Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Jan 2020, 12:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-6.0 beta 2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 55 of 56 [836 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 53, 54, 55, 56 Next
Author Message
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2065
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jul 2015, 15:59    Post subject:  

For some reason, all the browser icons are now calling FF 39.0, so I had better not upgrade default FF ESR 24.6.0. No problema.

When remastering the live CD, how long does it take to copy files from CD to temporary work space? I waited 15 minutes and gave up. But when I tried to close out, the remaster program wanted to proceed as if the file copying was complete.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme


Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 8021
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jul 2015, 19:18    Post subject:  

You set the icon from where?
_________________
>>> Living with the immediacy of death helps you sort out your priorities. It helps you live a life less trivial <<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3608
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jul 2015, 20:51    Post subject: Remastering -- How long  

Hi nubc,

It's been over a year, maybe two, since I used Remaster. And I'm at that stage of life where events of my childhood are clear, the details concerning the problems I'm working on at the moment are clear, but things between the two are "somewhere in that ball park" requiring me to refresh my recollection and concentrate.

Perhaps this is one of the reasons I frequently mention the shinobar (PupSessionConfig pet) and Jpeps (Remove Automatic Save Instructions) combination. Sitting behind two firewalls (my Router's and Puppy's) and controlling what gets into the only Read-Write SFS which is read into RAM on bootup, I'm reasonably comfortable that at least on bootup there's nothing then on my system which will result in sensitive data being obtained by hackers.

Exploring new Pups as they are published, they and their SaveFiles, tend to get supplanted by new Pups and their SaveFiles. And with reasonable confidence in the integrity of my SaveFiles, copying Pups and SaveFiles from one computer to another is just easier than remastering. So it's been a while.

This is the "ballpark" I remember or at least think I do.

The time remastering takes is at least in part dependent on how fast your CPU operates. Another factor is how much RAM your computer has, as every change must first take place in RAM before it can be written to "Storage".

If I recall correctly, Remastering is one of those procedures which must be performed in a Linux Formatted environment. [Not sure; all my computers have at least one Linux formatted partition where I do actual work]. In your case, that means within your SaveFile.

The Slacko 6 ISO was 168 Mb, but you're installing a firefox which is larger than the original. So let's figure your custom.ISO will be about 200 Mb; maybe slightly smaller but its safer to have more space than less space needed.

And, again if I recall correctly, the "work-space" has to be 3 times the size of the target ISO. So you'll need a SaveFile of at least 600 mb.

I could be wrong. But maybe your remaster didn't finish because you didn't provide sufficient work-space.

Considering both the SaveFile/Work-space and the resulting "200 Mb" ISO are only going to be on the computer temporarily --until you've burned the CD/DVD and perhaps tested it*-- if your computer has the space for a 750 Mb SaveFile (plus the resulting 200 mb ISO), I'd use one that size.

*When Remastering finishes, it doesn't delete the Build Files. Theoretically, after testing your custom ISO you can modify those files and create a different ISO. But I've always deleted the Build Files and started "from scratch".

One other thing about remastering, and the reason I've tended to avoid doing it: Read the instructions carefully as they are displayed. This short thread may help, especially gehlm's second post. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=80823&sid=3354424346888aa14ae363ce8c8a4c2e

Since your custom ISO will include everything on your system at the time of remastering, you'll probably want to delete browser-caches, temporary files, and especially sensitive data before starting Remaster.

That's my ball-park recollection. So read the instructions carefully. I certainly would.

Hope this helps,

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nubc


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 2065
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jul 2015, 23:12    Post subject:  

location of browser icons:
/opt/firefox/browser/chrome/icons/default

drag and drop 'default48.png' in 'Set icon' dialog

Firefox is persistently warning me to update Adobe Flash plug-in, directing me to
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/plugincheck/?utm_source=firefox-browser&utm_medium=firefox-browser&utm_campaign=plugincheck-update
The above link downloads a tarball from Adobe website. Should I extract this software? Or wait for a .pet?

