Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 01 Oct 2014, 20:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
wlan0 is down (Solved, sort of)
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Walt52

Joined: 03 Apr 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Tue 05 Aug 2014, 18:24    Post_subject:  wlan0 is down (Solved, sort of)  

Puppy 5.2.8 on a dell inspiron 1501. Yesterday it worked. Today wlan0 is down. Tried ifcongi wlan0 up, nothing. Tried iwconfig and I get
IEEE 802.11bg ESSID: off/any
Mode: Managed Acess Point: Not associated . . .Encryption key: off
Power Management: off
How do I get it running and keep it there tomorrow? I'm using Frisbee.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jafadmin

Joined: 19 Mar 2009
Posts: 424

PostPosted: Tue 05 Aug 2014, 20:46    Post_subject:  

post output of ifconfig command
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5167
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Aug 2014, 01:50    Post_subject:  

How is Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 installed?
_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Walt52

Joined: 03 Apr 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Wed 06 Aug 2014, 08:59    Post_subject:  

ifconfig wlan0 now gives me SIOCSIFFLAGS: nO SUCH DEVICE. Earlier it said not configured. It was running fine for several weeks, but now it's not. And, BP, I can't remember the installation (other than the physical CD drive)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11082
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Wed 06 Aug 2014, 09:31    Post_subject:  

Walt, do you mean that you boot from live CD and have a Save file on your hard drive?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9159
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 06 Aug 2014, 09:48    Post_subject:  

Walt52 wrote:
ifconfig wlan0 now gives me SIOCSIFFLAGS: nO SUCH DEVICE.

That message suggests that either the wifi device is failing or Puppy has stopped loading the correct driver for it.

I would do a temporary clean install from the CD using the boot argument "puppy pfix=ram". Then run the commands
Code:
ifconfig wlan0 up
iwconfig
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9159
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 Aug 2014, 07:23    Post_subject:  

No reply?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Walt52

Joined: 03 Apr 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Thu 07 Aug 2014, 19:17    Post_subject:  

Sorry, RC. . .I got busy.

I did the clean boot and ran ifconfig Wlan0 up and that turned it back on. So now two questions: how do I keep it on next time I do a regular boot, and then if an error goes into the saved files in the hard drive, should I just delete them (if I can find them)? OK, three: what does the iwconfig do? OK, four: when you're given the option of copying the f2s file,what does that do?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9159
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 Aug 2014, 19:43    Post_subject:  

The problem with the regular Puppy WiFi managers is that when they quit working, nobody seems to know how to fix them.

I would recommend PWF. Its operation is transparent.

If you have started using frisbee again, you should do another clean install.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5167
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Aug 2014, 20:16    Post_subject:  

Walt52 wrote:
Sorry, RC. . .I got busy.

I did the clean boot and ran ifconfig Wlan0 up and that turned it back on. So now two questions: how do I keep it on next time I do a regular boot, and then if an error goes into the saved files in the hard drive, should I just delete them (if I can find them)? OK, three: what does the iwconfig do? OK, four: when you're given the option of copying the f2s file,what does that do?

If You are Using Lucid Puppy 5.2.8 the save file name should start with lucisave- The rest of the name is what you decided to name it.

If you are putting the save file on a hard drive partition, that has Windows on it. You need to make sure you defrag the partition, using Windows defrag.
If not, the save file can get fragmented and that can cause your problems.

Copying the f2s file to the hard drive.
I assume you are asking about the Lucid Puppy main sfs file.
This is putting the main Puppy sfs file on the hard drive, so it boots faster. The hard drive is faster than a CD drive. Reads quicker.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Walt52

Joined: 03 Apr 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun 10 Aug 2014, 14:23    Post_subject:  

If I do the clean install, it comes back on. . .when I boot from the saved f2s, sometimes it works, sometimes not. Clean boot will turn it back on (without even having to do the if config), but then I unclean boot and it's off again. If I do ifconfig I get SIOCSIFFLAGS: no such device.The two main things I import, then save, are Firefox (which matches 528), and my gmail files. Since the wlan problem came up when trying to boot from the hard drive, I moved the save file to an SD cord, and it worked great. . .yesterday and this morning. Then it stopped.

I'm wondering if it has something to do with the programs/files I try to save, and/or with the particular hardware of the 1501. I don't think it's the connection manager. If only it weren't intermittent!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rokytnji


Joined: 20 Jan 2009
Posts: 1342
Location: Pecos/ Texas

PostPosted: Sun 10 Aug 2014, 14:43    Post_subject:  

Edit, My bad. Wrong thread. Sorry.
_________________
If you know nothing about Linux, take some time to get familiarized with these courses.
I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9159
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 10 Aug 2014, 15:11    Post_subject:  

The next time it fails, run the command: rfkill list wlan

Quote:
but then I unclean boot

What do you mean? With a savefile?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Walt52

Joined: 03 Apr 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun 10 Aug 2014, 17:54    Post_subject:  

"Can't open RFKILL control device: no such file or directory"
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Walt52

Joined: 03 Apr 2014
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sun 10 Aug 2014, 17:57    Post_subject:  

but then I unclean boot

What do you mean? With a savefile?

Yes. If a clean boot is through ram only, isn't one with a savefile "unclean"?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0683s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]