Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 07:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
palemoon browser
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4447
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jul 2014, 18:33    Post subject:  

@Semme inspired an idea to upgrade the opening post's PET installation. It resulted in this.
  • On my PhatSlacko, the PET installed PaleMoon in /opt.
  • So I downloaded @Semme's pointer and double-clicked the downloaded ...tar/bz2
  • When asked where to extract the contents to, I replied "/opt".
  • Upon completion, I went to Menu>Internet>Palemoon to open the browser.
Thanks @Semme

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4055
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jul 2014, 19:14    Post subject:  

For testing, you should've extracted to anywhere else, then drag the exec onto your desktop.

Sure it uses your existing profile, but, you'd gain a sense of how portable most exec's out there actually are.

_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4447
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 24 Jul 2014, 23:05    Post subject:  

In the prior post Semme wrote:
For testing, you ...
Wondering; if using the existing profile as a base, does this accomplish all what you suggest. The icon on the desktop and the menu item are already there.

I thought this was what you were getting at: A simple means of upgrading the current Palemoon browser in the absence of a Palemoon built-in feature (like the ones built into Mozilla's Seamonkey and Firefox).

Did I miss?
Edit: I think I see what you are sharing in your prior post. It assumes that there may be something afoul in a newer version of Palemoon. Therefore, if I get what you are saying; "Don't upgrade, test it first, ..."

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4055
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jul 2014, 05:42    Post subject:  

Don't over-think it >> http://www.palemoon.org/faq.shtml#How_do_I_update_Pale_Moon
_________________
>>>Punctuation Crash Course<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4447
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri 25 Jul 2014, 16:35    Post subject:  

Yeah, I saw that earlier. This, from that site, is what prompted my approach:
Pale Moon site wrote:
To update Pale Moon manually, simply download the installer of the new version and run it. No need to uninstall first! You can install the new version in the same location as the old one, and it will perform an upgrade
This is why I adapted the replacement approach.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sat 30 Aug 2014, 08:55    Post subject:  

I tried the pet, and it seemed to install OK. However, it then stuck when invoked from the Internet menu. Running from a terminal, it bombed out with "Illegal Instruction". I tried the pet and tar approach but it ended up with the same message. Are the linux versions all 64bit? I would be grateful for any help or suggestions in getting pale moon installed and running on a 32bit puppy system.
_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 30 Aug 2014, 17:24    Post subject:  

hi wimpy,

what puppy are you using?
there's a new pet on the first post version 24.7.1

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Sun 31 Aug 2014, 03:22    Post subject:  

Thanks for the reply. I was using a Precise 5.7.1 with the Mate desktop. I can try it for a variety of other distros and on another machine, if necessary.
_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1883
Location: wales

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2014, 10:30    Post subject:  

hi wimpy,

did you try the new pet? (on first post) it should work in precise

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Mon 01 Sep 2014, 14:44    Post subject:  

Yes. I tried the new pet, with and without pfix=ram. It made no difference - it still comes back with "Illegal instruction". I've also recently tried the latest chromium and pepperflash sfs (there's a thread in this sector) and that did the same thing - "Illegal instruction". These two are the only times I've got this message, FWIW I changed to another PC with the same type of CPU and RAM but different mobo. That one gives the same message.
_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 659
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Tue 02 Sep 2014, 13:38    Post subject:  

installed and performs flawlessly on precise 5.5, 5.6.1, and 5.7.1. very fast--firefox before they ruined it plus the ability to zoom google documents without things getting bizarre. also, page numbering works for the first time. update installed over the original with no problems and menu entries worked ootb. thank you, 666philb. (and sorry for your woes, wimpy. Confused )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wimpy


Joined: 22 Aug 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Essex, UK

PostPosted: Wed 03 Sep 2014, 01:53    Post subject:  

As I understand it, my problem stems from Intel moving the goalposts with the Pentium4 - something to do with SSE2 and the floating point registers. AMD followed them after my CPU set. Google decided to abandon CPUs before the Pentium 4, and introduced the SSE2 requirement. It appears that palemoon has decided to follow Google and discard the "disable SSE2 flag" on compilation. Just another nail in the coffin for these old PCs!
_________________
Lucid ,Precise, Carolina, Shiba_inu, Lx_pup - all frugal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 926
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 14 Sep 2014, 09:38    Post subject:  

Version 24.7.2 for Linux is now out.
They are saying this will probably be the last of the 24 series and the next one will be a 25
These are compiled without the auto update I believe.
With this and all the other mozilla based browsers what I now tend to do is put them in a directory structure in /mnt/home with a profile directory in there too so nothing takes up any save file space. The launcher script can specify the HOME and -profile locations in the directories in /mnt/home
The only thing that gets created in /root is an empty directory in /root/.cache/mozilla
Not sure if there is a way to stop this but if not it is not a problem of any significance.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 120

PostPosted: Sat 25 Oct 2014, 16:09    Post subject:  

Palemoon 25 is available for linux, but a number of Firefox add-ons no longer function with this new Palemoon version. For a list of incompatible add-ons (with some workarounds) and the explanation why, see here.

You probably want to check that your add-ons are compatible with the new version before updating beyond 24.7.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6


Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 1023
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 26 Oct 2014, 02:41    Post subject:  

Hi,
Quote:
...but a number of Firefox add-ons no longer function with this new Palemoon version...a list of incompatible add-ons...

thanks cimarron !
The SimpleMail mail client add-on might also be merged to that list: i could not get the SimpleMail icon displayed somewhere on the windows bars; I could not find any "modules bar" (as also on latest Firefox, but Firefox displays the SimpleMail icon automatically ...).
In Palemoon: SimpleMail although seems can be started manualy from the Tools/Add-on/

Cheers, Charlie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [51 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0873s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0095s) ][ GZIP on ]