"Tiny" "Lite" "Small" Puppy with basic apps?

Booting, installing, newbie
pidibit

"Tiny" "Lite" "Small" Puppy with basic apps?

#1 Post by pidibit »

hello,
i am new in puppy world and after testing some official distros (tahr, slack) and derivates i find number of preinstalled software applications and ulitites unbearable ... in numbers its even worse than ubuntu -and what more almost everything is directly accessed in cramped menu :)

So the last two hours im trying to find (google and this forum derivates section) any recent "lite" "tiny" distros
but what i found is 2-5 years old experiments with no long-term support :(

ps. i know i can easy remaster iso and create new one but number of preinstaled packages is large so i want first try by someone else edited version

sorry for my "cramped" english :D
Last edited by pidibit on Tue 13 Jan 2015, 14:48, edited 1 time in total.

starhawk

#2 Post by starhawk »

One of the ideas of Puppy, is that it has nearly everything you'll ever need, right "out of the box" (er, CD / flash drive) so that six months from now when you need to add something sort of basic, such as a word processor, it's there and you don't have to go chasing it down.

With MS Windows (aka Windblows... yes it does...) you get a couple primitive text editors, a mediocre music and video player, a truly horrendous "image editor" *shudder* and some card games.

With Puppy, you get the equivalent of --
- MS Windows (Puppy OS itself)
- Windows Media Player (pMusic and/or VLC Player and/or ... )
- MS Paint (mtPaint)
- MS Word (Abiword, not that great but it's OK)
- MS Excel (Gnumeric)
- Adobe Acrobat Reader (ePDFViewer)
- Firefox (SeaMonkey Browser)
- MS Outlook Express (Seamonkey Mail)
- Adobe Illustrator (Inkscape or Inkscape Lite aka Inklite)
- Roxio / Nero CD utilities (pBurn)