Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 04 Aug 2015, 18:22
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to get Gateway M520 wireless to work?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
newwdruid

Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jan 2015, 10:36    Post subject:  How to get Gateway M520 wireless to work?  

I have a Gateway computer that is a 2005. Puppy works amazing but does not recognize wireless on the PC. I have a Gateway M520.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11511
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jan 2015, 11:04    Post subject:  

1. Which version of Puppy are you using?
2. What have you tried so far? Have you used any of Puppy's wizards?
3. What happened when you tried it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 5325
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jan 2015, 11:52    Post subject:  

Very Happy Welcome he/she whom doesn't post their pup version. It appears you have a Broadcom bcmwl5/a.inf??

From a terminal, see if you can forward the output here. Highlight, then left/right simultaneously to paste.
Code:
lspci -nn | grep -i network

_________________
>>> Great minds discuss ideas; Average minds discuss events; Small minds discuss people. <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
newwdruid

Joined: 24 Jan 2015
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jan 2015, 14:49    Post subject: How to get Gateway M520 wireless to work?  

I have a 01:09.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4306 802.11b/g Wireless LAN Controller [14e4:4320] (rev 0

when i try to set the wlan0 it says wlan0 down, I have tried all options in the internet connection wiz to no avail.

Sorry for not posting the information, I have never used linux in my life and a friend told me to use this because i was given this pc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 10076
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jan 2015, 14:56    Post subject:  

You need to identify the Puppy version you are using. There are lots of them. Is this the new Tahrpup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
trapster


Joined: 28 Nov 2005
Posts: 2047
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 24 Jan 2015, 15:32    Post subject:  

It seems maybe he was given a pc with puppy already on it.
Years ago one could use 'cat /etc/puppyversion'.

Nowadays, how would a newb find the version of puppy if one does not know?

_________________
trapster
Maine, USA

Asus eeepc 1005HA PU1X-BK
Frugal install: Puppeee4.31 + 1.0, Puppy4.10 + Lupu52
Currently using Slacko AND lupu52 w/ fluxbox
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 228

PostPosted: Sun 25 Jan 2015, 00:19    Post subject:  

How about "cat /etc/DISTRO_SPECS"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1112s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0137s) ][ GZIP on ]