Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 22 Nov 2017, 11:08
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
wlan module r8188eu
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Author Message
hhgoten

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sat 06 Dec 2014, 05:42    Post subject:  wlan module r8188eu
Subject description: how to transfer module r8188eu from tahrpup to slacko or precise
 

Well, solved my problem with my wlan-stick by using tahrpup 6.0 .
My stick has the realtek chip on it and runs well with tahrpup on my old fujitsu-siemens A1655g laptop, where i can't activate the build-in Broadcomm chip bc43m
(only soft button under windows activates the wlan, former fsaa1655g module did it under debian and ubuntu , but is not available anymore).

The needed modul is r8188eu , and thats available in tahrpup.
My question for help is: how can I transfer this modul to another puppy version. On a second stick i used to have slacko - no chance for me to find the module. even tried for example precise 5.7.1 also not finding the modul.
I always liked to have a "second" puppy with different approach.

So again: how can I activate the module r8188eu in slacko or precise ?
Best regards
Waldi

Last edited by hhgoten on Tue 09 Dec 2014, 06:16; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ardvark


Joined: 01 Jul 2013
Posts: 1458
Location: USA

PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec 2014, 05:09    Post subject: Re: wlan module r8188ee
Subject description: how to transfer module r8188eu from tahrpup to slacko or precise
 

hhgoten wrote:
My stick has the realtek chip on it and runs well with tahrpup on my old fujitsu-siemens A1655g laptop, where i can't activate the build-in Broadcomm chip bc43m
(only soft button under windows activates the wlan, former fsaa1655g module did it under debian and ubuntu , but is not available anymore).


Hi...

So, this soft button won't work in Puppy? I didn't think these keys were OS specific. Neutral

Does rfkill help with this problem?

Regards...

_________________
Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up here!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hhgoten

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec 2014, 05:27    Post subject:  

No, the soft buttons depend on the os.

If you are interested in, read about module fsaa1655g.
http://www.marvec.org/amilo/
It's working with a 2.6.x Kernel , but not anymore from 3.x Kernel.

But that was only an addon info here.

My main goal is to get the modul r8188eu to slacko/precise.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11723
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 08 Dec 2014, 11:29    Post subject:  

Here is a PET for the 8188eu WiFi driver. It is specifically for Slacko 5.6-4G. Click the small grey Download button on the left.

http://www.datafilehost.com/d/44204f3f

After installing the PET, unplug/replug the adapter.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hhgoten

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2014, 06:16    Post subject:  

Thank you RCRSN51 !
First I tried only slacko 5.7.1 and 5.6.0 , no success, then I took the mentioned 5.6.4G ( What does the 4G stand for ? Over 3GB RAM ? no googling found) and "success" !
So lets use a saying: You gave me a fish - thats wonderfull.
Can you show me how to fish myself?

I mean , how did you build that PET-file ?
Is there a link, tutorial or something for this specific topic ?
Don't like to stress your help to much.

Thanks again Waldi
Berlin, Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11723
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2014, 12:28    Post subject:  

There is a tutorial here on basic PET building. But drivers like the 8188eu are a bit more complicated because you also need to load the kernel sources package.

You mentioned your problem with the fsaa1655g module. We have looked at this before, so I have built it for your Slacko 56-4G. It appears to work this way:

Code:
Load the module: modprobe fsaa1655g
View the state (0=OFF 1=ON): cat /proc/fsaa1655g/radio 
Turn on: echo 1 > /proc/fsaa1655g/radio
fsaa1655g_slacko56_4G-k3.4.52.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  fsaa1655g_slacko56_4G-k3.4.52.pet 
Filesize  2.14 KB 
Downloaded  280 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hhgoten

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2014, 13:32    Post subject:  

Thanks again, for your fast reply.
My problem is solved.

I will use the realtek-dongle with r8188eu rather than the Broadcom chip , because now I can take my puppy AND the usb wifi-stick with me .
No matter , what build-in chip may be there on a friends computer.

