How to add software to Puppy?

Booting, installing, newbie
Buteman

How to add software to Puppy?

#1 Post by Buteman »

Hi,
I'm new to Puppy and I am booting seamonkey from a cd at present.
The Pc I am using for this is an old ( about 1998 ) Fujitsu Lifebook 780Tx laptop with 3Gig hard disc, interchangeable CDRom/Floppy and 64Meg Ram.
I have previously used gpartedLive-Cd to resize the Win98 Fat32 partition down to 1.2Gig. The rest I have tried several distros on, the last being VectorLinux 5. I have had various problems with these other distros and came across Puppy 2 days ago.

At present the wireless card in it doesn't work. This is a fairly new card and so didn't expect it to work 'out of the box'.
I did get it to work fine with vectorlinux but have had other problems.

I would like to use Puppy, it seems very impressive, but I have some questions.

1/ Where can I get software ( .pup files ? )

2/ From the little I have seen it may be possible to download source files and compile them myself, as I did with ndswrapper to get the wlan card to work but do such packages come customised for Puppy or are they plain vanilla ones?

3/ Is there any reason why my wlan card cannot be made to work with Puppy because of some inherent lack in Puppy?

tia,
Norm

kirk

#2 Post by kirk »

1/ Where can I get software ( .pup files ? )
Click on the install icon on the desktop or search this forum.
2/ From the little I have seen it may be possible to download source files and compile them myself, as I did with ndswrapper to get the wlan card to work but do such packages come customised for Puppy or are they plain vanilla ones?
Yes, you can compile source files in puppy if you have the developer module (devx_201.sfs for Puppy 2.01) downloaded to the same location as your pup_save.3fs storage file. Puppy 2.01 includes ndiswrapper, no need to compile it.
3/ Is there any reason why my wlan card cannot be made to work with Puppy because of some inherent lack in Puppy?