Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info

READ-ONLY-MODE: PLEASE DO NOT POST NEW STUFF!
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile       

The time now is Mon 10 Aug 2020, 11:40
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 19 of 19 [282 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19
Author Message
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 2075
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jan 2020, 13:01    Post subject: WEP  

I'm short of time and don't know if there are instructions for using WEP in this long thread. My partner is currently on international business trip and can't get PeasyWIFI to connect - works fine using WPA2 at home so I'm thinking maybe the hotel in Thailand she is at is using WEP. Trouble is neither she nor I know how to connect via WEP using PeasyWIFI.

I read that OTC doesn't work. She knows the wifi SSID and also the passphrase (alphanumeric). Does she need to build a new Profile. I guess so. This is going to be very hard to explain to her how...

Also does WEP passphrase have to be changed to hexadecimal or is the alphanumeric passphrase the hotel gives out the one to use without needing any conversion?

Any help much appreciated. We have been trying but getting No Connection all the time (her Android phone connects fine, just not the BionicDog laptop she needs to use).

wiak

EDIT: I don't have WEP configured router but in experiments I've deduced that with WEP I should put double-quotes round the entered Passphrase under Profiles tab (or convert to hex?). Fact is though, the hotel she is in may not actually be using WEP on its router (I don't know) - perhaps something to do with access needing to go through hotels servers in some way I know nothing about (i.e. not a direct connection to router?).

_________________
WeeDogLinux forum: https://weedoglinux.rockedge.org/viewforum.php?f=4
Tiny Linux Blog: https://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek


Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 5834
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2020, 04:17    Post subject:  

Any chance of a pic of the login data given to her by the hotel? Was it on a slip of paper given to her on the day she checked in or is it shown on a website or other possibly outdated media?

Also - often hotels use open networks and the login data given to the traveller is a username and passphrase intended to be input through browser - not actually a wifi password.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 2075
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2020, 05:16    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
Any chance of a pic of the login data given to her by the hotel? Was it on a slip of paper given to her on the day she checked in or is it shown on a website or other possibly outdated media?

Also - often hotels use open networks and the login data given to the traveller is a username and passphrase intended to be input through browser - not actually a wifi password.


Yes, I tried to get more information from her, but she isn't particularly technical so fact is I don't have more details. She has moved on from there now, but this is a recurring problem; she was on similar trip a few months ago and same thing happened. Alas, Windows OS always managed login but Linux one only in some hotels. It is frustrating because if I was there I would surely track issue down, but going blind just leaves me guessing too.

I don't think it was an open connection though, but she is so busy she didn't have time to follow the requests for info I gave her. I believe her Android phone was connecting fine so she should have been able to check on that if it was using Security or not and whether WPA etc or not.

Anyway, I'm feed back later if similar happens again (as it surely will) and if solution ever found.

wiak

_________________
WeeDogLinux forum: https://weedoglinux.rockedge.org/viewforum.php?f=4
Tiny Linux Blog: https://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 30 Jan 2020, 06:36    Post subject:  

I can't imagine that any hotel would still be using WEP. But if they were, it would require building a WEP profile. You wouldn't need to include quotes - PWF puts all passphrases in quotes so you can include spaces.

If a hotel gives you a username and password, they might be using PEAP. You would need to build that type of profile.

Although, greengeek has the more likely explanation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 2075
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jan 2020, 04:05    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
If a hotel gives you a username and password, they might be using PEAP. You would need to build that type of profile.


I think my partner tried open network connection (I'm not sure because it is difficult working out what a non-technical user is actually doing...). So there was no connection to use the browser login/password kind of situation, which I am also familiar with (not sure if she is though).

Thanks for the comment about PEAP - that's sounds very possible. I guess, since Android mobile connected successfully, if she had opened Android settings and clicked on the active wifi connection she could have read what "Security" model was being used and that would have indicated if it was WPA2 with PEAP or whatever. Alas, I never received a reply when I made that request. Oh well, hopefully next time the situation crops up I can manage to correctly identify the problem cause and use appropriate fix.

wiak

_________________
WeeDogLinux forum: https://weedoglinux.rockedge.org/viewforum.php?f=4
Tiny Linux Blog: https://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wiak

Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 2075
Location: not Bulgaria

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jan 2020, 06:33    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I can't imagine that any hotel would still be using WEP. But if they were, it would require building a WEP profile. You wouldn't need to include quotes - PWF puts all passphrases in quotes so you can include spaces.


Though I also doubt now that the hotel was using WEP, I should mention that I'm using PeasyWIFI ver 4.6 on BionicDog and with that version if you put the passphrase in without quotes it ends up without quotes in the profile. If using WPA2 on the otherhand, if you don't put quotes, the quotes are auto-inserted anyway. So for WEP I needed to use quotes, and for WPA2 I needed not to use quotes so I guess a bit of relevant code (for adding quotes) has been omitted from the WEP function, at least in that version of PeasyWIFI.
Code:

ssid="new_ssid"
key_mgmt=NONE
wep_key0=new_psk


Should I think be:
Code:
wep_key0="new_psk"


wiak

_________________
WeeDogLinux forum: https://weedoglinux.rockedge.org/viewforum.php?f=4
Tiny Linux Blog: https://www.tinylinux.info/
Check Firmware: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=1022797
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jan 2020, 09:10    Post subject:  

Quote:
wep_key0=new_psk

You're right. I probably wrote it that way so you could enter the passkey in hex without quotes or as an ascii string where you included quotes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jun 2020, 16:32    Post subject:  

Say Bill, if I wanted to use a custom MTU value (Bionic64), in which script would it go?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 13 Jun 2020, 16:46    Post subject:  

Probably in /etc/pwf/rc.network, around line 20.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2020, 05:49    Post subject:  

Thanks.

Getting to your suggestion, yes, it would appear to be the correct location.

These are lines 17 thru 33, line 20 the fourth down:
Code:
for IFACE in $ETH0 $ETH1; do
   if [ -f $ETHPROFILEPATH/$IFACE.dhcp ]; then
      for TRY in 1 2; do
         ifconfig $IFACE mtu 1528 up
         udhcpc -s /etc/pwf/udhcpc/default.script -n -t 5 -T 5 -x hostname:$(hostname) -i $IFACE
         [ $? -eq 0 ] && break
         sleep 5
      done
   elif [ -f $ETHPROFILEPATH/$IFACE.static ]; then
      . $ETHPROFILEPATH/$IFACE.static
      SUBNET=${IP%.*}
      ifconfig $IFACE up
      ifconfig $IFACE $IP broadcast ${SUBNET}.255 netmask $NETMASK
      [ -n "$GATEWAY" ] && route add default gw $GATEWAY $IFACE
      [ -f /etc/resolv.conf.tail ] && cp /etc/resolv.conf.tail /etc/resolv.conf
   fi
done

This doesn't work. I suspect because I forgot to mention having a *wifi* connection.

This appears to be for ethernet unless I don't fully understand all the syntax.

==

If I leave Peasy connected and take the interface down and reload with the desired MTU value, netmon_wce doesn't change. I also can't reach any sites. It's not until I reconnect with Peasy can I again reach the Internet.

I'm guessing if you had known wifi beforehand, your suggestion may have been different.

Thoughts?

_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 13129
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2020, 06:34    Post subject:  

For WiFi connections, look in the PeasyWiFi script around line 14.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8427
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Sun 14 Jun 2020, 09:50    Post subject:    

Thank you, Bill. Exactly where you said it was and works as I expected it should. But then, all your stuff is TITS!
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 19 of 19 [282 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 17, 18, 19
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1100s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0547s) ][ GZIP on ]