Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 03 Mar 2015, 15:10
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How I set the global font dpi
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 724

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2014, 07:26    Post_subject:  How I set the global font dpi
Sub_title: When Puppy's font manager won't work
 

Fontmanager in my install of TahrPup 6.0.1 does not work:

Code:
# fontmanager

** (gtkdialog:8896): ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 99, near token '</default>': syntax error

#


I have managed an alternative way to set the global font dpi. Open with geany /root/.Xresources. This is the content:

Code:
!*font: -misc-fixed-medium-r-semicondensed--13-120-75-75-c-60-*-*
!*font: -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-c-70-*-*
*font: -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--14-130-75-75-c-70-*-*
!*font: -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--15-140-75-75-c-90-*-*

Xft.dpi: 96


You can change the Xft.dpi: 96 to for example Xft.dpi: 108 and restart X. It worked for me.

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 2227
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2014, 15:05    Post_subject:  

hi watchdog,

the fontmanager is working fine for me. ...
possibly you've installed a different gtkdialog?

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 724

PostPosted: Sat 20 Dec 2014, 16:21    Post_subject:  

Sorry to annoy you 666philb. I confirm that fontmanager works in a live but something (not gtkdialog) I installed have broken it. I attach my user installed packages (remove dummy .tar). I'll edit the first post.
user-installed-packages.tar
Description 
tar

 Download 
Filename  user-installed-packages.tar 
Filesize  9.01 KB 
Downloaded  61 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 724

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2014, 02:02    Post_subject:  

I have renamed /root/.fonts.conf as /root/.fonts.conf.old and now fontmanager works. I have optimized fontmanager for LCD and it created a new /root/.fonts.conf. Confronting the old and the new in the old the xml header is absent. Something odd happened. Sorry again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
trlkly

Joined: 11 Oct 2010
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri 09 Jan 2015, 01:09    Post_subject:  

It's not just XML declarations. It also fails if you've customized your .fonts.conf in a way that changes the expected type of an option.

I was using the const "hintslight" for hintstyle, copied from another config that worked better. But fontmanager only supports integers for that value.

Fontconfig really aught to be more robust. It needs to cover any option a user might want, and/or not modify options it can't understand. If for some weird reason it fails to load the .fonts.conf, it should still load, replacing the middle tab with an option to reset it.

It also should handle multiple fonts being dragged into the font installer. Delimiting with spaces is a bit complicated, but if you assume all files end with an appropriate file extension (including capitalized variants), syou should handle all reasonable cases. (A file named "foo.ttf bar.ttf" is just not reasonable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0494s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]