Is a Frugal install as secure as...

For discussions about security.
puma5000

Is a Frugal install as secure as...

#1 Post by puma5000 »

Hi

I'm a novice linux user. while on the internet, is using a frugal install of puppy linux with an encrypted pup save file as secure as running puppy off of a CD as a live session and saving to a flash drive? Is it more secure than a conventional, full, install. This would be for internet banking and regular net surfing, no risky online behaviour or anything. Thanks in advance for the help. Happy Easter!

Flash
Official Dog Handler

#2 Post by Flash »

An encrypted Save file won't protect you from yourself. If you pick up a virus or some other malware from the Internet, that virus will be saved in your Save file, encrypted along with everything else. Encrypting your Save file will only protect you from someone who has physical access to the media that has the Save file in it.

In my opinion, the safest way to run Puppy is from a multisession CD or DVD. In effect, this puts your Save file on the same CD or DVD you're booting Puppy from, but not quite exactly. The differences are in your favor. The only disadvantage is that booting takes longer than from a USB flash drive.

Sylvander

#3 Post by Sylvander »

I use Frugal Installs, a few of which are set up so I can choose to NOT SAVE any changes made during the session.
I rate those as pretty secure.
BUT...

I rate the [multi-session DVD-RW] arrangement suggested by Flash as even better.
I have 2 of those, but lost the best one recently [suddenly it won't boot :( ].

rufwoof

#4 Post by rufwoof »

I try to keep all data/files/music etc completely outside of Puppy. That way I don't need a savefile at all, nor do I need to install anything on the PC's HD.