EDIT: I extracted the software, obtained a newer libflashplayer.so which I substituted for same in usr/lib/mozilla/plugins. Seems to have stopped the warnings about an old flash player plugin.
puppy222E45_600.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.22 KB
 Viewed   1714 Time(s)

puppy222E45_600.jpg


Last edited by nubc on Sat 25 Jul 2015, 07:12; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 3608
Location: 500 seconds from Sol

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jul 2015, 12:47    Post subject: extracting libflashplayer.so  

Hi nubc,

Right. I should have thought of that. Embarassed Beats having to wait for someone to publish a pet. Smile

For future reference though: Rename the old libflashplayer.so to something like "oldlibflashplayer.so" rather than deleting. Just in case: It's a "the Devil you know" kind of thing.

mikesLr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3692
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jul 2015, 16:47    Post subject: slacko-6.0 beta 2  

New install to a 32gb SDHC card, pc is an hp desktop.

video-info-glx 1.5.1 Fri 24 Jul 2015 on Slacko Puppy 5.9.3 Linux 3.4.94 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Redwood PRO [Radeon HD 5500 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: REDWOOD 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.14.3
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (1015x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: AMD Radeon HD 5570
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.3.13397 Core Profile Context 15.20.1046

AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor
Core 0: @2699 1: @2699 2: @2699 3: @2699 4: @2699 5: @2699 MHz

No problems so far.

Using FbBox-2.0
Screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   20.45 KB
 Viewed   1763 Time(s)

Screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2120
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Fri 24 Jul 2015, 21:47    Post subject:  

nubc wrote:

Firefox is persistently warning me to update Adobe Flash plug-in, directing me to
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/plugincheck/?utm_source=firefox-browser&utm_medium=firefox-browser&utm_campaign=plugincheck-update
The above link downloads a tarball from Adobe website. Should I extract this software? Or wait for a .pet?

EDIT: I extracted the software, obtained a newer libflashplayer.so which I substituted for same in usr/lib/mozilla/plugins. Seems to have stopped the warnings about an old flash player plugin.

If you really need Flash, I suppose thats it. HTML5 is making inroads to many things. Personally, I tossed it, Java, and the shares, because browsing and paying an occasional bill do not need them. And I find these tossed items riddled with security flaws with an incessant need for repair. /MHO

_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 8744
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jul 2015, 05:13    Post subject:  

Get Palemoon browser for slacko-593

It runs as 'New Moon' as it is customised so it is a licence requirement to disable official branding.

_________________
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 1950
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Tue 04 Aug 2015, 08:05    Post subject:  

I'm testing slacko 5.9.3. I have a problem with setting the clock and localtime. I found that set_hwclock_type is missing in the menu. I set it to localtime and hardware to match software. When I launch Psync it always set the clock to UTC so I have to remove autostart. I managed to set the clock to localtime by:

Code:
zic -l localtime


and running quicksetup again choosing the right time zone. I find psync and clock set buggish in comparison to the other puppies. I don't know if this problem depends on the glibc updates I applied from slackware patches.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo

Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 12591
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 07 Aug 2015, 12:39    Post subject: pAVrecord as default, try SSR
Subject description: SSR Simple Screen Recorder
 

Voice recording is not active however alsamixer capture bar activated. What's about ?
To run SSR in Slacko .. look at the topic here.
Slacko.jpg
 Description   Two Libs Qt needed.
 Filesize   53.35 KB
 Viewed   1157 Time(s)

Slacko.jpg


_________________
Passenger Pelo ! don't ask him to repair the aircraft. Don't use him as a demining dog .... pleeease.

Last edited by Pelo on Thu 27 Aug 2015, 06:45; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
8Geee


Joined: 12 May 2008
Posts: 2120
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sat 08 Aug 2015, 10:22    Post subject:  

Well, at least theres YouTube HTML5 apps for FireFox. And FF really should be at least FF27 due to https schemes being TLS, not SSL3. FWIW mplayer default isn't good, but its not poor.

