Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 19 Apr 2018, 21:27
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
LxPup64 - 64bit versions of Puppy with the LXDE desktop
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 12 of 17 [245 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jun 2017, 04:28    Post subject:  

LxPup64-17.06.0b-uefi.iso
see above

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1511

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 07:49    Post subject:  

Hi Peebee,

What would be the difference between this LxPup64 vs Micko's Slacko64-6.9.9.9 in terms of running a game?

The game is called "IQPuzzle". It requires qt5-common. So I have an qt5.sfs (from watchdog) and I loaded it in Slacko64-6.9.9.9, and IQPuzzle fires right up & away I am playing it.

But I copy the exact same IQPuzzle files from Slacko64 (all of them in /usr directories), copy over the qt5.sfs into LxPup64 frugal-boot folder, load the qt5.sfs, and IQPuzzle will not run or even start.

What the heck is so different from LxPup64 vs Slacko64-6.9.9.9 that this game won't run? I evne downloaded the DEVX (you linked), recompiled IQPuzzle inside LxPup64, and it still won't start and/or run even though the qt5.sfs is loaded.

What is LxPup64 missing vs Slacko64-6.9.9.9???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 18 Jun 2017, 14:04    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
What is LxPup64 missing vs Slacko64-6.9.9.9???

Nothing that I can think - to the contrary most of the changes are additions.

I presume you've run from the command line in a terminal? Any error messages?

I suppose it might be that the .desktop file is somehow incompatible with the LXDE menu - click directly on the .desktop file in /usr/share/applications to see....

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
zagreb999

Joined: 11 Apr 2014
Posts: 309
Location: Yugoslavija

PostPosted: Tue 03 Oct 2017, 15:49    Post subject: hp pavilion win 8.1  

regards

how can it be installed on uefi
with win8.1 on hard disk, fat 32
to be able to automatic boot?

(win 8.1 is deleted)

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Mon 19 Feb 2018, 13:47    Post subject: LxPupSc64 RC1  

Release Candidate 1 of LxPupSc64.....

lxpupsc64-18.02RC1.iso

A full Woof-CE 64 bit build. Slackware64 Current based.

Kernel 4.15.4 64-bit built with gcc-7.3.0

Further details to follow.....
Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   120.24 KB
 Viewed   730 Time(s)

Screenshot.png


_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE

Last edited by peebee on Tue 20 Feb 2018, 02:43; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3421
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 19 Feb 2018, 15:11    Post subject: LxPup64 - 64bit versions of Puppy with the LXDE desktop  

Installed to a 32gb flash drive to use on my Acer Revo:

System: Host: puppypc12968 Kernel: 4.15.4-lxpup64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: LXDE (Openbox 3.6.1)
Distro: LxPupSc64 18.02
Machine: Device: desktop System: Acer product: Aspire R3610 serial: PTSCX0205302001AC12700
Mobo: Acer model: FMCP7A-ION-LE serial: U020102009703
BIOS: American Megatrends v: P01-A4 date: 11/03/2009
Battery hidpp__0: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh
hidpp__1: charge: N/A condition: NA/NA Wh
CPU: Dual core Intel Atom 330 (-HT-MCP-) speed/max: 1/1600 MHz
Graphics: Card: NVIDIA ION VGA
Display Server: X.org 1.19.6 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: modesetting,nv,vesa) FAILED: fbdev
tty size: 111x27 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Network: Card-1: NVIDIA MCP79 Ethernet driver: forcedeth
Card-2: Ralink RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe driver: rt2800pci
Drives: HDD Total Size: 192.1GB (1.2% used)
Weather: Conditions: 39 F (4 C) - light showers rain Time: February 19, 1:49 PM EST
Info: Processes: 146 Uptime: 14 min Memory: 242.6/1493.4MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.8

So far I installed getflash from PPM and used the network wizard to set
up the wired connection.

