Printer ink levels

Problems and successes with specific brands/models of printers
Mike Walsh

Printer ink levels

#1 Post by Mike Walsh »

Evening all.

I'm running 'Tahrpup' 6.0, and have been thoroughly enjoying it for the last 2 1/2 months. I've been using the same Epson SX218 all-in-one for several years now, and had no problems getting it up and running in Puppy.....in fact, it's pretty easy in most Linux distros, once you know your way around.

I've got a query about checking ink levels on the SX218.

I've tried escp_gui.sh from here:-

http://dokupuppylinux.info/programs:printers_utilities

It all comes up; the window, and the buttons, etc.....but nothing actually does anything.

I've also tried InkGUI. This.....SORT of works. It reports levels for cyan, and for black; but magenta & yellow both come up as 'unknown', with a negative reading.

Now, having obtained no joy with these two GUI apps, I've tried escputil, which, as you all know, runs in the terminal. I have nothing against using the terminal, but it's a pain having to type the commands out every time!

Anyway; this one works.....and reports correct levels every time it's used, for all four cartridges. I know these ARE correct, as we have a Win 7 machine in the house which has the full printer suite installed, and I've cross-checked the levels with this.....and they match.

I'm just curious as to why some utilities will report levels correctly, and yet others either won't, or don't work at all.

Enlighten me, messieurs et madames, s'il vous plait.....

Regards,

Mike.

mikeb

#2 Post by mikeb »

I wrote escp_gui.sh many many years when I was young and less mature looking.

Since its only a front end to escputil I assume the latter has changed and that the gui needs adjusting to suit. (was cups circa 1.1 and time has passed.)

They put it up without me knowing but was useful at the time apparently.