VLC 2.1.6 for Dpup Wheezy

Audio editors, music players, video players, burning software, etc.
OscarTalks

VLC 2.1.6 for Dpup Wheezy

#1 Post by OscarTalks »

UPDATE - 03rd March 2015
New version 2.1.6 compiled and uploaded.
A few extra plugins added.
UPDATE - 05th August 2014
New version 2.1.5 compiled and uploaded.
Looking good, improvements include better handling of .mkv files.

Decided to try compiling VLC in Dpup Wheezy.
Wanted to make it "Standalone" so you can just install and use.
No need to install Qt

Needed Qt Core and Gui libraries along with a few other essential dependencies are included in "non path" directory /usr/share/vlc/libs
These are made available via rpath.

EDIT: 27th May 2014
Re-built and re-uploaded with Lua and several extra libraries.

I am no expert on all the functions of media players, but this one seems to be working for the tasks I would use it for.
Comments and observations welcome.
As always I am just tinkering and trying to learn.

Treat packages as being for testing purposes.
Always take the usual precautions before making any change to your system.
Download from:-
http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks
Attachments
vlc1.jpg
VLC 2.1.4 compiled and running in Dpup Wheezy - Version is now 2.1.6
(59.29 KiB) Downloaded 7644 times
Last edited by OscarTalks on Tue 03 Mar 2015, 09:26, edited 3 times in total.
Oscar in England

bruno

VLC

#2 Post by bruno »

Nice work Oskar!
Works great on Wheezy 3.5.2.11, and it kept all the settings on the old VLC 2.0.5 that I had.

:D

vicmz

VLC 2.1.4

#3 Post by vicmz »

I don't know what the terminal result means but it's running fine in Precise 5.7.1 without Qt. Thank you OscarTalks.
Attachments
Screenshot_2014-05-01_133750.jpg
(90.77 KiB) Downloaded 6854 times
[url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76948]Puppy Linux en español[/url]

Hesse James

#4 Post by Hesse James »

Hi Oscar
Yours run pretty well on Slacko5.7 too (I prefer the SFS-Version).