It's working okay so far,
Thanks.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   53.97 KB
 Viewed   703 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1511

PostPosted: Mon 19 Feb 2018, 16:17    Post subject:  

LOL,

I knew Billtoo would be hopping all over this & getting the first screenshots up. At least I got my smiley face in first! Laughing

Been playing with this the past few hours, really can't find anything wrong with it, Peebee. Good stuff. Can't believe you've come to the darkside (aka 64-bit land) Wink Installed on Sony Vaio Core i3 laptop, 8GB ram, USB frugal IDE-attached drive, and added latest Palemoon 64-bit, in /opt, and--well, doggone Palemoon--- I'll be danged if I am not having "run-as-spot" problems again. I'll get it sorted here shortly, as I know it is something I did wrong. Also noticed there might be a stray .sh script in /usr/bin for redshift....was that intended to be there, even though no version of redshift is installed? I installed redshiftgui, and nothing seems amiss, redshiftgui fires right up and lodges itself in the system tray like it is supposed to. Also can't find any stray or stranded icons & menu entries so far, everything is launching like it is supposed to. I did install gpg & gnu (from PPM) for keyserver download verifications, but those did not go so well....but that is more of a problem with Slackware concerning those two programs (they've always screwed them up, no matter how much we complain to them about it).

So, all in all, thank you and keep up the 'darkside' work.


P.S. really like the green bubbles theme you included (as you can tell from the pics below)...kind of minty, Irish fun Very Happy
Screenshot0.png
 Description   
 Filesize   70.92 KB
 Viewed   686 Time(s)

Screenshot0.png

Screenshot.png
 Description   
 Filesize   102.11 KB
 Viewed   684 Time(s)

Screenshot.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 297
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Mon 19 Feb 2018, 21:40    Post subject:  

Nice one, Peebee. Things 'just work' like Pups of old.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1014
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Mon 19 Feb 2018, 23:35    Post subject:  

Up and running well on the Fujitsu S761 i5 based laptop. Standard Grub4Dos boot on the SSD with an EXT2 savefile set up on first reboot. Got to exercise it a bit cause I wasn't happy till I had cobbled together a run-as-spot SFS for Slimmie Version 18.0.1.0 (based on Chromium 64.0.3282.119) (Official Build) (64-bit). That still has a couple of rough spots but I'm posting from it now using the usual symlinked spot on the EXT2 data drive. Brightness buttons, sound, video all ok. glxgears FPS ok, I'm running a lot of stuff at the same time so no accurate read on that or benchmarks but it certainly seems snappy enough and idle CPU and memory use are pretty much what I expect to see on this hardware. On this intel hardware I add the usual lines to rc.local to bring the brightness up to max on boot and remove the save2flash from the desktop as I have it elsewhere.
Code:
brightness=`cat /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/max_brightness`
echo $brightness > /sys/class/backlight/acpi_video0/brightness
rm -f /root/Desktop/save2flash.desktop
SNS connection on the Qualcomm Atheros AR9287 (ath9k driver) card ok, firewall, flsynclient set up ok, reboot with savefile ok, PcManFm sets up as usual. No optical drive on the laptop I'm using right now. I'll check that and printer setup tomorrow. Mitigation for spectre v1, v2, and meltdown onboard. Just did a lidsuspend mid-post and I'm back with no glitches there.

No options for now? Rightclicks and Drives-on-desktop not found in a brief look.

Haven't broken it yet Smile I'll keep at it.

Cheers,

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64, LxPupArtful and ubbPup for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 20 Feb 2018, 02:48    Post subject:  

Marv wrote:
Up and running well on the Fujitsu S761 i5 based laptop.
No options for now? Rightclicks and Drives-on-desktop not found in a brief look.
Cheers,

Great - thanks for the report & Billtoo, Belham2, Ozsouth.....

That's the problem with 64-bit - you need 64-bit builds of components....but right clicks should be there as default? Devx with gcc-7.30 will come later....

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1511

PostPosted: Tue 20 Feb 2018, 05:02    Post subject:  

Hi Peebee, Marv, Ozsouth & Billtoo,

Are any of you getting the screensaver to function at all, either thru MENU-->Desktop--->ScreenSaver Control and/or 'pupX set properties of X'?

