(OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index (OLD) (ARCHIVED) Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

This forum can also be accessed as http://oldforum.puppylinux.com
It is now read-only and serves only as archives.

Please register over the NEW forum
https://forum.puppylinux.com
and continue your work there. Thank you.

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups    
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 01 Oct 2020, 16:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
PPM: How to download packages into any directory
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 6 [85 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Thu 27 Nov 2014, 05:37    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:

Well, Wink maybe that sweet spot is going to change to version 7 for this one.

I do not know...
PPM is such a convoluted mess that making it more convoluted for the sake of a rather useless/confusing "feature" is wrong.
Yes is fun "because we can", but still wrong.

Now days with savefolder you do not have any limitations in your root directory, And if you really want to save your pets then you probably just playing with puppies or you are alpha/beta testing or developing, But then you should be able to do it for yourself Wink

I uploaded v7 and I'll probably keep looking to it but If anybody else want to run with it, please do because my "fun" is almost over... Rolling Eyes

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Thu 27 Nov 2014, 06:21    Post subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
I have problems with version 6. It adds dir_prefix for ALL applications, which may not be desirable. It overrides dir_prefix set in .wgetrc, which makes the option for Sfs manager described in my initial post impossible. Logic should be
- if app sets dir_prefix (as now ppm), use it (= use -P switch)
- id app doesn't, let wget check if it's set in .wgetrc, otherwise use $PWD


I do not see that, I can actually simultaneously download a pet in the "pets folder" and an SFS with the sfsmanager at /mnt/home.
You may want to check v7, or better yet modify it as you see fit and upload it Wink

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 2084
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 27 Nov 2014, 07:46    Post subject:  

mavrothal, let's take a break here. V7 looks mature, is ready for download and should now be tested by users - where are they? - who have a real need for the new features.

I assume that by now you share my belief that the word "fun" (your 4th post) is not the right F-word to be associated with the ppm Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Nov 2014, 22:18    Post subject:  

Quote:
should now be tested by users - where are they? - who have a real need for the new features.

Well this Topic started about two days ago and has had 545 views.
Seems more than just a few are interested.

Up until a pet was made and the bugs worked out. This was more a discussion on how it could possibly be done.

Give it some time for people to use the pet and report back.

MochiMoppel,
You could help if you edited the first post to show that a pet is available to add this feature to PPM.

Nothing wrong with what you offer in that first post.
However, if this has progressed to a pet package, that can be downloaded and used to update PPM, it needs to be shown in the first post of the topic.
People will see that better than looking through the topic to find it.
Maybe even adjust the topic subject to indicate a PPM update.

You and mavrothal worked together on this and that is what Puppy is all about. Teamwork and passing around ideas.

Good work by both of you!!!

Thanks!

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 27 Nov 2014, 23:11    Post subject:  

entered in error
_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Fri 28 Nov 2014, 04:40    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:

MochiMoppel,
You could help if you edited the first post to show that a pet is available to add this feature to PPM.


This actually may not be a bad idea Wink
Also "force" in the title sounds scary Very Happy Razz

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 13981
Location: S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 28 Nov 2014, 19:34    Post subject:  

Tahrpup 6.0

Installed the version 7 pet.

PPM seems to be working OK.

The download directory seems to be staying selected.

For me, seems all the bugs are fixed as to how PPM is working.

Thanks!

_________________
The things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
YaPI(any iso installer)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 04:15    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
PPM seems to be working OK.

It works OK with me too but this is only tested on a frugal install on a linux partition I guess.
What about a USB install or on a VFAT partition or saving into whole partition (pupmode 6 and 7) or full install or a multisession DVD or ...?
PPM behaves differently depending on the install method so if anyone tests the ppm_down_dir-7.pet in any of these modes, please report.

Another concern might be when install fails in the middle because say a broken connection, a power failure or something else, how is PPM recovering (looks OK in pupmode 12 and halved downloads here but not tested in other scenarios).

