Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 12 Nov 2018, 20:53
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
PeasyWiFi - a reliable WiFi connection manager
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 18 of 18 [270 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18
Author Message
jplt_bis


Joined: 20 Feb 2017
Posts: 69
Location: Planete Terre

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2018, 02:13    Post subject:  

I'am trying to make peasywifi to find my home network on bionicpup64 with a realtek RTL8723BS wifi shipset,

peasywifi after scan only find 2 networks and don't mine ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2018, 06:23    Post subject:  

PWF has two "Scan" buttons.

One is on the main Connect page and just finds open networks.

The other button is on the Profile page. Are you using the right one?

How close are you located to the wireless router?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jplt_bis


Joined: 20 Feb 2017
Posts: 69
Location: Planete Terre

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2018, 11:59    Post subject:  

Yeeees correct,i was not using the right scan,the scan that work for me is the one on the profile page.
Great thanks to you rcrsn51.

Now my next goal to make work this wifi chipset in more recent puppy like bionicbeaverpup or slackopup,is it possible ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 16 Jun 2018, 12:15    Post subject:  

You would need a kernel upgrade.

Ask for help in the bionicbeaverpup section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
hamoudoudou

Joined: 24 Jul 2014
Posts: 1467
Location: rabat

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2018, 13:18    Post subject: devuan ascii build by dog fredx181  

after some tries, PeasyWifi 4.6 connect my wireless in devuan ascii build by dog fredx181
Frisbee would do it too, just disable ethernet because one fights the other.
bbox.jpg
 Description   Only some are available not alll, mine is listed
 Filesize   45.38 KB
 Viewed   320 Time(s)

bbox.jpg


Last edited by hamoudoudou on Wed 27 Jun 2018, 03:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fredx181


Joined: 11 Dec 2013
Posts: 3524
Location: holland

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2018, 13:55    Post subject:  

hamoudoudou wrote:
build by dog fredx181


dog fredx181 ?? Rolling Eyes
Oh, well, ok then: Bark Bark !! Cool

_________________
Dog Linux website
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 04:28    Post subject:  

Thx for peasy-wifi. Really great tool!

Question: Is there a command to run only the "Scan to connect to open networks", without first loading the main window? In task manager, i see `sh -c SCAN &`, but that does nothing on a command-line.

Issue: On DebianDog, i had to delete my stored connection, because it always failed to connect-- i could only connect by restarting my wifi extender. However, when i instead connected only using the 'scan open networks' tool, it connected every time no prob.

But that's not the main reason i want to bypass the main window. It's just simpler usage that way.

THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 10:03    Post subject:  

Connecting via a saved profile should be exactly the same as connecting on-the-fly via "Connect to open networks", except that the latter may have "woke up" your network by doing an initial scan. Or it may have something to do with how your range extender works.

There is no way to jump directly to that screen, just to save one mouse click.

[Edit] You could try building a profile that uses the range extender's BSSID instead of the access points's SSID.

Click the Show all Cells box to see the bssids. In the profile, use:
Code:
bssid=01:23:45:67:89:ab
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 12:08    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
may have something to do with how your range extender works.

could be! in any case, i can't use saved profiles on my home connection with PeasyWifi. I don't have this prob with Frisbee, but i'd rather use Peasy Smile

Quote:
There is no way to jump directly to that screen, just to save one mouse click.

it's not just about saving a mouse click. I'm making a distro to share with non-geek friends and my mom. I'm trying to simplify everything. Your config screen will just confuse them, and they will never need it. Your scan-window has all they need. They can always get to the config screen from the menu, if needed. Showing an entire config interface, when you're just trying to connect, is TMI.

Quote:
[Edit] You could try building a profile that uses the range extender's BSSID instead of the access points's SSID.

i think i am. I connect to the extender, not to the router. Is that what you mean? Would that suggestion apply if it connects successfully on first connect? cuz it does.

Quote:
Click the Show all Cells box to see the bssids.

hrm, tried that. I don't see anything different.

Now testing on a different Stretch. I'll report back.

THX!

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 12:17    Post subject:  

I don't understand. Are you talking about the Config button at the bottom left?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 13:55    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I don't understand. Are you talking about the Config button at the bottom left?


to save RAM on a low-ram machine, i don't run your system tray icon. It's a nice-to-have eye-candy, but not essential. I also removed the ram-heavy notification area.

so now, to connect with Peasy, i run peasy-wifi connection manager. That brings up the config screen.

Btw, on an OS i made with mklive-stretch, your auto-connect is working. Maybe was a temporary glitch on my extender, router, or maybe a prob with the other OS.

For me, saving clicks matters. Don't want to get clickitis Very Happy

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 15:01    Post subject:  

johnywhy wrote:
That brings up the config screen.

Do you mean the main screen under the Connect tab?

The objective of PWF is to build a collection of profiles that give you one-click connection to your regular access points - home network, library, coffee-shop, wireless printer, etc.

I don't understand how hiding that screen makes the program less confusing or easier to use.

Other connection tools will show you all the available APs, all the time. PWF does not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 15:26    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
I don't understand how hiding that screen makes the program less confusing or easier to use.

Your multiple tabs and many buttons and controls and tabs will bewilder and intimidate a non-geek. Almost none of it is needed for day-to-day computing.



Quote:
The objective of PWF is to build a collection of profiles that give you one-click connection to your regular access points

That's awesome, but i thought the point is no-clicks, not one-click. If the profile is saved and set to auto, then it connects on boot automatically without any clicking. Awesome!

If it's not already saved, then your scan-for-open-hotspots window is all that's needed to find and connect to a new hotspot. Awesome. No need to look at the config screen.



But, would be more awesome if, in addition to the "Save" button, had a checkbox "Auto-connect on boot". Then non-geek users never need to see your intimidating config screen.

Quote:
There is no way to jump directly to that screen, just to save one mouse click.

I noticed that, once the scan window opens, i can 'quit' the config screen, and the scanner window keeps running. So they're clearly separate processes.

Quote:
Other connection tools will show you all the available APs, all the time. PWF does not.

If i open your scanner dropdown, then there too i will see all the available APs.

Network Manager, for example, gives a popup which directly displays all available hotspots. You can connect to one by clicking it. Config stuff is hidden away (where you can get to it if needed). Less noise, fewer clicks. I don't have to go thru multiple windows to get to the hotspots. I don't mind seeing the list of all AP's all the time-- that's handy! I do mind seeing all the config stuff all the time.



THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12324
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 15:57    Post subject:  

You don't give other people enough credit for being able to learn a different user interface.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
johnywhy


Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Posts: 872

PostPosted: Thu 06 Sep 2018, 16:55    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
You don't give other people enough credit for being able to learn a different user interface.


My 85 year old mom doesn't need or want to "learn a different user interface", and I'm not going to expect her to. She just wants to quickly and easily connect to wifi, with a minimum of effort and distraction, and check her gmail. A quick-connect scan window is all she needs.

But i understand if you don't have the time or interest in making your tool non-geek friendly. It's still awesome. I know it takes a lot of work to make this stuff. Respect and gratitude Very Happy

THX

_________________
Now: X-Tahr 2.0! StretchDog! DevuanDog!
Tops: TarhNOP Vlina-R2 Racy
Used: Puppeee Precise Lucid Wary Tahrpup Quirky Slacko MacPup Saluki Puppy Studio LxPupTarh Lina-Lite Lina
i ♥ Puppy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 18 of 18 [270 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 16, 17, 18
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.2475s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0627s) ][ GZIP on ]