Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 01:17
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Streaming video goes dark in slacko 5.7.0
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Author Message
bloowoof

Joined: 02 May 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri 02 May 2014, 23:17    Post subject:  Streaming video goes dark in slacko 5.7.0  

Installed Slacko 5.7.0.

First, when streaming video,the screen sometimes goes dark but the audio remains. And sometimes the mouse disappears at the same time.This did not occur in slacko 5.6.
Second, I am able to boot the 5.6 iso using grub4dos;but with the 5.7, it fails totally. I looked at the 5.7 iso using poweriso, and it showed the iso to be bootable.(Iforgot to look for 'loopback cfg')
What gives?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 May 2014, 01:13    Post subject:  

Looks to me like a bad install and or download of Slacko 5.7.

If Slacko 5.6 worked OK. Slacko 5.7 should be the same or better.

Some specific details on what you did would help.

Downloaded iso from where?
Installed how?
To what?
Graphics setup you are using?

Some computer details.
What is it?

Any Slacko 5.6 files on the installed to device?

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bloowoof

Joined: 02 May 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 03 May 2014, 05:08    Post subject: bad install?  

Downloaded in the usual place,can't remember the specific mirror. The p56
files were hidden on a mint partition while I tried the 57, and the installation was on a vfat(i.e., drive c:\ of dos/windows, so not likely the pup locked onto
the 56 files.
I will use the md5 to check for corruption of the downloaded iso, but if the
burner software screwed up, I'm not sure how to check the burned file on the cd.
My preffered installation is to run the cd to generate the sfs,etc,then
thereafter boot from the iso on harddrive(in the vfat partition) using grub4dos; when this would not work for the 57, I did 'full install' to vfat,
booting that from grub4dos. This seemed to work until watching stream for awhile, noticed the problem.
The boot the iso method did and does work with the 56 image, as well as
the last several pups I have used.
Machine is a dell dimension with amd 64, circa '07,not too obsolete.
Let me md5 the iso.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bloowoof

Joined: 02 May 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat 03 May 2014, 07:36    Post subject: continued...  

Checked the 57 iso with md5,passed;
then, on reflection:
graphics,et al is meaningless because of a glaring fact: grub4dos is completely unaware of such things. Yet,it will boot the 56 and not the 57 iso.
I believe that any bootable iso must have a 'loopback.cfg' file; I did not see
it in the 57 *or* 56 iso's. perhaps it is lurking in 'boot.cat'?
In any case,when trying to boot the 57, grub4dos searches,gives up and
boots the next entry in menu.lst.
Here is the code used in the menu.lst:

title p56(or 7)
fallback 15
find --set-root /images/s56.iso
map /images/s56.iso (0xff) || map --mem /images/s56.iso (0xff)
map --hook
chainloader (0xff)
savedefault --wait=2

Again, the above code boots the 56, but if 56 is changed to 57, it is nogo.
Note I shorten the iso filenames because of all the typing involved(hate
funky filenames).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 May 2014, 18:13    Post subject:  

Quote:
installation was on a vfat(i.e., drive c:\ of dos/windows,

This can cause problems if the Vfat formatted partition is fragmented.
Use Windows to defrag before you install Slacko to it.

You seem to be only trying to boot from the Puppy iso file and not doing an actual install of Puppy.
If the iso files are in different locations I would guess you have one in the proper location, for the boot entry to find, and the other one is not.
Try putting both iso files in the exact same location.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bloowoof

Joined: 02 May 2014
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 03:42    Post subject: continued  

The two iso files,s56.iso and s57.iso are both in the same folder,called images;
the sfs and save files are on c:\, but not in images. When the pup iso boots, it asks for
which pupsave to use, and they are distinguished by their filenames, which I do not alter.
Of course, the 57 never gets this far,since it won't even start to boot; you seem to be suggesting that the 57 iso misfortunately is on a fragmentation line? This is a fascinating
thought, that grub4dos could stumble at this,since again, grub4dos is completely unaware
of any sfs involvement when just beginning to boot.
Nevertheless, I will defragment that partition to see if it changes anything.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5109
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 04:20    Post subject:  

Do you get any error message when booting Slacko 5.7 or does it just not do anything?

Copy and paste in Puppy:

In the console terminal that comes with Puppy.

Copy- left click hold and highlight

Paste- middle mouse button click

Also works to copy from terminal and paste to other programs.

Also if you use copy method that comes with other programs you can paste in terminal by middle mouse click.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 372
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 14:20    Post subject:  

Try using the view full screen option. Don't ask why but I had a similar issue in another pup. Maybe my answer is too simplistic but it doesn't hurt to try.

Best,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4239
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sun 04 May 2014, 15:22    Post subject:  

I think the fragmentation may be the problem as is suggested by BigPUP. Seen this before on similar filesystem.

Funny, no one, thus far, has produced a fragmentation checker for ISOs on MS filesystems. Confused This is a REQUIREMENT for booting directly the ISO with GRUB4DOS.

As well known as this problem is, I wonder if there is a front-end writer which can be told to ONLY write a file, contiguously?

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [9 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0715s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0140s) ][ GZIP on ]