will automatically restart and have the new set, which remains through restarts till further change. Isn't it what you get? If you change the repos and close the window without pressing OK, will (correctly) be considered as a cancelled operation and will be discarded.

scsijon wrote:
4- When restarting after closing it reopens as a small window, even if you closed it as a full window.
PPM design (original or new) does not include an "rc" file, where current UI variables could be written. So it always opens to the configured settings. "Full screen" is not a configurable option at this point.
Maybe PPM3 should use an "rc" file.

scsijon wrote:
5- When installing it, it says it's being installed to Utility, not Setup where PPM lives. Confusing to new users and those new to adding packages.
PPM in general assigns things to "Utilities if there is not a *.desktop entry to specify otherwise. The PPM2 pet does not have a desktop entry since this file is not changed from the original. Maybe I'll add one. But I wouldn't wary about that as PPM suppose to be built-in and not an installable package. It is already in woof-CE.

scsijon wrote:
Sorry, but going back to the old one, i'll check back later though when you have things sorted out
This may take a really long time... But which of the above is a feature that the old one has?
_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 18:30    Post subject:  

Really the gui of ppm-2 + should not have the text 'Install' on the button, it would be better for newbies if it said 'DO It' or 'Execute' because if you select download (only) then it isn't installing, and noobs might feel stressed at the apparent dilemma.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Mon 06 Apr 2015, 23:51    Post subject:  

stemsee wrote:
Really the gui of ppm-2 + should not have the text 'Install' on the button, it would be better for newbies if it said 'DO It' or 'Execute' because if you select download (only) then it isn't installing, and noobs might feel stressed at the apparent dilemma.

You probably have an older version. It has "DO it!" since version 1.9.7

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 2572
Location: In The Way

PostPosted: Tue 07 Apr 2015, 03:22    Post subject:  

Oh! ha ha. I m using 1.9.5 ... Oops!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 3203
Location: France

PostPosted: Mon 27 Apr 2015, 12:41    Post subject:  

I use the latest version of PPM2 for three weeks.
Everything works great.
This version is obviously going to be added to the French puplets: Toutou, ASRI, ToOpPy, etc.
Regards,

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Mon 27 Apr 2015, 12:53    Post subject:  

ASRI éducation wrote:
This version is obviously going to be added to the French puplets,

You may want to consider some additional changes currently in woof-CE
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/commit/f622595558780667cf0ac055bb334956a1e14275
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/commit/4a8b9d2d0e8c0bf80219cae54b9b439ca75b50bb
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/commit/60fda1d5ebee82c17d47a65ebd98f44e8216f6f7

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 3203
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue 28 Apr 2015, 11:08    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
ASRI éducation wrote:
This version is obviously going to be added to the French puplets,

You may want to consider some additional changes currently in woof-CE
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/commit/f622595558780667cf0ac055bb334956a1e14275
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/commit/4a8b9d2d0e8c0bf80219cae54b9b439ca75b50bb
https://github.com/puppylinux-woof-CE/woof-CE/commit/60fda1d5ebee82c17d47a65ebd98f44e8216f6f7

Thank you for this advice.
I will integrate the three files that you propose.
Regards

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 1625
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 03 May 2015, 11:52    Post subject:  

3 or 4 of my pets would no install using PPM2 due to "the file name inside the pet not matching the pet name." Of course, I fixed the pets but I question the need for such a feature.

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 422

PostPosted: Wed 06 May 2015, 17:24    Post subject: A last check  

ASRI éducation wrote:
Everything works great.


I propose a small fix that provides a last check before deleting files shared by multiple packages.

Around Line 87 of /usr/local/petget/removepreview.sh, instead of:

Code:
rm -f "$ONESPEC"


I propose this:

Code:
vajonkelle="$ONESPEC"; [ ! `grep $vajonkelle /root/.packages -R | grep ".files" | grep -v "${DB_pkgname}"` ] && rm -f "$ONESPEC"


I attach the fix in a form of a pet file.


Have fun!

Regards,

gjuhasz
ppm2fix.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ppm2fix.pet 
Filesize  6.04 KB 
Downloaded  269 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 00:44    Post subject: Re: A last check  

gjuhasz wrote:
Code:
vajonkelle="$ONESPEC"; [ ! `grep $vajonkelle /root/.packages -R | grep ".files" | grep -v "${DB_pkgname}"` ] && rm -f "$ONESPEC"

The code as written also detects $ONESPEC incidences in /root/.packages/builtin_files. Is this the intention? If yes why?
If not you may want to omit "-R" or grep for '\.files'

However, if indeed 2 different installed packages have installed the same file should first verify which one is the latest looking at the time stamp of the respective "*.files" file. If indeed the other incidence is coming from a package installed later should leave it alone I guess.

