Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 20 Jun 2018, 08:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Icewm ultra - window manager
Moderators: deshlab, Flash, GuestToo, Ian, JohnMurga, Lobster
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 5 [68 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 13:26    Post subject:  Icewm ultra - window manager  

This Dotpup tries to make things easy - install, exit X, type
xwin starticewm

Then you should see such a desktop:



It includes 50 Themes, and Rarsas XDG-menus.
It currently supports both menu-systems, the one from Puppy, and XDG.
Also the tray "xystray" is included with a patched version of the Puppy2 freemem-applet.
The icewm-backgroundsetter was renamed, so you can use the one from Puppy.

I used the binaries from GuestToo, icewm 1.2.24, the upgrade to 1.2.26, his reboot-patch, and icedock.
I added some wm-dockapps from Nathan Fisher, and wrote script to set up everything.
Included is a tool to create a XDG-menuentry for older Dotpups.

To modify some settings, I added some entrys to the quicklaunch-toolbutton:



Download (4.8 MB, 14.3 MB extracted):
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/WindowManagers/Icewm-ultra/Icewm-ultra.pup
REQUIRES:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/System_Utilities/getdir.pup

If you don't have Rarsas XDG-menusystem ( ONLY old versions of Puppy, like 2.12 ), you also need this Dotpup (150 kb):
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/WindowManagers/Icewm-ultra/Icewm-ultra-XDG-ONLY-FOR-PUPPY-UP-TO-2.12-menusystem.pup
Do NOT install in Puppy 2.14 or newer, it breaks new Puppyversions Exclamation Exclamation
It includes desktop-entries for most of Puppys programs.
Puppy 109CE-users do not need it!

To get the Puppy-menu in Icewm, type in a consolewindow: "fixmenus".

If you think the dotpup is too big, delete some themes in /root/.icewm/themes.

I did not try it on a "fresh" puppy, so please tell me if something does not work, in that case I will add libraries.

Mark

Last edited by MU on Wed 23 May 2007, 18:02; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15238
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 14:27    Post subject:  

Smile Thanks Mu - worked OK for me - after installing the Ice and the XDG menus - without the menus I just had Ice - no Puppy Menus,

so reboot

then the full set of menus come on (this from CD)

A great selection - make your PC look like Ubuntu but run like Puppy.

Ice also drags filled windows not just the outline. I would say that it is the most stable of the Window managers along there with fvwm95 - but far more configerable . . .

will put the info on the wiki Smile

_________________
YinYana AI Buddhism
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 14:35    Post subject:  

This should happen:

Right after installation, it has just 1 menu-entry: "refresh menu" (beside 3 from Icewm).
If you click on it, it will convert .jwmrc and the XDG-desktopfiles to the final icewm-menu.
Maybe that is a bit slow depending on the computer, on my PIII 700 with KDE-entries it takes 5-10 seconds.

I should add an option to convert only the JWM-menu or XDG-menu (plus the Dotpupsmenu from JWM maybe).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billcnz

Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 18:10    Post subject:  

Is icewm-ultra.pup compatable with the latest Puppy 2.01? After installing and exiting to the prompt and running "xwin starticewm" I see what looks like the normal Puppy desktop flash up for a few seconds, then X crashes back to the prompt.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 18:14    Post subject:  

yes it should be, I use it in Puppy 2.01. Maybe you miss a library.
Please start JWM, then run

ldd /root/my-applications/bin/icewm

This will show some lines of text, where one might contain "not found".
Please post those "not found"-lines here.

Mark

Last edited by MU on Sun 16 Jul 2006, 18:22; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 18:18    Post subject:  

I updated the icewm-dotpup.

Now you can edit options for the menu-generation, click on the Toolbutton beside the startmenu:




If you set "usejwm=0", and "usedotpup=1", then your menu looks like this:



You can install it "over" the old dotpup without uninstalling it first.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billcnz

Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 19:32    Post subject:  

Hi Mark,
the instructions said to type: "xwin starticewm" but if I leave out the start and just type: xwin icewm it works Smile

Thanks
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 19:34    Post subject:  

ok, but then you have no icedock and trayicons.
Those are started by starticewm.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
GuestToo
Puppy Master

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 4078

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 21:48    Post subject:  

Quote:
Ice also drags filled windows not just the outline. I would say that it is the most stable of the Window managers

you can configure whether dragged windows are outlines or opaque in the preferences file (the file is probably in /root/.icewm/) ... for example:

OpaqueMove=0
OpaqueResize=0

remember to remove the # from the beginning of the line or the line will be ignored ... then restart Icewm

Icewm seems to play well with Rox, better than any other wm that i've tried

i wish Ice would change desktops with the mouse wheel, like Fluxbox or JWM ... if anyone knows of a patch, i would cheerfully patch Icewm to change desktops using the mouse wheel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 22:09    Post subject:  

Hey GuestToo, we really missed you Exclamation
Have you been on hollyday?
Welcome back Very Happy

-----------------------

I uploaded a new version.
Changes:
- Some more themes from Bombayrockers prettypup.
- international languagefiles
- I recompiled Icewm with the "gradient" option, because the other upgrade to 1.2.26 was compiled without, what made the "Windows-classic" theme look broken.
- In startup, you now can uncomment to use the internal tray from Icewm. It seems, it can display only the first 3 digits of the Freemem-trayicon, so I left this optional and still use xystray by default.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billcnz

Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 22:24    Post subject:  

MU wrote:
ok, but then you have no icedock and trayicons.
Those are started by starticewm.
Mark


Thanks, it's working now but how do you configure the dockapps? Mine all opened as individual windows covering my home icon in the top left corner.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jul 2006, 22:40    Post subject:  

Oops, another packaging mistake Embarassed
Move /root/.icewm/.icedockrc one folder up, to /root
Then restart X.

That should fix it?
I uploaded the corrected dotpup.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billcnz

Joined: 30 Jun 2006
Posts: 215
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul 2006, 02:23    Post subject:  

Yes, that works and looks good, even shows the battery and AC power status on this laptop. Only thing is the icedock seems to be eating up a lot of cpu cycles on this old laptop and making the fan run most of the time so I might have to leave that off.

One other thing, I had Opera installed but when I refreshed the menu it shows up as firefox, still loads Opera of course.

Anyway nice work, it certainly gives us some variety to choose from.

Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul 2006, 07:16    Post subject:  

on my sytem, the freememapplett seems to use most resources.

In the startup, you can comment single tools like this applet or some dockapps, then they won't be used.
I activated all by default, as I think it is easier to have everything working at start, so that you only have to remove/comment then the things not needed Smile

The firefox-menu seems to load the script "defaultbrowser". For me that script loads seamonkey.
You can remove it with alien-to-xdg, and then add a new one with it for Opera.
I think I added a Opera-entry, too, at least it shows up here.

You also can modify the menu like this:
look in /usr/share/applications for the corresponding .desktop -file, and edit it.
The XDG-menu reads these .desktop-files to generate the menu.
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
MU


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 13648
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany

PostPosted: Mon 17 Jul 2006, 08:40    Post subject:  

I added the program "nice" to the dotpup.
It will run Freememapplet with lower priority, what might lead to better performance on older computers.

Oh, and I just saw that alien-to-xdg requires:
http://dotpups.de/dotpups/System_Utilities/getdir.pup
Install that, too (updated first message with it).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 5 [68 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Unsorted
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1442s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0465s) ][ GZIP on ]