Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 05 May 2016, 00:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Teamviewer 11
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
cimarron


Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jan 2015, 12:51    Post subject:  Teamviewer 11
Subject description: remote desktop, conferencing, file transfer and more
 

Teamviewer is not open source, but free for personal use. Provides remote desktop capabilities, plus lots of extra functions like file transfer, chat, audio and video conferencing, wake-on-lan, etc. Windows, Mac, and mobile versions available also for cross-platform usage. Can be used anywhere over the internet, or only within your LAN if desired.

Here's a SFS and .pet for Teamviewer 11 (See what's new.):

These are made from the .tar.xz package on the Teamviewer website. (The .deb package didn't work on my Precise pup.) I added a menu entry and startup script to avoid conflicts if wine is already installed on your system.

Teamviewer-11.0.53191.sfs

Teamviewer-11.0.52520.pet
(It installs in /opt; 183M installed)

Last edited by cimarron on Tue 29 Mar 2016, 15:29; edited 9 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1890
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jan 2015, 19:21    Post subject: Re: Teamviewer 10  

cimarron wrote:


(This is my first .pet, so feedback appreciated. Seems to install and uninstall fine. Teamviewer has no dependencies. It installs in /opt )


What version of wine are you running ?

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cimarron


Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Sat 17 Jan 2015, 21:36    Post subject:  

I used the linux version provided by Teamviewer. The necessary wine components are built into the package, so wine doesn't need to be installed. (It looks like wine 1.6 is used in the package.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron


Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Mon 09 Feb 2015, 18:46    Post subject:  

Have done some more testing. Successfully ran a Windows 7 computer from my precise pup, both on my LAN and via the internet (1000 miles away). Wake-On-LAN works too. Also was able to successfully control puppy from my ubuntu laptop. Had to have Teamviewer running on puppy for it to work (I don't think you can just run the daemon).

One old Averatec laptop I tried it on, version 10 did not work, but the previous Teamviewer version 9 did. Version 10 can control a computer running previous versions, but not the other way around.

Last edited by cimarron on Tue 10 Feb 2015, 10:29; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
snayak

Joined: 14 Sep 2011
Posts: 290

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2015, 08:20    Post subject:  

Dear Cimarron,

Yesterday, I tried installing teamviewer 10 from .tar.gz package on the Teamviewer website, on my fatdog 611. (fatdog is 64bit puppy)
But I failed. It gave segfault.

Did you try your sfs on fatdog by any chance?

[I tried .deb from teamviewer site also. Failed too.]

Sincerely,
Srinivas Nayak

_________________
[Wary 530 on AMD Athlon XP 2000+ with 256MB RAM]
[Fatdog 611 on Intel Pentium B960 with 4GB RAM]

Home: http://www.mathmeth.com/sn/
Blog: http://srinivas-nayak.blogspot.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 6537
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2015, 08:46    Post subject:  

Run the 64bit pkg without installation.
_________________
>>> Great minds discuss ideas; Average minds discuss events; Small minds discuss people. <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron


Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Tue 10 Feb 2015, 10:24    Post subject:  

You could try the SFS. It just loads the extracted tar.gz package into /opt and provides a menu item to start it. I haven't tried it on Fatdog or any other 64-bit system (I just have old computers). But I don't think it could do any harm; if it doesn't work just unload the SFS. A few small config and log files might be left in /opt, that's all.

Beyond that, you'd probably have to ask in the Fatdog thread to get someone who could better understand what you need.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 6537
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 06 Jun 2015, 18:58    Post subject:  

Wink Nice job Cimarron. Runs well aboard 528.
_________________
>>> Great minds discuss ideas; Average minds discuss events; Small minds discuss people. <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TJK

Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 75
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Fri 09 Oct 2015, 10:47    Post subject: LAN option problems  

I have tried both the pet and sfs, and both work fine with the default settings. However, I was wanting to use TV exclusively on my LAN, but when I try to use this setup I get an error message that TV is not "permanently installed". Is there any way that TV with work between two computers on the same LAN?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1030
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 09 Oct 2015, 12:18    Post subject: Re: LAN option problems  

TJK wrote:
I have tried both the pet and sfs, and both work fine with the default settings. However, I was wanting to use TV exclusively on my LAN, but when I try to use this setup I get an error message that TV is not "permanently installed". Is there any way that TV with work between two computers on the same LAN?
I don't think so, unless you can get it to run as a server on at least one local machine.
From my observations, it seems that both computers connect to a teamviewer server, and the connection is made there.