Of course we should not have 2 packages installing the same files and usually distro packages do not do that, but pets can be crude I guess. Rolling Eyes
BTW do you have a use-case/example indicating the need of the discussed changes?

Latter: here is a patch that will remove the $ONESPEC only if is the latest version.
Code:
--- a/usr/local/petget/removepreview.sh   2015-04-20 14:45:10.666670932
+++ b/usr/local/petget/removepreview.sh   2015-05-07 10:54:08.003280299
@@ -85,7 +84,21 @@
       [ -f "/initrd${SAVE_LAYER}${DN}/.wh.${BN}" ] && rm -f "/initrd${SAVE_LAYER}${DN}/.wh.${BN}"
      fi
     else
-     rm -f "$ONESPEC"
+     OTHERPKG=$(grep "${ONESPEC}" /root/.packages/*.files | grep -v  "${DB_pkgname}")
+     if [ "$OTHERPKG" != "" ]; then
+      rm -f /tmp/LIST
+      for f in $(grep "${ONESPEC}" /root/.packages/*.files | cut -f 1 -d ':' |sort |uniq)
+      do
+       MOD=$(stat $f | grep 'Modify:'|cut -f 2-10 -d ':')
+       FILE=$(stat $f | grep 'File:'|cut -f 2 -d ':')
+       echo $MOD $FILE >> /tmp/LIST
+      done
+      [ "$(cat /tmp/LIST | sort |tail -n1 | grep "${DB_pkgname}")" != "" ] \
+       && rm -f "$ONESPEC"
+      rm -f /tmp/LIST
+     else
+      rm -f "$ONESPEC"
+     fi
     fi
    fi
   done

However, can still generate problems if indeed bad packaging just installs the same files twice. The package left behind will be non-functional.
Leaving $ONESPEC always in can also generate problems if versions are incompatible so the package left behind will also be non-functional.

For example "good_app" installs /usr/bin/execute_this. The you install "bad_app" that also installs an incompatible version of /usr/bin/execute_this and breaks "good_app". No matter what you are scr***d.
Ideally, neither "good_app" nor "bad_app" should install /usr/bin/execute_this if it is a dependency. They should just require the dependency to be installed. Not include it.

In sort, there is not really any good solution for bad packaging and I do not think we should go to any great length to support it as it is only going to generate problems down the road.
But, the patch is there if you want it Wink

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gjuhasz


Joined: 29 Sep 2008
Posts: 422

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 12:54    Post subject: Re: A last check  

mavrothal wrote:
If indeed the other incidence is coming from a package installed later should leave it alone I guess.

Of course we should not have 2 packages installing the same files and usually distro packages do not do that, but pets can be crude I guess. Rolling Eyes
BTW do you have a use-case/example indicating the need of the discussed changes?


I fully agree that pets can be crude. However, I don't think the order of installation would really determine either the uninstall order or the importance of the pet packages.
In most cases - feel free to kill me if I am wrong Smile - the users try out the interesting pets they find in the forum. Sometimes, those pets "mimic that they are portable" means their creators gather the necessary libs for their favorite puplet. Then another forum member adds another lib requested by another puplet, and so on. Finally, a working package is available (as a result of the dir2pet script) without any / without correct references to dependencies. It is a funny thing that these pets can coexist but uninstalling one of them results crashes in the rest.
I have a bad experience with various pets containing Python modules, .so files, etc.

I attach a couple of example pets that share one file. No specific functions expected, handle them only as examples. You can install them in any order then uninstall them in any order. See how the content of /root/valami changes without/with my fix applied.

Have fun!

Regards,

gjuhasz
szia2.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  szia2.pet 
Filesize  356 Bytes 
Downloaded  232 Time(s) 
szia1.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  szia1.pet 
Filesize  357 Bytes 
Downloaded  229 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Thu 07 May 2015, 13:21    Post subject: Re: A last check  

gjuhasz wrote:
It is a funny thing that these pets can coexist but uninstalling one of them results crashes in the rest.

When the files that a clobbered are the same version this will happen.
However, when the new files are of an incompatible version then this breaks the old one.
An alternative is when a file is clobbered to be saved and and reinstated when the new pet is removed. Installpkg.sh and removepreview.sh already have the relevant code but is for full installs only.
With a bit of work could be made to work in other modes and check pup_rw or pup_ro1 instead.
I do not know if I'll have this kind of time so please provide a patch if you want to try it and get there Wink

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 18 [262 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1354s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0269s) ][ GZIP on ]