Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 17 Sep 2014, 21:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
JWM WinSwitcher
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 394
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri 12 Sep 2014, 22:22    Post subject:  JWM WinSwitcher
Subject description: The fastest way to access any window on any desktop
 

WinSwitcher is a menu showing all windows, across all desktops.
It allows to find and access any open window instantly and is designed as a supplement for JWM's tasklist.
May work with other window managers. Openbox users may not need it as Openbox already has a similar menu built in.

Key features:
- Lists all windows, even those not accessible from tasklist (e.g. confirmation dialogs)
- Allows to access or close windows via single-key shortcuts
- Additional context menu allows mouse-only operations
- Can be opened/closed with same desktop/keyboard shortcut.
- Look & feel similar to a JWM pop-up menu (No buttons, no menu bar, closes when clicked or focus lost)
- Adjusts its height dynamically depending on number of items
- Creates no config or temporary files

Installation:
No particular installation needed. It's just 1 file so you may want to put it into /usr/bin.
To access the script easily and quickly, some care should be taken when choosing a suitable trigger.
Recommended: Tray button (see screenshot). Opens the menu neatly above the tray and avoids the "empty desktop" bug (see "Issues")
For placement at right edge of tray edit /root/.jwmrc-tray:
Quote:
<Clock format="%-H:%M:%S">minixcal</Clock>
<TrayButton label="WinSwitch" >exec:winswitcher</TrayButton>
</Tray>

A keyboard shortcut (e.g. assigned to Windows key) may be the quickest way.

Dependencies:
wmctrl, gtkdialog4

Issues:
- WinSwitcher may not open when triggered by a keyboard shortcut on an empty desktop. Seems to be a bug. Can be prevented by positioning mouse cursor over tray.

Changelog
v.1.2: Added compatibility for puppies using bash versions <3.2 (e.g. Precise 5.6)
v.1.1: First release. Added context menu and help page
v.1.0: Unreleased version
winswitcher.png
 Description   
 Filesize   47.61 KB
 Viewed   85 Time(s)

winswitcher.png

winswitcher_1.2.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  winswitcher_1.2.zip 
Filesize  3.89 KB 
Downloaded  14 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jasper


Joined: 25 Apr 2010
Posts: 1122
Location: England

PostPosted: Sun 14 Sep 2014, 04:30    Post subject:  

Hi MochiMoppel,

Thank you very much for your investigations and then providing a version which also works with Precise 5.6 (with bash version 3.0).

My regards

PS Thank you also for your earlier advice (now edited out after your update) to update to bash 4.1 via Slacko 5.6 which I actioned.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 566
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Mon 15 Sep 2014, 11:06    Post subject:  

cool, the official release! Very Happy

still no refresh button? sometimes i like to use it to get to more than one thing at clip. having to reopen it is kinda annoying, but maybe i've become spoiled. i use an older version pretty much every time i sit in front of a computer--it's a great thing you've done here. should be in every puppy, or at least every puppy running JWM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 394
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Today, at 21:09    Post subject:  

Puppus Dogfellow wrote:
still no refresh button?
What for? Menu is "refreshed" when you open it and window close actions refresh the menu instantly. All menus, not only mine, close when you click an item. Then their work is done and without further user action they give up the space they oppupied. Clever concept.

Yes, I deviated from this concept by not closing the menu after window close actions, but that's my personal preference and I'm not always dogmatic Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Desktop
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0519s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0043s) ][ GZIP on ]