Hand-holding needed: Pro/Wireless and /root, etc.

Booting, installing, newbie
Foucault

Hand-holding needed: Pro/Wireless and /root, etc.

#1 Post by Foucault »

Hi all,

I'm brand new to Puppy, brand new to Linux/Unix. I've been using Windows for many years, but am far from being a techie.

I've come to the point where I want to experiment with a Linux OS, and Puppy looks like it will fit the bill perfectly, especially as I can run it off a CD, so I don't have to mess up my Windows laptop. It also appears to be pretty friendly for those used to (some would say messed up by!) Windows.

Over the last few days, I've tried a few different flavors of Linux, and all seem to have difficulty wth the Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG, which is my wireless card with which I connect, via my wireless router, to my DSL service to the Internet.

I've found the following page, which looks promising:

http://puppylinux.org/wikka/ProWireless

Step 1, the download of the driver looks pretty painless. I can connect perfectly using Windows, so I can obtain this file.

However, I'm already becoming lost by step #2:
Save it in /root directory without the '.tar.gz' extension - this will prevent it being archived next boot.
Does this mean that I can save it to C:\ in Windows? If not, how do I find the file I downloaded and save it to /root?

The next few instructions seem to imply having a command line to type commands in. How do I do that from the Puppy desktop, or should I be doing that from somewhere else?

Perhaps I'm trying to run before I can walk, wanting to configure my wireless card before I'm really familiar with Linux, but the easiest way for me to experiment is going to be to have a web-browser open within Puppy to guide me along.

Can anyone help?

Thanks!

PaulBx1

#2 Post by PaulBx1 »

Sounds like a little basic familiarization with linux would be in order; you should be able to google around for it (look for phrases like "linux newbie").