Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 30 Sep 2014, 20:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
saluki linux display split screen
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
limoges bard

Joined: 04 Sep 2014
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2014, 15:59    Post subject:  saluki linux display split screen
Subject description: the display starts 1/8 from left hand side
 

When I install Saluki from a CD or from a USB the first screen "saluki linux appears perfectly. However when saluki boots and the xfce screen appears it produces a split screen with the left side appearing abour 1/6 distance from the edge of the VDU and therefore the last 1/6 of the screen appearing to the left og the rest.
Please help as I am most keen on having this system on my machine being MSophobic!
Many thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3307
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2014, 16:34    Post subject:  

A quick suggestion:

Check if the previous /etc/X11/xorg.conf exists. It will be
named something similar.

From start menu , lose your GUI and go to X console

Do a replacement
Code:

cp -f /etc/X11/xorg.conf.previous  /etc/X11/xorg.conf


Just deleting /etc/X11/xorg.conf and restarting X windows
is possible but I don't think that will fix it.

Also try a different resolution and frequency.

The utility 'xrandr' is probably available as well in Saluki . I would have to check.
__________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 706
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2014, 19:45    Post subject:  

Have you tried the obvious thing like adjusting your monitor? I had this once with an older pup, and that fixed it.

Other than that, Grandr is available under hardware in the Control Panel menu. You might be able to fiddle with the settings there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1396
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Thu 04 Sep 2014, 20:44    Post subject:  

Try booting with the " puppy pfix=nox " option, that will run xorgwizard where you can set the resolution and test it.
_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0513s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0035s) ][ GZIP on ]