ScreenSaver Control is displaying weird behavior. If you 'Enable' it, then try to set the 'Delay', it automatically sets itself to "0" and then disables itself again. It also can't save any 'Delay' setting except for "0".
Screensaver-not-working-anywhere.png
 Description   
 Filesize   115.37 KB
 Viewed   564 Time(s)

Screensaver-not-working-anywhere.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
belham2

Joined: 15 Aug 2016
Posts: 1511

PostPosted: Tue 20 Feb 2018, 05:36    Post subject:  

Got some more crazy behavior:

If a person wants to remove "the Battery Charge" symbol out of the the system tray, and I assume a person would try to accomplish this (at least I always have) by opening MENU--->Desktop Session Settings and unchecking "powerapplet'. But upon saving to your savefile & rebooting so that setting takes hold, or even just 'Re-StartWM' and/or restarting X via terminal, you will be greeted with a completely non-functional internet connection (wireless and/or lan). And the internet connection was working great before & already saved into Savefile. What's even weirder is you cannot re-connect to the Internet no matter what..trying to re-set it and/or wiping and asking Setup to do it again. This is true no matter what you use--SNS, Frisbee, Network Wizard. The only way I've found LxPupSc64 lets you re-connect back to the Internet is IF you first 're-enable' the "powerapplet" in 'Desktop Session Settings', save & reboot, and then you can re-connect again. Really weird stuff.... Confused
Useless-battery-icon.png
 Description   
 Filesize   7.39 KB
 Viewed   558 Time(s)

Useless-battery-icon.png

trying-to-get-rid-of-this-useless-autostartup-battery-icon.png
 Description   
 Filesize   30.33 KB
 Viewed   560 Time(s)

trying-to-get-rid-of-this-useless-autostartup-battery-icon.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 3252
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Tue 20 Feb 2018, 06:11    Post subject:  

belham2 wrote:
Are any of you getting the screensaver to function at all,

Missing library....will be fixed RC2

_________________
LxPup = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 1014
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue 20 Feb 2018, 07:20    Post subject:  

@Belham2, I just disabled the powerapplet using both Menu>System>Boot Manager (my usual path) and Menu>Desktop>Desktop Session Settings. No interaction with the SNS made connection and the netmon_wce in tray on my i5 hardware referenced above. Posting now with it disabled. Re-enables cleanly also. Hardware?? I'm mostly on laptops now so I lidsuspend in lieu of the screensaver. All of my cats have liked to type.

@peebee, Having to scrounge and housebreak 64b replacements for my long used 32b progs is probably the main thing that has kept me 32b. I can change though therefore I must Laughing At this point I don't see 'permanently remove' etc. as rightclicks. I'll look for the mimelist etc. later. RC1 woke up well this AM and is doing the morning duties. Sylpheed works and shares a common profile with the 32b versions. I haven't tried to share the profile between the 32b and 64b Slimmies yet. Back around the 15.x.x Slimjet versions I did sucessfully though. The current 64b Slimjet did read and is using a copy of the 32b profile though so I have hope there.

Cheers (and freezing rain),

Edit: I installed the lx_right_clicks-0.7.pet from 18.02 32b. The install seemed clean with the combined mimelist created and symlinked and the usual entries in /usr/share/applications. Hasn't blown up yet and I have the extra rightclicks I use often back. I'll try out more of them and see..
Later: Checked, desktop_drive_icons is a compiled prog so no-go on that for now.

_________________
Pups currently in kennel Very Happy LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64, LxPupArtful and ubbPup for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.

Last edited by Marv on Tue 20 Feb 2018, 14:55; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3421
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 20 Feb 2018, 10:20    Post subject: LxPup64 - 64bit versions of Puppy with the LXDE desktop  

I did a new install to a 32gb usb-3.0 flash drive.

When it saves to the flash drive a red icon shows on the task bar, it
shows 0 memory remaining but restarting x gets rid of it.
Right clicks are working,screensaver too.

I added "intel_pstate=disable" to the kernel line of the menu.lst file.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.93 KB
 Viewed   505 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

PSI-HW-SUMMARY-180220.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PSI-HW-SUMMARY-180220.gz 
Filesize  3.29 KB 
Downloaded  12 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 17 [245 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0641s ][ Queries: 14 (0.0089s) ][ GZIP on ]