In short some "real life" testing would be nice. Wink

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Griot


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 131
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 05:48    Post subject:  

Here's a noob report. Precise 5.72 PAE, frugal on ext3/HDD.
V.7 doesn't work for me. Cannot configure PPM. It just blinks after I click on configure button. Before v.7 install I followed THIS GUIDE to enable 'Download only' button.
With the little help from our devs Rolling Eyes ,
I'm looking forward to using this useful feature.
Thanx Puppians!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 09:14    Post subject:  

Griot wrote:
Here's a noob report. Precise 5.72 PAE, frugal on ext3/HDD.
V.7 doesn't work for me. Cannot configure PPM. It just blinks after I click on configure button. Before v.7 install I followed THIS GUIDE to enable 'Download only' button.

Which "Precise 5.72 PAE" is that?
I used this 5.7.2 and works just file with the only exception that instead of a folder button it has an OK button. (see pic)
To correct this change line 185 of /usr/local/petget/configure.sh as shown
Code:
--- a/configure.sh   2014-11-27 11:27:55.000000000 +0200
+++ b/configure.sh   2014-11-29 15:41:56.000000000 +0200
@@ -182,7 +182,7 @@
           <text width-request=\"100\"><label>$(gettext 'New directory')</label></text>
           <entry accept=\"folder\" width-request=\"200\"><variable>SAVEPATH</variable></entry>
           <button>
-           "`/usr/lib/gtkdialog/xml_button-icon open`"
+           <input file stock=\"gtk-open\"></input>
            <action type=\"fileselect\">SAVEPATH</action>
           </button>
          </hbox>

The download only modification does not affect its behavior. I actually made it in my precise version and works just fine (pic).

You may have additional changes in your system?...
Try starting ppm from the terminal (type "ppm" ) and see if it spits any errors when you press the configure button.
Presice_ppm.png
 Description   Precise 5.7.2 with the ppm_down_dir-7.pet installed
 Filesize   38.08 KB
 Viewed   253 Time(s)

Presice_ppm.png

Presice_download_only.png
 Description   Precise: "Download only" to a user defined folder
 Filesize   13.62 KB
 Viewed   262 Time(s)

Presice_download_only.png


_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==

Last edited by mavrothal on Sat 29 Nov 2014, 09:48; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Griot


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 131
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 09:24    Post subject:  

Yep, same 5.72. here. Yes, there's an error:
Code:
** (gtkdialog:29350): ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 73, near token '</default>': syntax error

AFAIK no system changes lately. Question
Thanx for helping, again. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 09:58    Post subject:  

Griot wrote:
Yep, same 5.72. here. Yes, there's an error:
Code:
** (gtkdialog:29350): ERROR **: gtkdialog: Error in line 73, near token '</default>': syntax error

AFAIK no system changes lately. Question
Thanx for helping, again. Wink


Sorry I can not reproduce this error.
Some other change should be there. See if this also happens if you boot with pfix=ram and then install the original ppm_down_dir-7.pet

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Griot


Joined: 12 Sep 2014
Posts: 131
Location: Serbia

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 11:14    Post subject:  

Ok, my mistake. Compared to your code, my looks exactly the same
with exception of this path in said line: /usr/lib/gtkdialog/
There's no 'gtkdialog' dir. It's /usr/lib/gtk-2.0/ with 2 sub-dirs '2.10.0' and 'modules'.
No error in pfix=ram mode after installing v.7.pet. Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 3108

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 12:00    Post subject:  

In spite previous statements Rolling Eyes there is a version 8 of the ppm_down_dir pet.
The major addition is that it now checks if the specified download folder exists and if not defaults to /root.
This is in case where the path is mistyped or the folder deleted at a latter point.

It also looks (and works) properly in older pups that do not have the svg gtkdialog icons

_________________
== Here is how to solve your Linux problems fast ==
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5834
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Sat 29 Nov 2014, 14:53    Post subject:  

I don't seem to be having any success with this at all. I have just installed the v8 pet and I do not get prompted for download location. My puppy is based on Slacko 5.6 but has some weird modifications (so could be my fault...). I also have MochiMoppels previous "download only" mod installed (via remaster so I can't easily uninstall it for testing).

Anime gif via SFRs T.A.S:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 6 [85 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies. View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0978s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0467s) ][ GZIP on ]