Bye
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11723
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2014, 13:36    Post subject:  

Did you test the fsaa1655 module? This would be useful information for other community members. If it doesn't work, I will delete it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hhgoten

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2014, 14:26    Post subject:  

o.k.
I will do the test.
But can't do this today . Within next 2 days, promised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hhgoten

Joined: 20 Oct 2013
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2014, 10:24    Post subject:  

Dear John,
as promised, here are the test results.
First, the fsaa1655g-pet is working fine.
dmesg:
....................
[ 94.258258] fsaa1655g: Radio turned ON
[ 95.376730] b43-phy0: Radio hardware status changed to ENABLED
[ 121.433411] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[ 138.553396] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[ 144.563379] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[ 177.123374] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[ 178.733947] wlan0: authenticate with bc:f6:85:57:2d:21
[ 178.753494] wlan0: send auth to bc:f6:85:57:2d:21 (try 1/3)
[ 178.755287] wlan0: authenticated
[ 178.756738] wlan0: associate with bc:f6:85:57:2d:21 (try 1/3)
[ 178.761812] wlan0: RX AssocResp from bc:f6:85:57:2d:21 (capab=0x531 status=0 aid=4)
[ 178.762263] wlan0: associated
........................................
Just installing the pet-file and modprobe fsaa1655g was good enough.
the led switched on and everything is fine. I use wpa2 on a TP-Link router.
(Puppy in what version I ever use always looses my passkey after reboot, maybe its even more save this way, but astonishing)

I'm a bit irritated though, because I thought I had blacklisted b43 and had to change this first. But obviously nothing was blacklisted. But thats another topic.
Thank you again for your efforts . Good to know that someone is caring.
Waldi
Berlin
Germany
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11723
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 10 Dec 2014, 10:38    Post subject:  

Excellent. I found this new version at Sourceforge. It is made by the original author of fsaa1655g but updated for 3.x kernels.

Quote:
I'm a bit irritated though, because I thought I had blacklisted b43 and had to change this first. But obviously nothing was blacklisted. But thats another topic.

The problems with Broadcom drivers are on-going. You are probably better off using your USB 8188eu adapter.

Thanks for testing this.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 733
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2015, 22:17    Post subject: r8188eu Tahrpup 6.0.3 'unable to connect'  

Cheap USB dongle from China (USB plug twice as long as the black end), one without antenna that picks up only our signal and two with antennas that detect several signals.
The device is unlabeled, a very small black box. The antenna version says WIFI n.

I run the wizard, scan, find the networks, choose ours (unencrypted) and am 'Unable to connect'.

Tried this on several computers. The dongle is detected and works in Windows 8.1, says my neighbo (he can't recall the driver name), but not in Windows 7 (it could not find the driver on the net).

I tried loading various other realtek modules from linux, then started to download XP drivers and tried a bunch of those with ndiswrapper (net8192cu.inf) and none of them detected the device.

Is this like the bc43, does not usually work and has to be blacklisted and try something else and if so what else?

My neighbor is 10 and is VERY disappointed that his dongle does not work, after waiting a month for it to arrive.
He set up all his friends with puppy linux and they all want wifi. I ran out of PCMCIA cards with WPA support.
Today he got Tinycore installed and will try with that.

I read that the module is only available in kernel 3.12 (Tahr has 3.14).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11723
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2015, 22:29    Post subject:  

Type the command: lsusb

Identify the vendor:product ID codes for your adapter.

Type the command: lsmod

What WiFi modules are being loaded? r8188eu or rtl8192cu?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sindi

Joined: 16 Aug 2009
Posts: 733
Location: Ann Arbor MI USA

PostPosted: Tue 11 Aug 2015, 23:02    Post subject: r8188eu loads but will not connect  

Tahr finds it as r8188eu and loads the module but is 'Unable to connect'
I downloaded from Realtek what they said was rtl8192cu drivers for XP and other Windows,
35MB of them, and unzipped and went to the driver directory for XP 32bit.
I pointed ndiswrapper setup at this directory and it found inf and sys files (under 1MB)
for rtl8192su, then it said it installed for su and ce NOT cu. Maybe it is the same
driver for all three (USB, PCI, PCI-E, PCMCIA...) No networks detected.

The Tahr r8188eu driver detects my router but won't connect.
No other driver that I tried works at all.

I have THREE of these cards. My neighbor claims one worked with Win81. I should confirm that it was able to connect
not just get recognized and the driver installed.

The Realtek site will not download with Opera, had to use Firefox 17.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 11723
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 12 Aug 2015, 06:26    Post subject:  

You never answered my first question.

The r8188eu driver in Tahrpup 602 PAE k3.14.20 works well for me with two different adapters. There is no need to install anything else.

Run the dmesg command and check for errors related to the r8188eu.

Boot from the Tahrpup CD using "puppy pfix=ram" and try again.

What connection program are you using?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 3 [41 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0574s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]