Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 27 Mar 2015, 17:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Problem connecting in Turbopup Xtreme
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
guardemon


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 76
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 15:20    Post subject:  Problem connecting in Turbopup Xtreme  

I have installed Turbopup Extreme on a USB and never get internet, is really hard try one by one all the modules for each driver. The process is always the same, mount the module, try, unmount, mount another, and again and again ...........................................................


Exist a kind of autoconnection wifi(or wired) pet?

I remember i can get wifi and cable connection with another distros....

_________________
TINWOK Educational Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4697
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 16:11    Post subject:  

Very Happy Yeah, but they might be a lot bigger. That the others connect is a good sign.

Can you run these two one @ a time and tell us whether your card's brought up a network interface.
Code:
ifconfig -a

Code:
iwconfig

It would most likely have an "eth*" or "wlan*" type device name.

If there, give us this output:
Code:
lspci -nnk | grep -i network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
guardemon


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 76
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Mon 19 Jan 2015, 23:39    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Very Happy Yeah, but they might be a lot bigger. That the others connect is a good sign.

Can you run these two one @ a time and tell us whether your card's brought up a network interface.
Code:
ifconfig -a

Code:
iwconfig

It would most likely have an "eth*" or "wlan*" type device name.

If there, give us this output:
Code:
lspci -nnk | grep -i network


im going to do that and tell you tomorrow from the work

do you know why is so different the regular install (full or frugal) to the usb? on a regular install I never have problem with the internet Confused

_________________
TINWOK Educational Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4697
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 20 Jan 2015, 15:30    Post subject:  

Good. I'm counting on this..
Quote:
I'm(I am) going to do that and tell you "today" from work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
guardemon


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 76
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jan 2015, 15:45    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Very Happy Yeah, but they might be a lot bigger. That the others connect is a good sign.

Can you run these two one @ a time and tell us whether your card's brought up a network interface.
Code:
ifconfig -a

Code:
iwconfig

It would most likely have an "eth*" or "wlan*" type device name.

If there, give us this output:
Code:
lspci -nnk | grep -i network



I dont know what this mean


_________________
TINWOK Educational Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4697
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Wed 21 Jan 2015, 15:52    Post subject:  

If @ first you don't succeed, try, try again. Too many peeps try once, fail and quit.

You mistyped the first two. Run this for wired:
Code:
lspci -nn | grep -i ethernet

And this for wireless:
Code:
lspci -nn | grep -i network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
guardemon


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 76
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2015, 16:20    Post subject: you have right  

Semme wrote:
If @ first you don't succeed, try, try again. Too many peeps try once, fail and quit.

You mistyped the first two. Run this for wired:
Code:
lspci -nn | grep -i ethernet

And this for wireless:
Code:
lspci -nn | grep -i network


to much work on the lab the last week, thanks for the waiting





_________________
TINWOK Educational Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4697
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2015, 16:24    Post subject:  

On both of those you forgot to hit enter. Ball's still in your court.
_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
guardemon


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 76
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2015, 16:36    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
On both of those you forgot to hit enter. Ball's still in your court.


the lastone? i hit enter on each one, dont show anything, its funny because i can use internet with regular install on a disc (full or frugal) but i can use the usb version. i had to put another command?

_________________
TINWOK Educational Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4697
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2015, 16:40    Post subject:  

Hold on.. USB works, but neither full nor frugal via hd? Confused That's odd..
_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 569
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Mon 26 Jan 2015, 19:51    Post subject:  

Let me see if it's correct:

The same Turbopup Extreme iso installled
- in a HD, frugal === internet works
- in a HD, full ===== internet works
- in USB, frugal (I guess)=== internet does not work

Is this correct?

If so, seems to me a bad USB installation.

Saludos.

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4697
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2015, 12:07    Post subject:  

Yep, this sounds more realistic. I must'a been tired while questioning yesterday..
_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
guardemon


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 76
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2015, 14:08    Post subject:  

Galbi wrote:
Let me see if it's correct:

The same Turbopup Extreme iso installled
- in a HD, frugal === internet works
- in a HD, full ===== internet works
- in USB, frugal (I guess)=== internet does not work

Is this correct?

If so, seems to me a bad USB installation.

Saludos.


Yep that is correct, so i have to reinstall full on USB?


BTW Galbi you see the image of the desktop? that is tinwok project on progress

Very Happy

_________________
TINWOK Educational Puppy

Last edited by guardemon on Tue 27 Jan 2015, 14:17; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
guardemon


Joined: 05 Dec 2014
Posts: 76
Location: Venezuela

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2015, 14:15    Post subject:  

Semme wrote:
Hold on.. USB works, but neither full nor frugal via hd? Confused That's odd..


No, in that machine i had a DD with the same version of Turbopup, and everything works fine, but i move the DD to another machine (i have very old computers on my lab and always have to move DD or RAM if one machine get broken or damage) and put a USB installation but... dont have internet

You help me a lot, or a least try a lot, thanks for being patient

_________________
TINWOK Educational Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5903
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 27 Jan 2015, 16:50    Post subject:  

First try completely deleting and do a re-install to the USB.

If possible, reformatting the USB device would make sure it is starting out clean, before you install Turbopup Extreme.

When you use the USB install.
Do you run the Network Wizard to try and setup a connection?

You do what?
You see what?

Need to understand what you try to do to get connected to the internet.

Are you using a wired or wireless connection?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [16 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0833s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]