***EDIT*** I see 6.0.2-beta came with FF24-ESR... too old.

A while back I made a patched FF27. The posting is here. There is another fix needed, linked in the 2nd post. This FF27 is 'modular', intending to be extracted in root, and remaining there. MHO is to find ~/.mozilla, and usr/firefox as already installed and move them to a backup location, then install FF27, and drag ~/.mozilla/firefox to literal desktop. Iconify as desired.

_________________
Linux user #498913 "Some people need to reimagine their thinking."
"Zuckerberg: a large city inhabited by mentally challenged people."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3692
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 09 Sep 2015, 11:43    Post subject: slacko-6.0 beta 2  

Manual frugal installation to a 16gb usb-3.0 flash drive, pc is an
Acer Laptop.

Computer
Processor 4x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 430 @ 2.27GHz
Memory 3100MB (276MB used)
Machine Type Physical machine
Operating System Slacko Puppy - 5.9.3
User Name root (root)
Date/Time Wed 09 Sep 2015 11:08:37 AM EDT
Display
Resolution 1600x900 pixels
OpenGL Renderer AMD Mobility Radeon HD 5000 Series
X11 Vendor The X.Org Foundation

OpenGL
Vendor Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
Renderer AMD Mobility Radeon HD 5000 Series
Version 4.5.13397 Compatibility Profile Context 15.20.1046
Direct Rendering Yes

It's working well so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   73.62 KB
 Viewed   1014 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wdt

Joined: 27 Dec 2011
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Thu 01 Oct 2015, 04:19    Post subject: serious wifi bug
Subject description: rtl8188ce, kernel panic
 

Yesterday downloaded beta2, 5.9.3
Tried it on my wife's laptop, MSI x370
This has 4? different wifi cards, this is a rtl8188ce,, not N
All the wifi setup wizards resulted in a crash, kernel panic
Manually doing modprobe insertion of 3 modules
(rlt8192c_common, rtlwifi, rtl8192ce,)
and a lsmod |grep rtl
showed all 3 and mac80211 and cfg 80211
Perhaps there should have also loaded rtl_pci???
but it did not show up in the lsmod
There was no crash until ifconfig wlan0 up
Required a power button press of 4+ seconds
dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 3692
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 13 Oct 2015, 17:40    Post subject: slacko-6.0 beta 2
Subject description: next of series?
 

Testing Slacko-6.0.5.0 manual frugal install on a 32gb flash drive,
computer is an 11 year old Compac Presario Desktop.
Graphics card is upgraded to an ATI 1600 agp.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Tue 13 Oct 2015 on Slacko Puppy 6.0.5.0 Linux 3.12.21 i686
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
vendor: (C) 1988-2005, ATI Technologies Inc.
product: RV530 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.14.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV530
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.1.7

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz
Core 0: @2800 1: @2800 MHz

It's working great!
s6700nx.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   95.91 KB
 Viewed   608 Time(s)

s6700nx.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
unicorn316386

Joined: 07 Apr 2015
Posts: 208
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Thu 15 Oct 2015, 16:04    Post subject: Re: slacko-6.0 beta 2
Subject description: next of series?
 

Billtoo wrote:
Slacko Puppy 6.0.5.0 Linux 3.12.21 i686

Would it be possible to upload an iso of your 32-bit version files (initrd.gz, puppy_slacko_6.0.5.0.sfs, vmlinuz) for others to test? Not sure if I am brave enough to figure out how to make my own Woof-CE build but would enjoy a new 32-bit beta to play with.

A newer ThinSlacko might be neat as well. The last one I think was ThinSlacko 5.5? Maybe I'll read how hard this is to build later.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 55 of 56 [836 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 53, 54, 55, 56 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1174s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0585s) ][ GZIP on ]