Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 30 Oct 2014, 11:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
VLC freeze system - FatDog64
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
jp734

Joined: 29 Mar 2014
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2014, 19:34    Post_subject:  VLC freeze system - FatDog64  

I love puppy linux but always had a difficult time getting my 3 monitor / 2 gpu setup working, until I gave FatDog64 a try. Installed their Catalyst 14.1b driver and it worked at the first try....but, I'm not sure if it's what causes VLC to lock the system up.

When I first tried the distro, meaning I did not have a savefile yet, VLC worked just fine. Everything worked fine as a matter of fact. After a couple of hours playing with it, I've decided to setup the printer and install the video driver. Reboot the system, created the savefile and went ahead with the Catalyst to set things up. Another reboot and I said it's time for a break, relax and watch a movie. Well, that's when I started experiencing the problem. When I start VLC, system froze and only way to recover is a hard shut down. If I don't use VLC, the system works just fine: browser, email, libreoffice, gimp. Was able to use them without the system locking up.

clues??? - Oh, forgot to mention. Only one SFS file loaded LibreOffice 4.2.2
System: Core2Quad 4GB Ram, 2 AMD HD5450
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2385
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2014, 22:06    Post_subject:  

update the x windows pet from the same date range.. they are suppost to be paired together... Also a setting change for not using pua or other midlevel libs help but not needed if you pickup newest x windows pet. Also two versions of ATI exist. below 5000 called legacy and above called 5000HD most newer win7 and all win8 would be above 5000HD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2385
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2014, 22:11    Post_subject:  

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/fatdog/pets/600/ati-catalyst-13.12-HD5-and-up-fd64-630.pet

and

http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/fatdog/pets/600/xorg-server-1.12.4.pet

are what you need for newest fatdog64 630
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jp734

Joined: 29 Mar 2014
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2014, 22:34    Post_subject:  

thank you very much for the response. I will surely update those two files and will let you know tomorrow.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jp734

Joined: 29 Mar 2014
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 08:35    Post_subject:  

Installing these two pets didn't wok for me. To make sure there will be no conflicts. I started fresh with a "no savefile" option. Then installed your suggested pets. After reboot, all I got was a black screen with a weird looking blue character. The only one catalyst driver that works for me is the "14.1b-FD630-HD5000-and-up". Why it would lock up the system every time I use VLC, don't know at this point. AND IT ONLY HAPPENS WITH VLC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2385
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 12:42    Post_subject:  

sorry order is tricky and it takes at least three reboots to clear up. Start with x driver pet alone. Choice is to blacklist builtin driver. save to fresh save file. reboot.. install ati pet and reboot without running it to get the kernel drivers loaded ( could be why you get black screen ) third boot should have everything cleared up.

Sorry most upgrades are never this complex but the automatic configure of livedvd causes those headaches. I remaster at this stage to lock it in and run from liveDVD in writeback mode.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jp734

Joined: 29 Mar 2014
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 16:48    Post_subject:  

Thanks TedDog, that did the trick. I think it's a good idea to do what you suggested, remaster at this point, but just have one question. Once you remaster, will that be tailored my own system only or I can use it on any pc. My biggest concern is my dual gpu / triple screen setup.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2385
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 17:07    Post_subject:  

for the most part half and half... It will work perfectly on orginal and automatic configure methods generally on everything else. It does seem to stick the default desktop screen to whatever your multiple screen layout defaults to. For me its going to try HDMI if I remaster in that mode.
I have 3 64bits machines two nv and one ATI. remaster different drivers have issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
jp734

Joined: 29 Mar 2014
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 11:57    Post_subject:  

Hmm, I think I will just make a backup of my savefile for now. Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0555s ][ Queries: 11 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]