I often use teamviewer 10 on TahrPup to help distant folk with their Windows machines. (It helps a lot to be able to see their screen.) So, that always uses the Internet anyway.

I have no record of how I got it, but I think I simply downloaded their "tar.gz" file and unpacked it into "/opt", then created a ".desktop" file.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2833
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Fri 09 Oct 2015, 14:25    Post subject:  

It is possible to install TV as a "service". This way it will automatically started each time the computer boots up.

The Fatdog version of TV sfs doesn't do this because on (my) typical use case I don't want it to "auto-run" every time - gyro is right that connection is mediated by TV server somewhere for both the the "server" and the "client". Having that service enabled at all time is a big security risk!

But if you're asking whether it could be done - the answer is yes, and although it has been a while since I last configured TV sfs; I remember installing it as a service from the official .tar.gz was pretty easy (it was the default setting if you attempt to install it).

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TJK

Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 75
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2015, 19:07    Post subject:  

Thanks for your comments...
Better security is the reason I wanted to restrict Teamviewer to my LAN. I always was under the impression that TV was as secure as if I would run a VPN thru a SSH tunnel.
I have a LAN server tucked away in a cupboard, and Teamviewer was a great all-in-one app to manage my server -- with wake-on-lan, remote desktop and file xfer being my main uses -- TV is often running for many hours at a time (and frankly, I don't like using my internet provider for these reasons). If there is a more secure option (that's relative easy to setup), I would like to hear your thoughts.

(I really like using PL with my older laptop, as sort of a "remote control" for my workhorse-server -- PL doesn't run much else.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron


Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 293

PostPosted: Sat 10 Oct 2015, 21:21    Post subject:  

I use Teamviewer with LAN-only access. I usually have a Windows 7 computer with Teamviewer running all the time, so I can sign in and remotely control it with my Puppy computer. Both are set up to work only with LAN connections, and it works fine. Wake-on-LAN also works.

I did find that the linux version (at least the .tar.gz package, I think) would not work as a daemon only, in the background, like it does in Windows. But if I just opened Teamviewer and left it running, I could access the computer from another on our LAN.

Your problem might be that the linux "wizard" for setting up LAN-only or unattended access isn't what you should use. If you use the manual settings (Extras/Options) and select LAN connections exclusively and enter your unattended access password, then it should work.

Running Teamviewer LAN-only does not use the central Teamviewer servers to locate the remote computer (a local IP address has to be provided to locate the computer you want to access). You can also turn off update checks and the contact list if you don't want Teamviewer phoning home at all.

Since a local IP address is used, you might want to use a static address on the computer you want to access, so the IP address doesn't get reassigned by your router. That's what I do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1030
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2015, 12:38    Post subject:  

Thanks for the info folks.
I finally found the "LAN-only" option in "teamviewer". This is great because I've been looking for a "LAN-only" solution for a particular situation and had been ignoring "teamviewer".
gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gyro

Joined: 28 Oct 2008
Posts: 1030
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 11 Oct 2015, 18:39    Post subject:  

Just tested it, it worked.

I did a "basic" install of "teamviewer" on the computer I wanted to control, not as a service.
Then started it and configured it to "LAN-exclusively".
It then showed my "id" as my ip address.
On my tablet I already had the "teamviewer" app installed, so I started it up and entered the "id" of the computer, (it's ip address).
Connection came up and I had to enter the "password".
Then I could run and control apps on the computer by tapping on the tablet.

Thanks again.

Sorry, neither of these devices were running puppy linux.
But I think if you just ran the linux version and configured it as "LAN-exclusive" it would act the same way.

gyro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [28 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Network
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0803s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0084s) ][ GZIP on ]